We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #135 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for four nights. The concierge and front office staff were exemplary and extremely helpful with a number of things, such as scheduling an emergency hair appointment on incredibly short notice (30 minutes), navigating the subway system and ordering car service. Felt like a more personal touch than other places.

The room was comfortable. Love the kitchenette, it was cold when I was there so it was nice to come back to the room and be able to heat up a hot drink.

I will definitely consider returning here for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    534
    111
    28
    16
See reviews for
399
488
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Blakely NYC is a small hotel that is located just off 7th Avenue on 55th Street. It is just a few steps from a subway entrance and about 5 minutes' walk from Times Square. The hotel was clean, quiet, and well-located. The night bell man, Alex I think, was a wealth of knowledge and very helpful in finding places to eat and things to do. The room was very nice with enough room for three women to easily move around.

The room had a "kitchenette" but it lacked a stove top. I was hoping to boil an egg or even fry an egg but the only cooking item was a microwave. The fridge was FILLED with minibar items but we needed to use it so took the ample minibar out. It is helpful to have a fridge.

The complimentary breakfast was mostly breads, bagels, sweet rolls. These prevented me from eating there more than the first day since I am gluten intolerant. The only option for me was some plain yogurt and some fruit. It was disappointing that they asked for a $2 tip to eat there. I certainly did not eat $2 worth of the yogurt that was available!

Checkout was quick and easy. It has a small formal lobby with fresh flowers and a classy look. It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerrysTravelAgency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here during another "polar vortex" last weekend. I had gotten a really good deal on Luxury Link, plus had a credit, so the cost was $388 for two nights including taxes! A little bottle of wine and some chocolates were also included. The lobby is small, not opulent. The welcome was warm and we were given a choice of available rooms. We had a king room in the back (no view but that was our choice). The parking in the garage next door was $35.00/night, very reasonable.

The room was big, and had a chandelier and a sunken recessed ceiling so it felt very spacious. The bed was super comfortable. Very quiet at night, no noise in the hallways, and we didn't hear anyone above us. The bathroom was excellent, lots of space for toiletries, and a huge marble tub which was awesome for a soaking hot bath after freezing our tushes off! The water pressure in the shower was wonderfully strong. Mini fridge, and a Keurig machine were convenient.

We had some drinks and cicchetti in the bar that were very tasty: arancini, grilled shrimp, and a fried fish dish. My arancia martini was delicious, and the bartender substituted one of the blood orange liqueur shots for me with orange juice (I just cannot drink a 100% alcoholic drink haha!)

The included breakfast was basic, but adequate. A variety of breads, mini muffins, cereals, fruit and yogurt. This let us splurge more on dinners and I will tell you after the dinners we didn't want a big breakfast! You could also order off the menu for breakfast but we did not do this.

Didn't use the fitness room or the concierge.

The location was excellent too, we walked to the Theater District, and had it been warmer we would have walked a lot more and further, as it walking distance to Central Park. Near a subway stop too. It a quiet oasis after our day and nights out. No attitude. There is a wonderful gallery a little down the street, stop here if you can, they have handmade crafts from many different artisans, we bought some really pretty holiday ornaments.

I would stay here again if staying in this area, and would even stay without the "deal", that just made it sweeter!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel is always a great place to stay New York City. The staff are helpful and pleasant The rooms are spacious and clean.The beds are comfortable the concierge will assist with information and arranging transport to airport. The downside to this hotel is the restaurant where complimentary breakfast is served. It is small crowded and the manager is certainly not pleasant when you walk in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is conveniently located on 55th St. just east of 7th Ave., the NQ&R station is 1/2 block at 7th Ave. Our room was good sized for NYC, with a king bed, full sized tub and full kitchenette, including silver ware and glasses. Room had a desk and easy chair with ottoman. Desk help were very cordial and accommodating. Small hotel by NYC standard but gives you a more personal feel. Room was very clean as was the whole hotel.
Try it you will like it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Blakely only one night in December. The room was very spacious for NYC! There was enough room for two people to actually walk around! The style of the rooms is not as modern as many hotels are nowadays but it was very clean and comfy. I might even say it felt "homey". We slept well, although you do get noise from the street and buildings around. It's New York so you have to expect it.
The lobby was very warm and inviting. Since we were there in December it was decorated for Christmas and it smelled of Apple cider (probably a glade plugin, but still nice). The breakfast was a typical hotel continental breakfast, which was fine for us. The coffee was actually pretty good!
The staff was very friendly at all hours (we were out until 2am). The location was very convenient. We walked to David Burke Townhouse for lunch and then back from Lincoln Center with my slightly decrepit in-laws and they hardly complained. We had a great experience at the Blakely and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookDog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I went to NYC this past weekend for our first visit to the Metropolitan Opera ("La Boheme"- exquisite in and of itself). We traveled with another couple who are NYC and opera veterans. I was tasked to locate the hotel for us and - with the aid of Trip Advisor - selected The Blakely, largely on the strength of its location and the opportunity for a discount from a different website. Arriving by train about 12:30, we were pleased to find that our suites were available to deposit our effects. Staff, especially the gents staffing the concierge desk (one each at different times), were very helpful and accommodating, from check-in to getting us cabs after checkout.
Based on my admittedly limited prior experience with NYC hotels, I thought the suites were gigantic. Sitting area (with TV and DVD player) was eminently comfortable for a stretch of reading in the afternoon, the bedroom was quite large by NY standards (with another TV, a chair with ottoman and another desk chair). We did not make use of the mini-kitchen (fridge, coffeemaker, microwave and wet bar), but it was nice to know it will be there when we go back - which we will. And let me echo other positive comments on the "rain shower" and it's ample water pressure.
But the highlight for us was its incredibly convenient to our activities, focused as they were in the midtown/theater district. Over two days, we ranged from the NY Public Library at 5th and 42nd to Lincoln Center and walked virtually the entire time. Cabs were employed only from the NYPL to the hotel and the R/T to Grand Central.
Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, given some of the more tepid reviews I read here. Not having high expectations, we were all quite satisfied with the quantity and variety of the fare. Not gourmet but - hey - it's breakfast!
Surely this will be a "first choice" for our future trips to this neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Husky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#99 of 468 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#166 of 468 in New York City
3,433 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 468 in New York City
2,636 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 468 in New York City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing