We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #330 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I think this was the best stay so far in New York . The Hotel is ideally located and the rooms clean. Bathrooms - like nearly everywhere in the US - are small - compared to hotel bathrooms in Italy where I live. The bed was fabulous - would have liked to take it with me. The lobby for me is too dark and there should be more comfortable chairs not just benches. It reminded me of a waiting room in a railway station. It should give an inviting and relaxing impression to the guests but as it is now it is more of railway station lobby where people buzz in and out. Some people just like to rest in a lobby and chat with fellow-guests but here it doesn't happen. Perhaps I am old-fashioned but in our time and especially on holidays it is nice to calm down from the hectic outside. Perhaps a little corner to start with? But I will return!

Room Tip: We were on floor 29 and next to no noise was heard (just sirens of police and ambulances)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,334 - 4,340 of 9,333 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

First time visitors to NYC and we chose well with this hotel. Travelling with an 11year old we preferred to be a little further away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and the location of this hotel is perfect. We were checked in on a hot sticky Sunday evening by a very friendly and informative employee , ? Lenny who supplied us with much needed cold bottles of water. Check in was smooth and quick, . The rooms aren't huge but I gather this is the norm fir NYC hotels. Adequate hanging space and lots of drawer space.
The hotel is huge -1000 plus rooms I think ? There were several conferences going on during our stay which was fine but I guess would put some people off?
The location was ideal, hotel joined to Grand Central Station, maybe a ten to fifteen minute walk to Times Square and 5th Avenue. Bryant park two mins walk from hotel, beautiful spot to have alfresco breakfast if weather is kind to you , with Empire State Builiding in your view .
We didn't use the hotel restaurant but did have early evening drinks in the bar and the staff here were very pleasant also.
We used the hotel car for our return trip to JFK which was a comparable price to a yellow cab but a much nicer trip.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and probably return to it myself if visiting the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After reading many of the reviews here we were a little sceptical about the hotel however we really didnt need to worry.

We echo all other reviews about the amazing location, next door to Grand Central Terminal via an individual passage and next door to the Chrysler on the other side. The hotel lobby is contemporary but is well laid out and has a really nice atmosphere however it is always very busy and can get pretty loud when there is an event taking place.

The check in process was quick and efficient as was the check out a week later.

Many people have commented on the wifi saying that its very slow and not worth paying for. Well we cant comment on the cost as we didnt pay to use it as we were lucky enough to still pick up the free lobby wifi signal in our room which was right up on 22nd floor!! The speed was ok for us and we didnt notice any particular times that were worse than others.

Many people describe the rooms as small - we wouldnt. They had the typical size US bed, a sofa under the window with a table and chair, there were cabinets either side of the bed and a build in cabinet with 3 cupbaords at the foot of the bed. That's in addition to the large fitted wardrobes as you walk into the room. We must admit that the bathroom was a little on the small side but it was perfectly fine.

The cleanliness was great - we had no issues. The toiletieries werent the best quality but they were usable. Our room was directly opposite the lifts and whilst we were in our room we could here the "ping" of the lift stopping on our floor but this never disturbed our sleep and if the TV or music were on we didnt hear it at all.

We had a minor issue with our shower and wardrobe door on the first evening which we reported and the maintenance man arrived within 15 minutes and fixed them both for us very quickly.

We cant comment on the restaurant or bar as we didnt eat or drink in the hotel but we did purchase some soft drinks from the shop which were slightly more expensive than buying from a store but I suppose you pay for the convenience - it is afterall right in the lobby.

We would definately recommend this hotel for location and value for money.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts are likely to be quieter. Above the lobby to be lucky to get free wifif!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_n_pags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for a Mother's Day visit to NYC with my daughters. Location is perfect for accessing subway and getting around the city. Hotel room was clean and roomy. Lobby is very nice and staff was very helpful. This was my 2 nd stay and will stay again when in ny

Room Tip: Great little restaurant a few blocks away piccolo fiore on 44th st. Cute , quiet little Italian plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the Christmas period and we were really happy! It was the best location, right next to Grand Central and walking distance to Times Square etc. The girls on the desk were lovely, the guys at the concierge were good too... but you felt as though they wanted a tip for every little bit of advice they give you and no, sorry, unless you really help us out... you're not getting a tip, especially for a 10 second conversation.

The hotel is beautiful, we didn't eat at the restaurant because there are so many other options available and we wanted to go out. Was a bit disappointed at the lack of decorations for Christmas though! One of the girls told us that it's to do with people complaining when they don't believe in Christmas - it's a bit stupid. When you think of New York at Christmas you think of great decorations etc. But that's nothing to complain about!

The rooms were a lot bigger than what we thought. Everyone said the rooms in New York were tiny, we got a standard room but it has a little seperate lounge area (not massive) but still... it was great!

The fitness room is fantastic - we are both very active and always book places with gyms so that we can just get an hour done every morning before we start our day. Hyatt's in America have the best gyms as far as hotel gyms go.

There is also a convenience store type thing located in the lobby which we used daily - that was great too.

There is only one slight thing that we encountered but it wasn't a big deal. We bought Ice Hockey tickets and seeing we are from Australia, I asked the Hyatt if I could put them down for the postal address and note our details and they said that we could. When we got there, we asked for our tickets and they kept telling us over and over that they couldn't find them. We were a bit worried because we had bought these tickets months in advance and wanted to experience a game - but it was ok, one of the girls eventually found them. I'm sure if they couldn't find them they would have done something for us.

You can't fault this hotel, we will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel. Comfortable beds and if you have access to the 16th floor lounge, all is good. Good location right next to Grand Central. Half hour walk to the Javits. Four blocks south on Lexington is The Lucid Cafe which is a tiny but really good coffee shop served by a very nice couple.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapin802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 2 nights in May. Group of adults touring NYC. Great base for sightseeing and right next to Grand Central Station. Rooms were clean and large. Good Views from our room. Bathroom was tired and falling apart. We did try to report buy maintainance failed to resolve during our stay. The club room is good. We paided the extra and got access to free snacks and drinks and a roiom terrace. Wi-Fi is availalbe in the lobby and some rooms. Overal a nice place to stay however lots of corporate events going on in the lobby and lots of suits around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bains19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Bains19,

Thank you for your review. The views are awesome from Grand Hyatt New York due to our great location in midtown. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our Grand Club amenities as we are always trying to offer a "home away from home" feeling for our guests. I do apologize that our maintenance staff was unable to fix some of the issues in your guest room. We are constantly trying to improve our service to our guests and we appreciate the feedback. Due to our midtown location, our hotel does have a strong corporate cliental during the week but we certainly welcome families and travelers who are visiting for the weekend. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#227 of 473 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#74 of 473 in New York City
6,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,074 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing