We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base but very corporate enviroment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #333 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 2 nights in May. Group of adults touring NYC. Great base for sightseeing and right next to Grand Central Station. Rooms were clean and large. Good Views from our room. Bathroom was tired and falling apart. We did try to report buy maintainance failed to resolve during our stay. The club room is good. We paided the extra and got access to free snacks and drinks and a roiom terrace. Wi-Fi is availalbe in the lobby and some rooms. Overal a nice place to stay however lots of corporate events going on in the lobby and lots of suits around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bains19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Bains19,

Thank you for your review. The views are awesome from Grand Hyatt New York due to our great location in midtown. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our Grand Club amenities as we are always trying to offer a "home away from home" feeling for our guests. I do apologize that our maintenance staff was unable to fix some of the issues in your guest room. We are constantly trying to improve our service to our guests and we appreciate the feedback. Due to our midtown location, our hotel does have a strong corporate cliental during the week but we certainly welcome families and travelers who are visiting for the weekend. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,169 - 4,175 of 9,123 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed at quite a few hotels in New York and generally the standards aren't great for what you pay. Overall, I thought this hotel was pretty good for a chain: Central location; well equipped and recently refurbished room; and not too expensive. Common parts a bit soulless, however.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I visited NYC over Memorial Day weekend and stayed at the Grand Hyatt. The rooms were ok, but ready for an update. The temperature in the room was uncomfortable for most of our stay. The bathroom was extremely small. The front desk staff was very accomodating. They had a 24 hour market available in the lobby which was great. I enjoyed being next to Grand Central which provided lots of food and shopping opportunities. The location was a brief 15 minute walk to the theatre.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor. We did not have a lot of noise from passing by traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Pam M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hyatt New York. We truly value the opinions of our guests. I am delighted to to hear that the staff was very accommodating during your stay in May. Although we take pride in the physical accommodations of the hotel, it appears that it fell short during your visit. Please accept our apologies and kindly contact me during your next visit at paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com. It would be my pleasure to personally make your arrangements.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this is my first time going to the hotel and the layout of the hotel was awesome! Inside was clean and have cool decorations. The room was clean and the outside view was also nice! If you are looking to stay for a one night, it is a good place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Location is fantastic right on top of grand central. Price was a little high but so is every hotel in the city. The room was ok, a little small and not exactly immaculate but not dirty either. I get the feeling all of New York is like this. 2 fruit cups, 2 bananas and 2 coffee was $24. that's where I felt burned. A bowl of cereal was $15, I never did order it cause that's just insane, and I make really good money. I know I could buy a box of cereal and 2liters of milk for 1/2 of that.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Lee L,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hyatt New York. Our pricing is comparable to other four star hotels in the city, and we apologize if we did not exceed your expectations. I will share your comments with our food and beverage management team for their review. Should your travels bring you back to New York, please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally oversee your reservation- paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'll start by saying that this hotel was aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Very updated with all the bells and whistles of a modern upscale hotel. We stayed for two nights. The first night we got in late and there were problems with finding someone to check us in. To compensate for that, they "upgraded" our room... which I wish they hadn't in retrospect. It was a higher floor, with open windows facing other rooms, so there was no chance of keeping the shades open. Minor but still a flaw in my eyes for an upgraded room. It was late, so we slept... oh but the noises of the night prevented a sound sleep. This hotel is NOISY!!!! Tons of nightlife in the hallways and the walls are paper thin. So every drunkard coming in late at night, we were privileged to hear. The second night was filled with obscenities and more drunken guests. Called the front desk twice between 2-3am, but it meant nothing. Either the people were not around when someone finally came up or they never came. Best part? When I let the front desk on checkout of how awful the nights were, the young ladies response was "Well that doesn't happen here... you can check our reviews!" RUDE! No apology, nothing... A call to their corporate office is definitely warranted, and I made it clear that we will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LezDC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear LezDC27,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Though we appreciate your kind words about our hotel’s look and feel, it is disappointing to know your experience was less than ideal. Please accept our sincere apologies for not better handling the noise issue. Whenever a guest contacts us with concerns about noise levels, we immediately take action to remedy the situation. Outside of your upgrade at check-in, our staff’s conduct, both at the time and at checkout, does not reflect our typical commitment to exceptional service. We appreciate your honesty and hope to have the opportunity to earn back your trust in the future.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Times Square, wonderful shopping in the Upper East Side and great restaurants. And it is connected to Grand Central Station for access to trains, subway and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalesPro75207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#216 of 470 in New York City
3,555 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,926 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing