We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #321 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Tagging along with husband for an annual conference (now in successive years) I use this hotel for what it offers. It certainly is not the plushest hotel in the world, but it offers a fab location for theatre, sightseeing and a welcome haven from the busy city after a long day.

Being in NYC during the holiday season is both exciting and exhausting. Rockefeller Center is within walking distance as is Broadway! Public transportation is easily available as are taxis and private cars for adventures further afield. If one wants to relax early afternoon after a morning outing before going out again in the evening this location allows for that respite.

Rooms are rather basic modern, but clean and comfortable. Bathrooms border on the small side. Our sink drained slowly which I noted at checkout--my lapse as I wasn't in the room long enough to think about it. Too many places to see and experience.

I loved the proximity to Grand Central Terminal. If you have time be sure to rent the audio tour and enjoy the history of the Vanderbilts, railways, and station restoration. I had an excellent Bordeaux and the private Campbell Apartments one evening prior to a play.

While I did not use this hotel service because of time constraints I found it quite intriguing. The hotel offers a woman's space amenity. If a woman is perhaps traveling alone and doesn't want to stay sequestered in her room she can comfortably adjourn to a specific location/event for women. Also I did not use any spa services available so cannot comment on those.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,674
    3,064
    1,763
    739
    482
See reviews for
2,078
2,294
416
2,321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Location is great. Right in the middle of Manhattan on 42nd between Grand Central and the Chrysler Building. If you want to shop, go to museums, Time Square, Broadway, it is all in walking distance. Staff is friendly. Atmosphere is quite 'anonymous'. Hotel lobby is big and unpersonal. It's more like an arrival & departure hall. Same goes for the restaurant and the bar. It seems obvious that they do not expect you to hang around a lot (which is no problem because if your stay in not business related there is far too much to see & do outside). Rooms are okay but not special (don't let the pictures fool you) and relatively clean although not pristine (seems difficult in NY hotels in general). Overall, good for a business stay or a city trip at upscale level.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel is a mixture of good, bad, and indifferent...It is noisy.Towels are rougher than my own towels that I turn into bathroom mats...turning on the shower required the strength of Hercules...A call to housekeeping for help never brought a 'live' person; So I braced myself and tugged. Breakfast was listed as one price in the menu in the room, and then was charged higher...When I called Room Service to ask about it, they informed me that my menu was "old", and asked if they should bring me a new menu...The next morning breakfast was definitely pruned down to a lower level...I assumed that the staff was angry. And why are there no proper clothes cupboards tall enough to take a normal length dress/trousers? The cupboard begins halfway-down! Weird!
The 'market' (translation: coffee counter) in the lobby had mostly surly staff and the most outrageous prices for bad food. I certainly wouldn’t stay there again. At those prices one expects to get people who are friendly, not surly. And soft towels in the bathroom. I called the reception desk to explain the issue of the menu and was asked: “And your question is...?”

Room Tip: I don't recommend staying at this hotel at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

In one word, this hotel is utilitarian. The theme is earthy, modern, minimalistic with 21st century amenities minus a coffee maker in the room. The lobby has stone head and waterfall?? Plus, it serves as overflow conference space and is very busy- like Grand Central Station. Not my style but I needed a place to stay for 10 days and location was first priority. And, recent renovations ensured the room and public space were fresh; although, again not my style. I hated the touch light switches and the bathroom fan that was on 24/7. But the bedding was nice as was the mini fridge which allowed me to stock up on water, juice, yogurt, cheeses and lunchmeat. Check-in and check-out with Kelsey and Diane was friendly but other than that the hotel staff seemed more interested in each other than their guests. Housekeeping was inconsistent and less than thorough-- left an obviously used paper plate and plasticware on the table rather than discarding it, failed to replace used glassware, and vacuum crumbs.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators towards the back side (towards Park Avenue, Vanderbilt, 44th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzales_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A very good location--right next to Grand Central Terminal so it is easy to get around Manhattan. Also, it is about a 15 minute walk to Times Square. The lobby is a little busy but that's New York for you. The rooms were nice and modern. My only complaint on the room is that the bathroom is a little small. I like when hotels have a sink outside of the shower so that I can do my makeup and hair :) The hotel bar was nice and had some good people watching, but we never tried the food there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Good news first. The hotel is buzzing, lobby is renovated and so are the rooms. The accommodation is great and the location one of the best in town.

Service experience is unfortunately very negative. The Doormen, three of them, just watched us unload our own luggage and trying to negotiate our way into the hotel. No hello or interaction. Concierge shuts down after 10PM (in a city that never sleeps!).

The Front Desk staff were extremely friendly and accommodating; the housekeeping staff was warm, friendly and forthcoming.

Unfortunately first impression counts, the Doormen and Bellboys are arrogant and bordering on the rude. Despite the newly renovated rooms and the good location; I would not stay at this hotel as there is plenty of choice to stay at other NYC hotels where you feel welcomed...

Abu-Ashley
NYC - 16 March 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abu-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel is literally right next to Grand Central, but you wouldn't know it once inside. The lobby is very large and modern. Reception was friendly and welcoming at check-in and check-out. My room (2221) was fine except for the bathtub, which was clean but it had been refinished many moons ago and now looked very scratched and outdated. It's NYC so you can hear traffic -- I bring earplugs for sleeping since I'm not used to it. The hotel has a lot of elevators (a good thing), and I never had to wait more than a minute to call one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenInSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 466 in New York City
9,562 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 466 in New York City
6,480 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 466 in New York City
4,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing