We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blakely - Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide Soth Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blakely - Good Location”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

“Blakely - Good Location”
The Blakely New York

A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed for 6 nights in mid February, however, asked for a change of room after the first night as street noise on 55th Street was very loud during the night. On checking website noticed that the suite price had been reduced to below the price we were paying for the double room. After some negotiating with Front desk moved to suite on same floor. room clean; beds comfortable and the suite was good valuable; very good location and within walking distance of major shopping and theatres and cenrtal park. The complimentary breakfast was poor by most standards, however, they will do a cooked breakfast at reasonable cost. The staff overall were obliging, however the two male waiters in the breakfast room were poor and in fact we did not use the breakfast room after the first 2 mornings. For evening walk to the local restaurant area on 8th and 9th Avenues between 55th and 49th street for very good food where the locals go. Stay away from the tourist traps around Time Sq. Would stay at the hotel again but watch the pricing. Went to a couple of show on Brodway but after going to London shows the following week thought the standard in London was better and better value

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This TripAdvisor Member's Summary
Date of Stay: February 2009
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: With Spouse/PartnerMy ratings for this hotel are:
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?
Yes

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urrbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    549
    113
    30
    16
See reviews for
412
498
48
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

The hotel seemed fine until the heat came on. The radiator sounded like a car engine. It stopped and started every fifteen minutes, all night, despite my having turned the heat down to the minimum setting. A colleague was staying at the same hotel on a different floor - same experience.

Additionally, elevators were extremely slow despite the hotel appearing to be well below capacity.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChitownCaribbeanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

FANTASTIC in every way, spotless, beautiful, roomy, nicely equipped and the staff was very accomodating.

My husband and I spent Valentine's night 2009 here and we could not have picked a better place. We stayed at the hotel when it was the Gorham and we really enjoyed our trip. We could not wait to see it renovated. We were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a suite which was spacious, beautiful and immaculate. Tray ceilings, crown molding, etc. We enjoyed the mini Keurig coffee machine at only $ 1.00 for the coffee pods. The continental breakfast was okay, nothing great but it was enough to start our day. You would not be sorry if you picked this hotel. It gave us the feeling of being in a European hotel accept the room and bath was much bigger. We can't wait to go back, and there is no other hotel we would prefer to try.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosedori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed over the new year period. We booked a suite with two queen beds but after we were shown our room we didn't like the outlook, directly overlooking a brick wall and two air conditioning units. My husband asked if we could have a different room and they were charming and offered us a high floor room at the front overlooking a beautiful building and the street with a large window so the room was nice and light. The suite was very nice and spacious with a good bathroom. The lifts were small but we never had to wait long at all. The free breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was limited but nice. The location of the hotel was very good. The staff were all very helpful. Altogether a good stay.

  • Liked — huge suite excellent value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

After over a month of looking at hotels online I picked the Blakely. I had spent ages looking at reviews and locations and in the end had narrowed it down to 2 hotels. After posting on NYC board someone suggected The Blakely instead. I am glad they did !. We stayed in a King Bed suite and it was perfect for us. A very nice bedroom with a king bed, dresser and a desk. The bedroom also had a comfty chair and LCD TV. My parents slept in bedrrom and said the bed was great. I slept on the daybed in the livingroom and it was good. Much better than those sofabed things that kill my back. Our bathroom was a decent size and had a great tub shower combo with very good water pressure. Room was clean and furniture looked new. Nice wood floors wih a arear rug. Very quite with no street sounds on 14th floor. It did get very warm until we lowered the temp. controls. Good free cont. breakfast downstairs every morning. I tried my first bagel !! But the very best thing about The Blakely is the people who work there. Tommy and Edward were the 2 guys we saw the most. Its seems one of them is always on duty They are the greatest !! Anything you need they will help you get. Need ice, no problem. Where to go for great breakfast, no problem, need maps ect What I am trying to say is these guys make the hotel. . We had a problem with the car hire service that picked us up at airport and mentioned it to Tommy when we arrived. All we wanted was "oh how awful" and we got that but they didn't let it go at that. They passed it on to management and the manager called the car hire co. In the end they got part of our money back . Also arranged our return trip to airport with much nicer driver that was personal known to Edward. I know I have rambled on but I have never been treated so good . You will feel very special if you stay at the Blakely. I will be happy to tell anyone who wants more info.

  • Liked — wonderful personal service
  • Disliked — nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KaranB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We booked four nights at The Blakely based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Close to MOMA, Carnegie Hall, and some fabulous restaurants, e.g., Trattoria Del'Arte (our fave and recommended by hotel). The service was above and beyond and comparable to very, very expensive hotels. The room was very nice and we requested a room higher up based on one review and got it. Best part: We had to check out one day and when we came back the next they upgraded us. How nice is that! The restaurant was fine for breakfast, but with all the great restaurants in NYC, I would not dine there. We met a couple in the wee elevator who had been coming to the hotel for 50 years...now that's loyalty...we will return next year, it's our favorite hotel in New York.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We booked The Blakely after spending many hours here on TripAdvisor, way back in December 2007. Our decision was based upon reviews, price and location to Central Park, as this was the finish of the New York Marathon, which I ran.

The hotel is located on West 55th Street in Manhattan, in between 6th & 7th Avenues. By New York terms, the hotel is small, having only 16 floors, but this is a good thing, as we believe that the staff are then able to offer you a more personal service.

The hotel throughout has an old world feel, with dark wood playing a large feature in its style. We were quickly checked in and our bags bought to our room within 10 minutes of arriving. We'd booked a twin Queen size room, and were upgraded to a twin Queen suite, whcih was excellent. A large bedroom with wardrobe, plenty of lighting, alarm clock, telephone, TV & DVD player. The lounge area consisted of a sofa, table and a second TV & DVD. Really useful was the kitchen area, which was fitted with a small sink, fridge, microwave & coffee machine. The large bathroom with bath, shower, single sink and all the mirrors you could need. - A very comfortable room - no complaints at all. Free Wi-Fi is available in the room, but if you don't have a laptop, you could use the hotel's computer located in reception - again for free.

The hotels restaurant is also where you have your breakfast, which was again a bargain - being free (continental). This consisted of fruit juices, fruit, toast, cerals, bagels, jam - everything that you need to set you up. For a small additional cost, you could have bacon, eggs etc, but we decided to sample the best of New York deli's for that.

All in all, an excellent stay - a perfectly located hotel, 10 minutes from Time Sqaure, and 10-15 minutes from Central Park. We received excellent service throughout our stay and would heartly recommend for any one wanting to stay in NYC.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — expensive mini-bar (but then again, aren't they all)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VirtualRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,657 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#181 of 467 in New York City
3,496 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#115 of 467 in New York City
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,746 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
640 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#197 of 467 in New York City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing