We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate, impersonal but convenient and well run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Positive:
1. Central mid-town location near Grand Central Station, ½ block from a Lexington metro stop.
2. Large, clean, renovated room with a comfy bed and nice shower. Ood heating/cooling.
3. Good but expensive food at the hotel restaurant.

Negative:
1. Finding ways to charge guests for small items seems to be part of the business model. There is no coffee maker in the room so people will pay $3.50 for a cup at the in-house “market.” No free wifi in the lobby--$17. per 24 hours. $2.00 per bag taken to the baggage storage.
2. The overall environment is impersonal. The cleaning staff offered the only friendly greetings. The bellmen and especially the doormen were not helpful. They talked amongst themselves and relied on a cab stopping to see if a guest is waiting for a taxi.

Room Tip: TIP: The Pershing restaurant across the street offered an agreeable $17 breakfast including coffee a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,818)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,410 - 5,416 of 8,818 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is a large structure next to Grand Central station. Its very modern and sleek looking but the room I had was tiny. The bathroom was so small that I can't imagine if a large person tried to use it how they would fit . The toilet paper holder was behind the toilet so it required a contorted effort to get the paper. The closet was quite large but I'd guess the square footage of the room to be about 175. The carpet was pulling up and the hallway carpet stained. I asked another person who was on business there if their room was bigger and I was told the same of that persons room. One the second night, a group of loud partygoers was returning to their rooms at 1:00 AM, and I could hear all of their loud laughter and hallway talk. Not a quiet place. I stayed two nights and came back to my room the second day to find a note indicating that due to plumbing fixes needed at Grand Central, the hot water would not be in service from 10PM until 6AM the following day. Wow, all this for the bargain price of $320 a night? When I checked out, I mentioned the inconvenience of no hot water and asked for some relief on the bill. It was obvious many customers must have mentioned it because they quickly gave me the internet free for the two days, a value of $35.00 and seemed relieved I didn't ask for more. Fair? You decide. I've stayed at the Hilton, Times Square before and it was much nicer- bigger, cleaner room.

Room Tip: I wish I knew a tip to have gotten a good room!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

It's situated next to Grand Central Station so all of the attractions were 2-3 subway rides away. The hotel beds and rooms were great. We had the 2 queen bed room on the club level. We didn't get the club access for additional $$ but might have been worth it if you like hotel breakfasts. We opted for going to the food level at Grand Central which had plenty of good food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sddk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear sddk31,

We are delighted you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your accommodations. We do hope you'll be back to visit us again, hopefully sooner than later!

All the best,
Lauren Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Was not impressed, expected a higher standard especially given previous experience with the Grand Hyatt in Tokyo and the recent renovation work done

Service:
-When checking in, was told that we were going to get two double bed as per requested when our booking was actually specifically for a king bed
-Was informed that there would be no hot water between 10pm-6am... really?

Rooms:
-rooms are pretty small
-electrical switches are too fancy (touch sensor based) and don't work well
-doors are really thin and you can hear everything outside. Everything.
-Walls are really thin so you can hear your neighbors.

Others:
-Walking into the hotel isn't a great feeling, area is too busy with lower quality retail on the ground floor near the entrance
-hard to get a cab given proximity to grand central station
-on the plus side, the bed was comfortable

Would not come back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Friendly and accommodatng atmospher. The beds are very comfortable specially after walking all over New York City. Clean and absolutely functional and business user friendly. They could expand the New York Central Bar menu a bit but it's okay. It's a hop skip and a jumnp from Times Square so you can take a cab or walk or venture on the S (shuttle).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The good: nice layout to the room (superior queen) made it feel like there was an entry space, a living space, and a bed space, even though there it's really just a rectangle with a divider. Not to mention a nice view, at least where we were (26th floor). Staff who were physically *inside* the hotel were efficient and polite (front desk, housekeeping, security). But ...

The bad stuff that (more than?) cancels out the good:
(1) the $17/night fee for STANDARD internet access is already a bit steep, but here's something unwelcome and novel: $2 charge PER ITEM that you want to store at the bell desk. we found this out when we checked out and wanted to go for lunch then retrieve our bags. So, um, $8 *plus* tip to store our bags for an hour?
This doesn't even make sense from the hotel's point of view ... it discourages people from checking out early and encourages them to use their room as storage space, when the hotel *could* be turning the room over instead.

(2) The doormen were *unbelievably* bad. They chatted with each other and did nothing as my wife and I struggled to get 3 large suitcases through two sets of doors. one of them even saw me giving him a dirty look. well, the dirty look must have worked too well - obviously he figured out I planned to give him zero tip, because when two cabs arrived,one unloading and the other empty to pick us up, they rushed to help the passengers unloading (I suppose they thought it wasn't too late to get a tip from them) and left us (I have a bad back) to load 3 large suitcases into a cab.

Really classy. If management is reading this, you should fire the two guys who were working today, Wednesday March 14, at noon. Especially the white guy with grey hair.

(3) You can hear everything going on in the room above you. Very little top-bottom sound insulation. Ergh.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davismaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear davismaximus,

I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We monitor all of our reviews very closely and forward them to the appropriate managers when necessary to assure that we are spotting issues as they arise and addressing these issues immediately. That being said, we do appreciate the feedback and it will certainly be passed along to the appropriate department heads. In regards to the $2 per item charge for your luggage, if you are not aware, we are a union operated hotel. We are mandated by the union to charge $2 per luggage which then goes directly into the hands of the worker that took your luggage. The hotel in fact does not see a cent of that. As far as the doormen issue, thank you for bringing to our attention. That is completely uncharacteristic of our bellmen, or for any Hyatt employee, and I want to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you received. Rest assured that these items will be addressed internally and improved upon.

If I or anyone else at the hotel can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at qualitynycgh@hyatt.com.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I remember when i first stayed here decades ago and it was really a very expensive "Trump Dump" . over the years Hyatt and Trump have come to some terms about Trump's exclusive access to the Hyatt brand, which means Hyatt is investing a lot of money in NYC hotel properties, mostly under the new Andaz label.
but the Grand Hyatt can now live up to its name to some degree with updated rooms even if the lobby is too dark for my tastes. the new check-in kiosks help you avoid long lines checking in or out, too.

Room Tip: some rooms are small and some are better
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonereignger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,663 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#110 of 468 in New York City
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,535 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £155 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing