We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #333 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel has a great location. Easy to walk to Times Square, 5th Avenue, and Bryant Park. Also, the Flatiron District and Soho are a slightly longer walk but doable. Since there is a hallway that connects Grand Central and the Grand Hyatt you have quick and easy access to some great New York food staples such as Magnolia's Bakery and the Shake Shack. The hotel staff was great and let us check in extremely early as we were there for an on-site conference. Overall, the hotel was clean although there was some wear and tear in our hotel room but we have definitely seen a lot worse for pricier hotel rooms (plus this is New York and the amount of foot and room traffic is obviously high). I note that they were doing repairs on our floor during our stay so the hotel tries to keep up with repairs. Great, great gym - one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel. I usually stay with friends when I visit the city but will say that for New York the size of the hotel room was not bad, at all, for the price. Stay at the W if you want a large room but it will come at a price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreynolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,357 - 4,363 of 9,121 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited New York for one night stay and had a great check in experience at this hotel. The room has been renovated recently. It is cozy but not too bad in New York standard. The only thing "missed" is the coffee maker in the room. Hotel is connected to the Grand Central station and in a great central midtown location. Will stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahu98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in January 2014 and found it perfect for what we needed, I cant really see what other people are complaining about.

The room we had was a good enough size, it wasn't huge but for the price we paid i wasn't expecting it to be and it was definitely big enough for us. Who goes to New York and spends their time sat in the room anyway? It was just a place for us to change, shower and sleep. The beds where very comfortable, the room was nicely decorated and maintained, everything was clean and the location was perfect, right next to Grand Central Station. What more do you need?
Only slight negative to the room was that their wasn't a lot of storage space, we had a room with two double beds in it that could have been shared by 4 people and one closet and 3 draws would not have been near enough room to unpack your things into.

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel once and the food was pretty good, definitely couldn't complain about the standard but if you do eat there be warned that they add the tip straight onto your bill and dont tell you so you can end up paying gratuity twice if your not careful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleep_deprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt on a business trip just before Christmas. Had I been staying for the purposes of touring New York I would have been gravely disappointed. There was no warmth to the place- I was there a week before Christmas and no effort had been made to decorate the common areas. The hotel was like this whole other world compared to the spirit of the city outside, it was so clinical. The staff were efficient at what they do but not in the slightest bit friendly or interested, almost robotic. My room was not what I would expect of a four star hotel, it was beyond standard, I had to request a coffee maker from house keeping which they provided no problem. I ate breakfast in the bar on one occasion, it was overpriced and underwhelming. The food from the deli counter/shop in the hotel was actually better quality. The location of the hotel is honestly about the only positive selling point. It was ideal for where I was working, and it was also ideal for getting around the city in general.

Room Tip: My room had a door for an adjoining room- you might want to avoid this if a female travelling on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AineACork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Aine,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Grand Hyatt New York. Whether you're in town for business or leisure, you can expect to receive genuine warmth and great service from our staff, which is why I am so surprised to hear words like "clinical" and "robotic." I hope you'll accept by sincerest apologies for what sounds like an uncharacteristic stay at our hotel. I invite you to contact me directly so that we can discuss your personal experience in greater detail.

Our ideal location is a start, but we have built our reputation on across-the-board excellence. I hope we can someday show you just how great a stay at Grand Hyatt New York can be.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Grand Hyatt is a nicely appointed hotel, with a cool and modern vibe. My room was spacious with an interesting lighting system that allows you to set the mode. The bar was small yet vibrant and the service was very attentive. Centrally located, the Grand Hyatt is very good choice for business travelers.

My one gripe was the (very high) cost of room service-- $40 for a burger and salad was a bit much... even on a business account.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had stayed with a friend alongwith our family for a night in New York in May 2013.I had booked the hotel going by the name of Hyatt but was very disappointed as the amenities were not good.Also the hotel is very old and the carpets, door and other furniture were shouting loudly that WE WANT A CHANGE.The hotel was very pricey and the room was not worth the spend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANANDBHANSALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear ANANDBHANSALI,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Hyatt New York earlier this year in January. I truly appreciate your feedback and have shared your experience with our management staff. I apologize i that we did not exceed your expectations which Hyatt is known for. We have gone through a renovation a few years ago and updated all the guest rooms and lobby. Should you travel plans bring you back to New York, please feel free to contact me directly at paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com to personally oversee your reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt in NYC. The customer service was excellent, the rooms are HUGE, and the location can't be beat!!! The room service has many options, especially for breakfast! I will forever stay at the Grand Hyatt in NYC because it's the best hotel in NYC for the right price!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoxAnnMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#216 of 470 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,925 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing