We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Is Uneven Franchise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #333 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This New York franchise hotel is large and has a decent midtown location, but very uneven service so "value" depends on what you need. Dollar cost is high relative to nearby locations, playing off location and familiar brand. Value is relative to other mid town NYC locations, not absolute relative to London, Dubai, Singapore, etc. (which are all highly superior hotels). No water glasses in a business class room, the concierge, Tina, was not well informed and couldn't handle pressing a jacket. Stay at the Waldorff, similar location, much better quality staff and service.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanders101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,349 - 6,355 of 9,012 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

My sister and i stayed at the Hyatt for 4 nights. We arrived on Thanksgiving which was incredibly busy but we were well looked after. The Christmas decorations in the lobby are beautiful. The rooms are lovely and spacious. Great location as it is right next to Grand Central Station. The Newark airport bus shuttle even drops and picks up opposite there. Great stay in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lovely71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Along with my wife and son, we stayed one night as we had a Black Tie event in New York. Nice room with opening window on the 25th floor. Not large, but decent size for New York standards. Everything was clean. Needed to call housekeeping for towels on Sunday morning. After waiting about a half hour, I found an abandoned housekeeping cart on the floor and helped myself. Other than that, no complaints. On Saturday afternoon, we stopped off at the bar for some snacks and drinks. Wings and Nachos were about $16 each, and drinks ran about $10-$12 per. It was a nice place to catch some football and relax.

One concern I had was parking, because we needed to go In/Out, and the hotel's website clearly stated that it was about $60/night with NO in/out privileges. I wasn't sure how to handle, but I lucked out by finding a metered spot on 43rd Street; Only about 50 paces from the entrance to Grand Central. We had to go out later that night to the affair, and when returning, the same spot was available, so it turns out aside from the cost of the meter, I parked free in New York. Shocking.

I would recommend, but not necessarily make it a point to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalsemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Great hotel for location as its right next to grand central statiion. Also only walking
distance to time's square (2 blocks), fifth ave,(3blocks). There is also a bus service
across the road that takes you to airport if you need one..
Found the hotel was very clean, rooms spacious with clean towels daily. Staff were very
nice and helpful at all times.
Only one disappointment was that we found the drinks bar was quiet expensive, other than that it was a great hotel and one i would definatelly return to again .

R.....Ireland

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honey012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed for 5 nights, the hotel has an excellent location. That would be the main consideration to stay here, I would say. Staff are friendly, concierge service in main lobby is extremely helpful.
Rooms are ok, clean, small bathroom, the standard 2 double beds were comfortable. No tea/coffee making facilities or water provided. No internet facilities to check wheather, check in your flight etc. Only at extortionate prices. Two bowls of porridge and two teas at breakfast sets you back $58! Good gym. I found it an impersonal experience. I stayed at the Giraffe hotel some 4 years ago and this was a much better experience in terms of value for money, service and quality of room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJC2NYC, Management at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2009

Dear Nicki1311,

Thanks for staying with us on your recent visit to New York. Appreciate your time taken to give us some feedback as well.

There is a station in the main lobby that allows you to check your flight timeliness and get your boarding pass. I have used these kiosks before and find them convenient. I regret you didn't get a chance to use that service. It is standard at all Hyatts in the US.

We have a renovation program we will begin soon and will take on in phases. Restaurant, coffee station, guest rooms.....all will be refurbished, re- done and improved. Exciting project and I hope we may have the opportunity to have you stay with us should your travel plans include another visit to NYC.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Mike Costello
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The Grand Hyatt in New York is fantastic and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed for 4 nights and were suitably impressed by the friendliness and knowledge of staff, all amenities and the quality of rooms. The rooms are an excellent size, and the en-suites larger than you might expect. Ask to be put in the refurbished side of the hotel and you won't be disappointed at all. For a large chain like Hyatt, service can vary wildly between hotels but the Hyatt have this nailed. We were welcomed and looked after at every stage of the trip. A tip - for breakfast head over the road to Pershing Square which is a great place to get an all-American breakfast in stylish surroundings. The proximity to tourist hotspots like the Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockerfeller etc is unrivalled. You feel close to the main places, without being on top of them. I'd have no hesitation in staying here again - in fact I would insist on it as the Hyatt is that good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

That rare thing - a large hotel with the personal touch. As we were registering in the imposing lobby, someone let slip that it was my birthday. Two hours later, wine, chocolates and a card arrived in my room. You can't buy that sort of PR. We'd arrived three hours ahead of check-in time, but were accommodated without fuss; there's no underestimating the value of such flexibility to a weary traveller. The concierges and travel/tour reps. were equally helpful. The hotel has a great location on 42nd Street, with many sights within comfortable walking distance. And if you're going farther afield in NY state, Grand Central Terminal is right there. The room was large and clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly small (even to an English guest!), and my wife bemoaned the lack of a decently lit and magnifiable mirror for contact lenses, make-up etc. Also, there seemed to be just one place to eat in a hotel with around 1200 rooms. But these are small quibbles. Overall, terrific.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJC2NYC, Management at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2009

Dear Andy006,

Thanks for selecting our hotel for your visit to New York and happy belated birthday!

Great to hear you enjoyed the stay, our location with easy access to the top attractions in the city and found the staff to be very hospitable.

Thanks for the feedback on the guest room. We are going to be doing a room renovation and will address some of the items you mentioned. Hope we'll have you back so you can see in person!

Thanks again for selecting our hotel for your New York visit. we really appreciate it.

Mike Costello
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 469 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,868 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 469 in New York City
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing