We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in NY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #311 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location in NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good hotel with a great location in NY close to Grand Central Station. Great starting point to explore the city with a lot of cool places to eat and shop. Friendly staff and room accommodations are more than adequate. Tip: ask for a gold passport to get free benefits and wifi. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,518
    2,872
    1,621
    674
    429
See reviews for
1,889
2,171
397
2,127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice, in total for over 2 weeks and it's great. The reception staff always make us feel welcome. First time we got an upgrade as we were staying over a week, second time because of our loyalty we got tons of vouchers for coffee etc from the downstairs shop. Rooms good size for NYC, very clean, comfortable and modern. I can't fault this hotel really. Oh location is brilliant too as it's just a few min away from shops, Grand Central (and oyster bar of course!), but more importantly the Library and Bryant park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selenfobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear selenfobian,

We are so glad that we were able to make your trips to New York such memorable experiences. We sincerely value your business, and will always do everything we can to give you the ultimate Grand Hyatt New York treatment. Please do come back again, and don’t hesitate to let us know if there’s any way we can be of service.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

In reading the reviews after I booked I thought wow... sounds like a 2 star in Cuba what did I just buy?! Is it too late to cancel? Well put those fears to the side because it is a great hotel that has the best location in NYC because you are right on top of Grand Central Station that can transport you anywhere in the city for $2.75. Grand Central has everything from the food court to the wine shop across from track 17 to a nice little market down towards the east side of building with great selection of cheeses, desserts and bagels. Bagels at hotel are $4.00 but if you go into the food court in Grand Central you pay only $2.50 @ Zora's bakery freshly made so you can save some $$ or venture out on the streets there is so much to find in NYC!

Was the room small, of course your in NYC you don't find huge hotels rooms unless you want to pay big bucks. The bathroom for us was a good size, outlet didn't work but that was ok there where plenty in the room. Nice to be able to control the ac from your bed and turn off all the lights also from you side of the bed with the new touch sensitive activation system. There are a few flaws in the new rooms such as the little fridge that over heats in the little cubical they put it in so we called room service and they brought us up a new fridge and did not stick it in the cubby. If you have an issue they are happy to fix, customer service for us was good.

We took advantage of our Hyatt Gold card and received coffee, water, Wi-Fi free all you have to do is sign up for it before you go.

No regrets staying here, we could of stayed at a 100 other hotels but it's all about location because you do so much walking there that the Grand Hyatt is prefec, right by 5th Ave and all the tourist attractions, buy yourself the city bus tours and make sure they give you extra stuff like the free cruise or free tickets up the Empire state building or 3 days for the price of 2... just ask to see what deal they will give you because there's another company just 2 steps away that will give you a deal! We caught the airporter bus right to the hotel for only $13.00 we should of purchased both ways for only $23.00 now I know better as your return pick up spot is just the next street over, taxi from airport can be from $30 - $45 all traffic pending and traffic is CRAZY so play it safe and take the bus the hotel will give you directions on paper so it's super easy especially for a first time visitor you can't go wrong with this location!

Would I stay here again, yes for sure!

Room Tip: we stayed in 2747 had a big bathroom but it is only a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zippy579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear zippy579,

Thank you for your very informative review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience with us, and that you would stay with us again. We are sure your fellow travelers will appreciate your tips about nearby restaurants; we love Zora’s Bakery at the Grand Central Terminal, too! Don’t forget to try our in-house dining next time. The New York Central Bar and Kitchen is right inside the hotel, and offers seasonal, healthy American cuisine that we’re sure you’ll love as much as we do. Thanks again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt in early July this year as part of a cruise and stay package to NY on the QM2. This was our first ever trip to NY and we've got to say the hotel was superb in every respect.
The hotel truly lives up to its name as being very grand the moment you arrive. The lobby is vast and very grand and as you enter, you are greeted by a very impressive waterfall which adds to the grandeur but is also very relaxing.
Check in was quick and easy and we were guided to our room on the 20th floor. Our room, although not vast was a comfortable size and had been recently decorated in a very contemporary style, complete with a modern en-suite bathroom, very large flat screen TV and iPod/iPhone music player.
We didn't eat in the hotel but had our meals out, including breakfast, which is pretty much the norm in the US. The hotel lobby did have a coffee bar where you could get hot drinks, pastries, some cereals, etc if you couldn't be bothered to go out.
All the staff were friendly and very helpful, especially the concierge and the doormen. Things like directions, advice and "how to" etc.
Again check out was swift and easy with no problems.
We would definitely stay there again not only for the quality and service but it's location, right next to Grand Central Station and pretty central and close to most main attractions in Manhatton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face East 42nd street, which might be noisier. Our room was side facing, little...
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual towel policy, only replace if you left it in the bath, etc. you could turn the a/c off in our room to save energy but also noise.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoobyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear ScoobyPoo,

We are delighted that you took the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay. We are even more pleased to know that you found so much to love, like our modern décor, recently renovated guest rooms, service, and location. It sounds like you had a fabulous vacation, and we are very glad to have been a part of it. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you come back to stay with us again very soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
234 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is highly elegant with an outstanding staff. Check in and out went very smoothly. The rooms are of a trendy contemporary design with touch control panels which control the room lighting in layers. There is also motion sensor lighting in the bathroom. Unfortunately, we had difficulty operating the panels during the evening. The sensitivity of the touch function was not adequate and there are no manual switches. We ended up accidentally turning all the room lights on which obviously disturbed our sleep. For some reason, we also had difficulty operating the Bose radio.



I am hopeful that this control panel switch is just an anomaly so we will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SB5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlands california
Level Contributor
419 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Grand Hyatt is too big and too impersonal especially at the front desk. Next time we will stay at a much smaller Hyatt brand property. Major complaint is being treated like a second-class citizen because our reservation was made using a "Senior discount". This seemed to translate into since you received a special price we are going to give you the very worst room we have. A room with mold, with plaster falling off the ceiling from an obvious water problem and paint chipping off the walls. Being a platinum member did not mean anything! We complained about the room assignment and were upgraded to a better room but only after voicing our concerns. This seems to be a common tactic for hotels, give seniors and the handicapped the worst rooms and count on them not complaining as they are perceived to be docile. My handicapped son has experienced similar treatment at other hotels. "Do not go gently into that good night" seniors and handicapped! Be assertive. The hotel does have location on its side immediately adjacent to Grand Central Station and located on 42nd street. We will not return to this second class Hyatt.

Room Tip: Be assertive at the front desk to make sure you are assigned a decent room especially if you are Pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear jwwcpa,

We are deeply sorry to hear that you had a negative experience staying with us. It sounds like we really dropped the ball, and for that we sincerely apologize. Our maintenance manager has been notified of your feedback and will perform a hotel-wide condition check on all of our guest rooms. All guests, especially senior citizens, are greatly appreciated and valued, and we always do everything we can to make their stay as comfortable as possible. The treatment you received was not typical of a Grand Hyatt hotel, and you deserve much, much better. Please contact me at christopher.doran@hyatt.com to further discuss your review and your experience. All of our guests are extremely important to us, and we would appreciate the chance to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

You are booking a room in a hotel in one of the greatest if not the greatest mega cities on earth. The Gran Hyatt NY is located at the center of the center of the center of the world. One of the exits from the lobby leads into Grand Central where you can get to almost anywhere imaginable, Subway, Commuter Rail and other attractions are located in Grand Central.

Midtown east/Grand Central where the Hyatt is located is top of the list for NYC attractions, restaurants, bars and other areas of Manhattan and the NYC metropolitan area are easily accessible by Taxi, Subway or Bus. Security and safety are the same for any major city and you should not worry about the location as during the UN General Assembly the Hyatt hosts many world leaders and dignitaries, furthermore the location makes a key security area full of Federal and Local law enforcement year round.

The service is excellent but pricey and expect to pay for anything extra that may not have been included.

You get what you pay for, the more you pay the more glamorous and fulfilling your stay will be.

Room Tip: Take advantage of all the services that this hotel has to offer for free as NYC can be an expensive...
See more room tips
Green Features: The lights are always on in the Lobby and the halls, but that cant be avoided. There are signs advising guests to conserve water so that is a plus.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,659 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing