We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern & clean but no athmostphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern & clean but no athmostphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Clean & nice furniture, everything brand-new. Very modern.
Good location, direct access to Grand Station, tube, shops etc...
Probably the #2 largest hotel in NY - so little chance to make connection with staff (automatic check in/out machines is encouraged like in the airport). No real athmostphere.
Internet not complimentary and rather expensive - outrageous for the room price

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superbeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,546
    2,915
    1,648
    686
    438
See reviews for
1,919
2,194
403
2,165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Good hotel - nothing special just a very sound place to stay good location next to grand central easy for the subway. We stayed in a club room and the club lounge and patio was great, it made the whole trip a lot more enjoyable to have the facilities it provided to hand - would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keefcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

we stayed 3 nights on a long week end. Enjoyed the location, just besides grand central terminal so very convenient.
Check in was easy. We found the rooms quite well appointed BUT NO INTERNET. At the rate hotels are charging this should really be included!
This give hotels one less star in my rating
The restaurant was very expensive so we never took breakfast there. They have a store that sells food and you can buy breakfast items, coffee is good

I appreciated the more modern music in the (very large) lobby, not your typicial musak

we had the chance to book while ther was a sale (I think 40% or more saving) I am not certain I would pay full price however

would recommend it (depending on rate you get)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mango-montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel sits right next to Grand Central Station, and only a few blocks from Time Square. The lobby is stunning, designed to immediately make you feel calmer as you walk in from the busy street outside. That said, this is a typical Grand Hyatt - there is no coffee pot in the room. There is a refrigerator, which the last Grand Hyatt I stayed in did not offer except at additional charge. There is the usual notice in the bath that they will not replace the towels on a daily basis unless you request it. Not many channel choices on the television, but why would you want to stay in the room watching television when New York is right outside your door? The view from out 22nd floor room was great, looking down 42nd street and Grand Central. The air conditioning, however, not so good - just barely adequate. Our bath was definitely clean, and there was plenty of hot water. The hot water takes a minute or so to really get going - possibly an on-demand electric water heater, but once it gets going, it's great. The beds, I am happy to report were both comfortable and firm enough to support my back - a definite plus. The wi-fi is free, but tells you there is a charge for it - I've never really understood why they do that. The staff were all helpful and totally professional, Even my minor complaints were attended to immediately. So, clean bath, hot water, firm, comfortable bed, good staff – good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east or west side, above the 15th floor. That way, you'll get a view eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibrarianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel overall was fine, but I had several problems with my room:

1) There was hair all over my bathroom floor when I arrived. I called housekeeping to have it cleaned and then left for dinner. When I arrived back at the hotel 3 hours later the floor still had not been cleaned. I was told there was a mix up with the room numbers.
2) The sink would not drain...it took an hour for it to drain after I washed my face.
3) The soap dish next to the sink looked as if someone had used the soap to remove their makeup and then placed it back on the soap dish...which was then never cleaned.
4) The shower went back and forth between hot and cold water.

On the whole I was unimpressed with my stay, and the response of the staff to the issues I was experiencing. I won't return to this hotel during my next business trip to New York.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Risa R,

On behalf of the Grand Hyatt New York, I apologize for the problems you experienced with your guest room and the lack of service on our part. We would like to speak with you directly to find out more of your experience. If you will, please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com (Attn: Housekeeping Mgr) so we can rectify the situation. Thanks again for sharing with us.

Best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Thought this would be a good choice because it was just renovated. Talk about mutton dressed up as lamb. Thought the rooms were dirty and in poor condition. The bathroom was in very poor condition and tiny. Location very good...thats all you could say. But don't stay here. we moved and went to the Palace htl for about $50 us more a night. Far better htl and much more upmarket.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Tooraktraveller,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to find out more about it. If you will, please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com (Attn: Rooms) so we can get more details and try to rectify the situation. Thanks again for sharing with us and we look forward to your correspondence.

Best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

It's the 2nd time I stayed at this hotel. The new lobby is very nice, front desk staff are very nice and make you fell welcoming. Rooms are small ... but functional and modernly chic. Don't buy their so called "Club Upgrade" ... it's not mean you'll have a club dulex room upgrade, it's the upgrade for the club lounge access. The staff was OK to give me the room upgrade, which is a decent room. If you are traveling with family for vacation, the club lounge is worth the money for the free breakfast, drinks, snacks etc. None of the rooms have the views like the hotels right on the time square, but what's nice is this hotel is right next to the Grand Central station, and only 3 blocks away from the 5th Ave. The gym is small, you'll fell very crowded with 10 people in there. From the checking in process and the room size, I'd still like the Marriott hotels better.

Room Tip: Request for upgrade. Standard rooms are very small and basic. Get club lounge access if traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,835 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,170 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,883 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing