We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location -But”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
BEDFORD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location -But”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Grand Hyatt is located beside Grand Central Station and within walking distance to Times Square, and the Theatre District. Disappointing that they did not offer Queensize beds. The rooms are on the small side but most New York City Hotels are the same. The bathroom was small and steamed up when showering. Room was cleaned during the day but had to call to get towels. Not sure how handicapped clients get in and out of hotel. Escalator was not always working and I didn't see an elevator to the check-in level. Overall, the hotel was nice and well located but seemed to drop the ball with some of the details that you would expect to find at this level of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHERINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Catherine W,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, but regret that you found other aspects of your stay lacking. I can assure you our hotel is completely accessible for all guests. Additionally we do offer king-sized Grand Hyatt Beds in a number of our rooms and suites. If you would like assistance planning a stay, we would be more than happy to tailor your experience from check-in to checkout. We hope to have an opportunity to provide an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,570
    2,951
    1,669
    697
    448
See reviews for
1,952
2,216
407
2,196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel for a stay in Manhatten! Location brilliant and good restaurants nearby. We had a junior suite which was lovely. Bedroom was small but very comfortable. Ensuite was very small and shower was not up to the standard of a 4* hotel. Sitting room cum second bedroom (sofabed) brilliant for our teenage daughter and very spacious. Eat in restaurant one night. Food very good and not too expensive. Wine very expensive but good. Could do with putting tea/coffee making facility in room which would have saved us running to Gourmet Store one block away and a lot of unnecessary spending all for the sake of a kettle! Would definitely stay here again when I next visit the big apple! Got Airport Express from Airport dropped us only one block away. Saved mega bucks by not getting taxi and easy to use.

Room Tip: We didn't get a choice. It is a high rise hotel and we were on 33rd floor. Fairly good view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear FrancescaB Eire,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hyatt New York! Thank you for your feedback on our food and beverage options-my favorite is the Burger in New York Central! The next time you visit, please stop into Market, our 240hour outlet, for any snacks, tea, coffee that you may need. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Paula Ilabaca
Marketing and Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the hotel if you want to be within walking distance to everything. This hotel is nestled in the heart of Manhattan, where the shops are convenient, 5th avenue, and grand central station. This hotel was clean, attractive and the service was excellent. The staff are always ready to please, and friendly. Take the tour of Manhattan; where sites of Times Square, Empire State building and Battery Park are explored. You have the choice to visit Liberty island and the Statue of Liberty. I have visited this hotel many times and they never seem to disappoint!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiderwebb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Spiderwebb1977,

We appreciate you sharing your recent review; it was a delight to read all your kind words about your stay. If you’re looking for a hotel in the heart of the city, there is simply no better place than the Grand Hyatt New York. Our friendly staff members are happy to accommodate any request and share tips about their favorite things around the city. It sounds like you enjoyed some of the best attractions around town! We hope you’ll join us again on your next visit to the city; please let us know if there is anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
355 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt New York is a great hotel in mid town New York. It is about as central as you can get and close to many great sights, attractions, restaurants and parks. Bryant park is a block, grand central station is next door, an awesome view of the Chrysler Building is eminent from the doorstep of the Hyatt. The staff were also very helpful and went out of there way to ensure the stay was great and memorable. Bobby the bellman was especially helpful and management was also great. The lobby bar is a good place to unwind and have some drinks and the hotel itself has a nice ambiance and modern look. A great choice to stay when in New York.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Jason W,

Thank you for your kind words about Grand Hyatt New York. As Booby our Bellman demonstrated, we are dedicated to providing authentic hospitality. The entire staff is committed to providing you and all of our guests with a memorable stay. I will be sure to tell him and the management staff about your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to New York!

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

No hot water when we arrived, that lasted for at least 24 hours. Free wifi provided for the week due to our lack of hot water on arrival
Lobby reception staff were unfriendly and cold. The lobby area was always chaotic due to them holding events every night in the foyer.
Safe rusted shut with our documents in it, it was replaced 24 hours later with a new one. Due to it being rusted shut, we were unable to open it to retrieve our money before we headed out at night. The hotel reimbursed us for our taxi fare which we needed, and gave us a $50 voucher to use in the restaurant in the lobby, or for room service

The location is amazing, right next door to Grand Central train station, and only a 10/15 minute walk to times square
Bed comfortable and large
Whilst there were issues with the room/hotel, you cannot beat the location and the price
Great coffee in a little shop downstairs in the grand central terminal shopping area called Joe Coffee, if your an aussie, this is your best answer for coffee. There is also a fresh marketplace open until late

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Nicole J,

We’d like to thank you for taking a moment to share your review of your recent stay. While we understand that your trip was not without a few issues, we’re pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy much of what makes the Grand Hyatt New York special. Our central location is simply unbeatable and our on-property amenities make any stay a breeze.

That said, we sincerely apologize for both the lack of hot water and the problem with your in-room safe. This is not consistent with the level of service and quality we strive to provide for our guests. We’re pleased our staff was able to be of assistance, but we’re sorry these issues occurred in the first place.

Should your travels bring you back to New York, we hope you’ll keep us in mind.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For convenience, you can't beat the Grand Hyatt, located at Grand Central. It is supremely easy to get to most of the popular tourist sights including the theater district. In addition, you can pick up gourmet eats in the Grand Central Market for an impromptu picnic or dine at any number of great restaurants in the neighborhood.

While we were there, we received free wifi and beverage vouchers for being members of the loyalty program. This means no coffee makers in the room (available on request) but in room coffee is generally terrible, right?

The rooms are small, and 'moderne' but fine for vacationers. There was no desk or comfortable seating in either of our two rooms so not great if you have work to do. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom, there was some chipped tile, and the tub drain didn't seal, but this was minor and overall the rooms were reasonably clean with comfortable beds/linens. Interestingly the towels were a bit threadbare.

It was incredibly busy in the lobby--there was some kind of children's dance competition going on, so not exactly a lobby to sit and have a drink. The lobby decor, while impressively spare and Zen like doesn't exactly promote lingering either.

Overall, it was a fine stay and the location (and good weekend rate) made up for any minor inconveniences. I would definitely stay again the next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTraveler070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear SFTravler070,

Thank you so much for choosing Grand Hyatt New York during your stay in July! We very much appreciate your feedback and the information you have shared will only help us improve. We look forward to hosting you for an even better experience on you return visit.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

What an excellent hotel, the location was superb, our room was opposite the Chrysler building, nice big room and the bed was easily the best I've ever stayed in and have done countless hotels in US and Europe, with being next to Grand Central Station getting around was very easy although you see many hidden gems by walking around, so you have best of both worlds, food and drink in hotel pricey and no free wifi, but not major problems as easily get wifi elsewhere and food and drink plentiful elsewhere, set your own budget, staff extremely helpful from doorman to lobby staff and all in all an excellent place to relax and stay in the big apple.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,972 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,307 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,129 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing