We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #130 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Blakely is an older but luxurious and quite spacious hotel. The suites offer ample room for guests with a small fridge, microwave, and coffee/tea maker. The offer a continental breakfast which is limited but tasty. The location is excellent ~ close to theatres, Central Park, and subways. This hotel is a great deal. Staff is attentive,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had good time at the Blakeley in spite the weather, which was pretty bad. We went to NYC for pleasure and stayed there for 3nights. It is easy to move around because it is located in the middle of the action: very close to the Park, 5th Avenue and the theaters. Our suite was rather specious, clean and well appointed. The staff was very helpful and ready to find transportation. The restaurant on the ground floor is just OK. All and all it was a very pleasant stay under difficult circumstances. The price was very reasonable for NYC hotel. We will certainly go back when we go to New York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJSVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for four nights. The concierge and front office staff were exemplary and extremely helpful with a number of things, such as scheduling an emergency hair appointment on incredibly short notice (30 minutes), navigating the subway system and ordering car service. Felt like a more personal touch than other places.

The room was comfortable. Love the kitchenette, it was cold when I was there so it was nice to come back to the room and be able to heat up a hot drink.

I will definitely consider returning here for my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Blakely NYC is a small hotel that is located just off 7th Avenue on 55th Street. It is just a few steps from a subway entrance and about 5 minutes' walk from Times Square. The hotel was clean, quiet, and well-located. The night bell man, Alex I think, was a wealth of knowledge and very helpful in finding places to eat and things to do. The room was very nice with enough room for three women to easily move around.

The room had a "kitchenette" but it lacked a stove top. I was hoping to boil an egg or even fry an egg but the only cooking item was a microwave. The fridge was FILLED with minibar items but we needed to use it so took the ample minibar out. It is helpful to have a fridge.

The complimentary breakfast was mostly breads, bagels, sweet rolls. These prevented me from eating there more than the first day since I am gluten intolerant. The only option for me was some plain yogurt and some fruit. It was disappointing that they asked for a $2 tip to eat there. I certainly did not eat $2 worth of the yogurt that was available!

Checkout was quick and easy. It has a small formal lobby with fresh flowers and a classy look. It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerrysTravelAgency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here during another "polar vortex" last weekend. I had gotten a really good deal on Luxury Link, plus had a credit, so the cost was $388 for two nights including taxes! A little bottle of wine and some chocolates were also included. The lobby is small, not opulent. The welcome was warm and we were given a choice of available rooms. We had a king room in the back (no view but that was our choice). The parking in the garage next door was $35.00/night, very reasonable.

The room was big, and had a chandelier and a sunken recessed ceiling so it felt very spacious. The bed was super comfortable. Very quiet at night, no noise in the hallways, and we didn't hear anyone above us. The bathroom was excellent, lots of space for toiletries, and a huge marble tub which was awesome for a soaking hot bath after freezing our tushes off! The water pressure in the shower was wonderfully strong. Mini fridge, and a Keurig machine were convenient.

We had some drinks and cicchetti in the bar that were very tasty: arancini, grilled shrimp, and a fried fish dish. My arancia martini was delicious, and the bartender substituted one of the blood orange liqueur shots for me with orange juice (I just cannot drink a 100% alcoholic drink haha!)

The included breakfast was basic, but adequate. A variety of breads, mini muffins, cereals, fruit and yogurt. This let us splurge more on dinners and I will tell you after the dinners we didn't want a big breakfast! You could also order off the menu for breakfast but we did not do this.

Didn't use the fitness room or the concierge.

The location was excellent too, we walked to the Theater District, and had it been warmer we would have walked a lot more and further, as it walking distance to Central Park. Near a subway stop too. It a quiet oasis after our day and nights out. No attitude. There is a wonderful gallery a little down the street, stop here if you can, they have handmade crafts from many different artisans, we bought some really pretty holiday ornaments.

I would stay here again if staying in this area, and would even stay without the "deal", that just made it sweeter!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacationerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel is always a great place to stay New York City. The staff are helpful and pleasant The rooms are spacious and clean.The beds are comfortable the concierge will assist with information and arranging transport to airport. The downside to this hotel is the restaurant where complimentary breakfast is served. It is small crowded and the manager is certainly not pleasant when you walk in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is conveniently located on 55th St. just east of 7th Ave., the NQ&R station is 1/2 block at 7th Ave. Our room was good sized for NYC, with a king bed, full sized tub and full kitchenette, including silver ware and glasses. Room had a desk and easy chair with ottoman. Desk help were very cordial and accommodating. Small hotel by NYC standard but gives you a more personal feel. Room was very clean as was the whole hotel.
Try it you will like it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#258 of 470 in New York City
490 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 470 in New York City
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 470 in New York City
1,545 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 470 in New York City
2,770 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#120 of 470 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £137 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing