We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st stay at NYC Grand Hyatt, we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #324 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st stay at NYC Grand Hyatt, we'll be back!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We visit NYC often, and usually stay closer to Times Square, and Central Park. This time, we got a great online deal through Orbitz for what we originally planned as a one night stay. We changed our minds and stayed the entire weekend.

Check in was a breeze and we were given a Grand King room on the 26th floor, away from the elevators, and at the end of the hallway. Our room was a nice size (we've paid more for much less space ... it is New York after all), with a sitting area featuring a sofa, table and chair perfect for a spreading out some work papers and a laptop. We had a roomy closet, and a very comfortable bed, the kind you love sinking into after a day out in the city. Nice touch having room lighting and temperature controls built into the headboard, along with individual reading lights. Two windows looked out onto other buildings, but that wasn't a problem. (We only looked out to check sky for weather anyway.)

The bathroom was clean, and yes as others will say, a bit on the smallish side. The sink is a little hard to get to, with the shelf directly above it. Shower was good size, with adjustable/sliding showerhead. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hairdryer and toothpaste were provided. Would we have liked a coffee maker in our room? Yes, but coffee was available (as well as many other food items) in the downstairs 24/7 "market". We really appreciated the market, when we got caught in rain walking back from a show and grabbed some steaming hot chocolate and some sweets before heading to our room.

Our original plan was to stay for only one night, see a show and go. We asked the front desk what it would cost to stay an additional night and it was only $20 more than our rate, and we could stay in the same room. Still a bargain! The Hyatt was running a limited time sale on rooms, and we were able to take advantage of that. (Not bad at all, considering the Orbitz rate was no longer available ... in fact, it jumped back up another $100.) The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went online ourselves and purchased tickets for another show, after consulting with the concierge for suggestions. Hotel brokers can be a bit pricey, so we didn't go that route.

The location of the Grand Hyatt is great, right next to Grand Central Station. The Oyster Bar is in the station, just a few turns down a hallway and that alone can be the one single reason to stay here ... proximity to this wonderful place. We walked to the two different theaters with no problem, and in less time than we expected. This was a theater weekend, so sightseeing or shopping weren't our focus but given that, if we wanted to see sights, the Hyatt's location is very convenient.

We'll definitely stay here again! I gave 4 stars, as we didn't use or visit any of the other hotel amenities ... fitness center, pool, or even visit the bar or restaurant. Next time :)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JzmnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,631
    3,019
    1,721
    730
    468
See reviews for
2,018
2,258
413
2,284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I visited with my husband for a long weekend. Being at Grand Central Station made the trip wonderful.
The reception area was confusing to just about everyone with no order or clear place to line up.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The lighting and the control pad for the lighting was wonderful. The worst inconvenience was the shower. It took almost as long for the water to heat up as it took me to take the actual shower. Since the dial for temperature control was not obvious, expect a 5 minute delay to the start of your first shower.

The elevators were reasonable and the public space in the lobby is beautiful but not comfortable or ample for the people using the space. The fitness center was awesome, clean with everything you need. There was an attendant on duty during peak hours.

This hotel should be ashamed of the price gouging in their take away market in the lobby. $7.50 for a bagel that you have to toast yourself is offensive, There is no free wifi in the lobby and the daily charge for wifi is $12.95 or $16.95. In this day and age these type of charges are not cool.
In Grand Central Station there is both a market and a food court. Get your meals in the restaurant area as the selection is great and the prices are fair. Go out the Hyatt door to GCS. When you get thru the second set of doors take a left then take the first right and take the escalator down to the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicag0gal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Room cleaning hasn t been very well performed so there was hair in the bath and dust on the furniture. bathroom was very small with a crappy bath -
lack of complementary items such as shower gel, sleepers, pads, cotton buds, shower cap...
no kettle or bottle of water
hairdryer cable too short so you need to squirm yourself in order to dry your hair
no free internet access in the room
no international TV channel
ice machine in the corridor very noisy so it can be heard from inside the room
breakfast very expensive considering what is offered and the quality: Scrambled eggs = $22, 3 french toasts (almost burnt) = $17 served with a little pot of fake butter and the equivalent of one large spoon of jam (no choice of jam) which was not enough for the 3 toasts.
last day, leaving luggage at the concierge for the day I was charged $4 for 1 piece of luggage (when picking it back to go to the airport, I saw a board indicating the price per item was $2... but since you have to pay by cash, you cannot raise the point...)

don t expect any customer service. it is like the railway station which is just next to it. People are coming in and out so the staff doesn t really care nor has a customer centric approach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear MSLondonuk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt New York. On behalf of the hotel, we apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service that you received during your stay here. Your experience was certainly not up to Hyatt’s standards. We strive to make every guest’s experience at the Grand Hyatt New York a positive one, and hope that you will give us another chance to show you a true Hyatt experience. Please email us at qualitynycgh@hyatt.com so we can assure you Grand Hyatt New York is the right choice for your next trip to NYC.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great location. Very busy hotel. I had a modernized room but I think the architect had never stayed in a hotel before.

The bathroom was disappointing. The hand basin was hidden by a very wide ledge above it. The taps were actually under the ledge and the lever to lower the plug was almost impossible to find. Half the basin was hidden by the protruding ledge and the whole counter top was set 3 inches too low. It was a long way to bend down.

My room had motion detector lighting. Very avant garde but if I sat at the desk for 20 minutes working on my computer, the lighting seemed to think the room was empty and closed down. Stand up, walk around and the lighting came on again.

Over my 5 day stay, my electronic room key failed three times. Each time the staff were very apologetic but what a pain.

And finally, on my last day the steam heating used by the hotel which comes from Grand Central Station was shut down for maintenance from 10pm until 6am so there was no hot water in my room. I was given 12 hours notice of this inconvenience but it was still inconvenient!

I used the Executive Lounge on the 16th floor. Nice location. Adequate continental breakfast. Nice staff. My bill had a duplicate charge on it which was reversed without question - but it should not happen

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear JimS48,

We sincerely appreciate the detail of your feedback as we use guest reviews as a way to improve our product and service. We will certainly pass these comments on to our managing staff in order to remedy these issues for future guests.

I hope that your stay will not deter you from staying with us in the future. If there is anything we can do to put your concerns at ease and to assure you of a positive future stay, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at qualitynycgh@hyatt.com.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location was excellent, we stayed for 8 nights, arrived on the 18th Feb. to be given a dog box room on the 33rd floor. It was so small, there was no where to put suitcases. Bathroom if you could call it that was very very tiny. requested an upgrade the next morning which we were given. Staff were quite helpfully especially Andrew the concierge - the new room on the 20th cloor was better, bigger and a much larger bathroom, unfortunately even though you could open the window for some much needed fresh air, the noise from the air conditioner/heaters below made it impossible to leave them open. Also the wait for the elevators at times was excessive. There is a very handy market shop In the lobby open 24 hours, all in all a ok stay. Not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Dubai a few years ago and had such a fantastic experience that we didn't hesitate to book our Christmas holiday at the New York Hyatt. We were a party of 9 all travelling together. The hotel was perfectly situated right on 42nd Ave, yards from Grand Central Station. On arrival the hotel was ok, not as grand as I'd expected but ok. At checkin it emerged that we had been put on different floors despite my request that we all be close to each other. Eventually this was resolved and they managed to find us a floor where we could all be together.

The first thing I noticed was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in any of the rooms, the second was the smell of damp in all 3 rooms, The rooms were ok, not as clean as I would have hoped for and thankfully there was no sign of bed bugs - we did look, the bed was really comfy though.

The staff in the hotel Market Place food area weren't very friendly and didn't seem too keen to heat up the baby's food when we asked. I certainly wouldn't reccommend eating there or stopping for a coffee, their chicken nuggets were $2 each (gasp) and when we asked for 2 for the baby, we were told that ther minimum we could buy was 5, $10 for 5 chicken nuggetts!

Prior to arrival I called the Hotel restaurant to book our Christmas meal and was told (quite abruptly) that they were too busy to take my booking there and then but that it would be ok to book when we arrived. The day after we arrived we went down to the restaurant to book, only to be told that they were fully booked, but if we went back on Christmas Eve they would find us a table, we did this only to be told that they were full and couldn't sit us for dinner, at this point I was really peed off and in no uncertain terms, made my feelings known. Low and behold they managed to conjour up a table for 9. To be honest come Christmas day I wished we hadn't bothered, the lunch was the worst meal I've ever had in a hotel/restaurant. Not a sprout in site, no parsnips and believe it or not, no roast potatoes. On our plate we had a piece of goose on top of some stuffing with a portion of braised red cabbage to the side and gravy, no colour to the meal apart from brown. Pudding was sticky toffee pudding and ice cream. 2 of our party were vegetarians and there wasn't even a veggie option available, we had to ask for pasta with tomato sauce so they had something to eat.

Twice the maid service entered our room in the morning before 8am waking us up to clean the room. I couldn't believe, it before 8 am?

We also had an incident where someone entered my son's room while we were out, put his case on ythe bed and rumaged through it, nothing was stolen and the hotel couldn't find a record of an entry to their room. The corridors are quite dirty and food trays are left outside rooms for days, the carpets need hoovering more often as well.

Finally, the hotel actually charges $2 per case, if you want to store your baggage there after checkout, they didn't charge in Dubai.

I do plan to go back to New York, and while this hotel is ok, I wouldn't go back. There are too many hotels left to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren6166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We just spent the weekend here and found the Grand Hyatt to be an excellent location for getting around NYC. The Hotel is right next to Grand Central Station where we came into from Conneticut. The check in was very easy and they let us move into our room at 12 noon because the room was ready. The room size is adequate and looks newly renovated. The bathrooms are quite small but we were on the go so it was no big deal. Beds were comfortable. The price was very affordable for NYC. I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniepie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear anniepie123,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay! We welcome your return.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,200 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,475 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 466 in New York City
6,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 466 in New York City
6,425 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 466 in New York City
4,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing