We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting the small details right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #128 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Like most Manhattan boutique hotels, the Blakely gets a lot of the details right: not only good lighting for the bed, but a comfortable reading chair and ottoman with its own 3-level reading lamp. Mirrors galore. A jetted bath-tub. Well-designed and equipped mini-kitchen area with Keurig coffee-machine. Comfortable King bed with feather pillows. Well-trained, courteous and helpful staff. The room decor skews a bit British men's club with cricket sporting-prints. The location is particularly good, mid-way between the Theater District and Central Park. Pleasure-seekers will find plenty of restaurants, bars, and shopping withing easy walking distance. The only disappointment was that the sound-proofing of the windows was not quite as effective as some Manhattan hotels we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side (55th) and high up. Our 15th-floor room on the south side unfortuna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReginaD614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our third stay here reminded us why we love this place so much. Absolutely perfect location -- midtown, hundreds of restaurants, walk to Central Park, walk down Broadway to theaters. So different from big chain hotels, it's like a small European boutique hotel. Large bathrooms with marble showers, strong water pressure, and all the amenities. Really good service, employees are friendly and helpful. Get a one-bedroom suite -- so comfortable and lots of living space to spread out. Continental breakfast is okay, mediocre baked goods, but good coffee and very nice wait staff. Ideal base for a great experience in midtown Manhattan!

Room Tip: Rooms facing south are quieter, but we like the view better facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LATraveler1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Blakely had some very good qualities, but one issue truly annoyed me and with this I will start as it affected our stay and over all few of the hotel.
The breakfast is provided by the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel, Abboccato.The staff were appalling in their service and more so by their down right rudeness. Matters are not helped by notes being slammed down suggesting the tip, when one barely has sat down. Safe it to say,one girl is lucky that she was a girl. After two breakfasts we retreated to Applejacks up the road, which was excellent.
Now to other matters. The room was spotless and the linen was changed every day which always pleases the missus. Our room 1208 was sizeable and the bed huge and moreover very comfortable, which is key. The towels need to be bigger in the bathroom and bottled water replenished daily without having to call done for this. Two other negative notes, there seemed a lot of early morning noise, 4.00 am being too early for me, but I suppose it is New York. Secondly the 2 lifts are exceedingly slow and very creaky.
The concierges were friendly and efficient, Alex and Ariel stand out in particular. The hotel is very well situated, close to Central Park, Broadway and the main shopping areas on 5th and Madison Avenues. We might stay again for its position and I would like to feel things might improve on the catering side.

Room Tip: Check room positioning for noise. Don't go to the restaurant Abboccato due to the shoddy service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel was recommended by Trailfinders when we booked our holiday with them and wanted to spend extra days in NY. What a find, staff very helpful and friendly I know there have been comments about the waiting staff in the restaurant but they weren't that bad and let's be honest they rely on the tips. It was a complementary continental breakfast so what ever you get is a bonus. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk from Times Square but in a quieter street, rooms very comfortable and good amenities ie fridge, microwave etc.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are quieter but the street isn't that bad anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice summer get-a-way for us, cute boutique hotel just above the "noise" of mid-town
Clean rooms, friendly people. NYC prices of course, but what are you gonna do?
Great breakfast in the restaurant, very accomodating (appetizers and cocktails at the bar one night were too die for too!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great boutique hotel in a great location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Have stayed here before and we will again. I travel with a mobility scooter and they were most accommodating. The restaurant is excellent-even had dinner there one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just returned from a trip to NYC. We had tickets to "The Book of Mormon", and wanted a hotel that was nearby, had some individuality, great rooms and great service. We got that in the Blakely New York hotel. The room was huge, the bath was clean and well lit. The staff was professional, courteous, and friendly, without being "phony". I called ahead with questions about parking, and got a helpful but efficient answer: there's a parking lot next door, and they offer a 6% discount to hotel guests. (I know it's considered to be madness to drive/park in Manhattan but for this trip it did make sense.) The hotel restaurant is pricey but good. The elevator is really nice to look at, though a little slow. (What do you want? It's an old building. Consider it 'character'.) The neighborhood is great: convenient to the Theater District, close to tons of restaurants and bars, and right down the street from the Carnegie Deli and a few blocks from Central Park. The price was really good too: an amazingly cheap hotel for the quality, and the neighborhood. SUMMARY: We would definitely stay at the Blakely again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 469 in New York City
4,441 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#89 of 469 in New York City
2,755 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#253 of 469 in New York City
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 469 in New York City
1,299 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#118 of 469 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £156 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing