We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 3 nights over the last weekend, and it was a great stay from start to finish.

Upon check-in I mentioned that we were in town from England to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday, and we were presented with vouchers for a free breakfast at the hotel for all five of my family, a lovely gesture to start our holiday off.

The rooms are superb, ultra modern with very comfortable beds, and we were lucky enough to get a view of the Chrysler Building.

The newly refurbished lobby is very classy and impressive, and as so many people have mentioned, is right next to Grand Central Station, with its shops and dining concourse accessable without even going outside. I love photography, so being right next to such a fabulous building was a real bonus.

The only slight negative (i had to think hard to find one) was the lifts, as sometimes you had to wait quite a while to get one that wasnt already full to capacity...however there was some kind of dance convention on with hundreds of young girls and there families attending, so its not surprising really.

Overall it was a fabulous stay, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backbeat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear backbeat_7,

Thank you for your great review (and recommendation). I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from our comfortable accommodations to our convenient location. I hope your wife had a memorable birthday trip with us!

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,546
    2,915
    1,648
    686
    438
See reviews for
1,919
2,194
403
2,165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt next to grand central station and I must say the location is perfect. Right in the heart of everything.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a standard room which was very nice and clean, we were very impressed with the room until that first night, we heard an awful banging noise. At first i thought it was someone at the door, but realised it was coming from the bathroom, only to realise that it was the ventilater in the bathroom making the noise. So my husband and I didn't have a good nights sleep as it was constantly making this noise every 10 minutes.
So in the morning, we went to inform the reception of this and they were very apologetic and offered to move us to another room. So we changed rooms without any hassle and quickly.
The room was even bigger as it was for a wheelchair user.
The customer service there is superb. I will definately stay there again

Room Tip: If you want a big room, request a wheelchair user room if they have any available during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsChan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear MrsChan11,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize for noise issue coming from your guest room bathroom, but I am glad the front desk was able to switch you to a larger room. I hope we have the pleasure of serving you in the future!

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Service was slow to say the best, I waited at the bar area for about 15 minutes before someone came to take my order. After they had, it took another 12 minutes for the drink to be delivered. There is definitely an air of self-satisfaction and complacency about the way they do business. It was, admittedly, my first stay at a Hyatt after staying at the Grand Hyatt in Beijing. And what a difference it was - they at least have the customer service angle well sorted in China!
I found the room ok. The make-over that has been done to make it seem like some chic, boutique hotel is quite nice but it's the little things that count for so much - overheated rooms, mattresses that sag from where people sit on them near the phone port. A "desk" that is uncomfortable to work at for any length of time. That being said, if you're just after a convenient location, it's hard to beat the GH.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear ZAAustin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with the level of service you received in the bar area. Clearly you did not experience the service level which we strive to provide for each and every guest and again, we apologize. We seek to give each guest top notch service and experience. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and share this information with us.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I haven't been to the Grand Hyatt in a few years and they have clearly spent some money remodeling and making the hotel more modern. I stayed for one night on a business trip. Its obviously a central location, easy to access the subway or get a taxi. Nice open lobby, we had a drink at he lobby bar and the bartenders were super friendly and recommended a great place for dinner - Wolfgang's Steak house on Park. The rooms were spacious, modern and comfortable. Check in was a bit slow, they have a "greeter" and some check-in kiosks, but that didn't seem to work for my reservation and the line to check in was long and slow. We did get some free beverage tickets for the markets for the wait which was good, so the clearly recognized that the wait was long. Overall would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is a perfect slice of NYC!!
Your right next to grand central station, & tons of attractions. A short cab ride to times square too! Empire state & the list goes on!
the building is amazing & has great history with JFK having given speeches there years ago!
The rooms are great and I couldn't fault anything here!

They were doing renovations which were obviously somewhat a distraction, but they have to do them sometime, right?? Might be finished by now!

But a must-do on the NYC list!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Will5024,

Thank you for your glowing review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back. Take care.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureGirl2009
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in early Feb. 2012. Great stay. It is at 42nd and Park, so it is walking distance to pretty much everything in mid-town, and close to theaters. For things beyond - well its attached via an enclosed walkway to the shops of Grand Central Station - so hopping a subway, cab or train is easy and quick. I actually loved that GCS is like its own little city -- or really an indoor mall (it reminded me of the underground in Crystal City, VA except GCS is above ground). It has shops (had to scoop up some shoes at Camuto), restaurants, food court, news stands, gourmet market, etc. Everything you might need w/o having to put a coat on in winter, including a ride to wherever else in NY you want to go via subway or train. Restaurants are good, drinks at the Campbell Apt. v. romantic. I never thought a place I would feel most comfortable in NYC running about would be Grand Central Station!

I was a little incredulous that you could be right next to GCS w/o noise as other reviews said, but it is true. We stayed on the club level (I think it was 16th fl) and we never heard a sound from GCS, the street, or other rooms. Very quiet so good night's sleep here.

Nothing but good things to say. There was a slight mixup with the room on checking in -- we were told on the phone that our Grand Deluxe King was the room with the wood floors on the website, but were informed that this was not true on check in. They did do some checking and after a bit of hassle put us in the large king with the wood floors afterall. We were very happy about that. It was like a studio apt. with a walk in closet, separate foyer/entry, sitting area, desk area, and bedroom area. We thought it was spacious for NYC and well appointed. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the wood floors. They are bigger and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear AdventureGirl2009,

We are delighted you had a pleasant stay! Our convenient location and proximity to Grand Central Terminal is a big factor when trying to get around Manhattan or as you said, just looking for some shops. Glad you took advantage of this! We look forward to serving you again in your future travels to NYC.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just go back from two nights at the Grand Hyatt. It's a great location, especially if you arrive/depart via Grand Central. You don't even have to go outside to enter the hotel. We were first given a room that was clearly a smoking room, so had to get that changed. The hotel was apparently recently renovated, so the new room that we got was very modern and clean. Beds were not the most comfortable, but no other complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydub425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,831 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,883 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing