We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #133 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everything the reviewer said above mine I would agree with. We were there with family ranging from seven to seventy, and everyone was generally happy. One of the party ended up on a smoking floor, so bear this in mind when booking. We had asked for a quiet room, but that wasn't acknowledged, spell it out that you want a quiet room, and you may be lucky, if you look back on these reviews some people have recommended quieter sides of the hotel. It's the street noise at the front which is a problem - take ear plugs just in case, as this shouldn't put you off booking, as its no quieter anywhere else so centrally located.
I agree that the restaurant staff next door were incredibly rude and unwelcoming, the only rude person we came across in New York.
The concierge team were excellent, very helpful, but if you got on the buses, it is better not to go through the hotel, just walk out onto one of the streets and buy a ticket direct, as you end up stuck queueing in an office some walk away for ages.
The umbrellas came in very handy.
Don't get too excited by the Penhaligon's toiletries - its not as fancy as the London shop sells, just standard bland hotel products!

Room Tip: 902 wasn't a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My 2 adult daughters and I stayed at The Blakely last week and were very pleased. The location can't be beat!! Walking distance to Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, great restaurants...and a subway station right on the corner for all things south. We had a King Suite on the front (55th St). Loved having the sitting room and the sitting area in the bedroom. We never felt like we were on top of each other. Plenty of space in the bathroom which I was worried about in a NYC hotel with 3 women and toiletries. The King bed was very comfortable (and that says a lot coming from me) and the sitting room "sofa" is actually a daybed with a very comfortable Twin mattress. The hotel itself was almost European inside. Very comfortable, dark wood-- homey. The employees were very helpful. A shout out to Edwin! He helped us with theater tickets, daily info, transportation... We really appreciated him. Keurig coffee machine in the room, a small fridge and freezer (very handy for leftovers and wine- liquor store a block down) and mini bar prices that were very affordable if you need a munchy. I paid more at the deli down the street for a coke. The only negative (and I mention it only because everyone does) is the restaurant. The employees are incredibly rude during "breakfast" and usually weren't even open during the advertised Happy Hour. I discovered they are a separate company from the Blakely. The hotel would benefit from just locking the door between the two of them. This is a wonderful boutique hotel. A great home in the middle of the city craziness. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank cskporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location on W. 55th St. Convenient walking to Times Square, shows, shopping, etc. The subway line is at the end of the block. There is a grocery store a block away to buy snacks and drinks for the kitchenette. They have free WiFi although it didn't work in the restaurant. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The concierge was able to get us good theatre tickets on short notice. We ate dinner one night in the restaurant and the food was good. The room we were in was surprisingly large for NYC. We were here 5 nights and would definitely stay here again!

There is a complimentary continental breakfast, but it's hardly worth going to. Mostly breads, a few fruits, coffee and juice. They have yogurt (plain) but it's set out in one big bowl instead of small containers. No ice underneath the bowl, so it warms up which isn't safe

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiclover3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our three night stay in NYC was totally enhanced by our stay at the Blakely. The room was more than comfortable. The location was perfect. Most important the staff in toto was great. Everyone went out of their to meet all our needs and answer all our questions. I would not hestitate for a millisecond in staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigVChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in May, on the 4th floor. Excellent hotel for someone wanting to feel the city's vibe - walk to Central Park or an evening show off Times Square - quick access to the subway. There was great street food on 53rd for those on a budget. Breakfast would have been better with some meat, but they did say 'continental'. Our room was comfortable, but the bedroom walls are thin.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel was a great little gem in Midtown. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms. The hotel was steps away from a subway entrance, which was super convenient. It was a very small hotel (lobby, rooms, bathrooms, hallways, elevator), but quaint and cute. Housekeeping wasn't very consistent, not always remembering to replace our coffee mugs/bar ware. But, I'd stay there again. Pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stay here two nights early May. Room and location were great, skip the continental breakfast, the worst. This hotel would rate 5 stars if breakfast and restaurant service were better at this upscale hotel.

We bought a king suite on Travelzoo at a great price and had a very spacious, comfortable suite. The location could not have been better, as it was so central to everything we did. We took the subway to Battery a Park, walked to 9/11, visited Rockefeller center and walked on the east side of Central Park to the Guggenheim museum one day and the Dakota on the west side of Central Park the next

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovinlife416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,754 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 469 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#190 of 469 in New York City
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,856 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#165 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#269 of 469 in New York City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £171 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing