We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel; Ideal Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Gainesville,FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel; Ideal Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just returned from our 2nd stay in the Herald Square Hotel. From perspective of both our 2010 as well as most recent November, 2013 stay - I give this Hotel 5 Stars. Even with renovation and associated price increase - this hotel was still reasonable in price given its location in the heart of New York. It is primarily for this location that I gave it 5 Stars - as you are in the middle of almost EVERYTHING in New York. We walked to most of the spots we visited. The hotel isn't perfect - the internet did not work well (you had to log in each time you did anything) - and most (though not all) staff were very nice and accommodating. But we LOVED our stay in New York both in 2010 and 2013 - and the most wonderful central location of this hotel at affordable price with nice clean room accommodation was a major reason why. We will definitely want to return to the Herald Square Hotel our next trip to NYC. P.S. The history of this hotel as the former Life Magazine building is fascinating - and very interesting to see numerous covers of Life throughout the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekgpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    774
    293
    99
    65
See reviews for
245
753
148
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This little hotel was a surprising delight! The room was spotless and the bedding was luxurious. I stayed here during a trip to run in the NYC marathon and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The subway was close by and Times Square and Bryant Park were within walking distance. I will stay here every time I come to NYC, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great location (just 3 blocks from Penn station) and very reasonable price. The rooms are not fancy and no view, but very large and spacious. Being at top of midtown it is very accessible to an easy walk up broadway to Times Square, almost right beside Empire State Building, and an easy jump off point to travelling south in manhattan. Been there twice now, and both times enjoyed our stay, and it's location, and the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel was all we could ask for. Spent three nights and have absolutely no complaints. Great location, walking distance to all the sights. You aren't traveling to NYC to stay in the room!
Priced out several hotels in the area and although it wasn't the cheapest, there can't be a better bargain! Would stay there again, hope to have the opportunity. Good luck.

Room Tip: Leave AC running while you are out, rooms will heat up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 nights in the hotel. Things got off to a shady start when we arrived early. Had to rent lockers to store luggage for a few hours. Never have I seen this in a hotel before. Maybe a hostel but never a hotel!! Receptionist is hidden in an enclosed room where you have to talk through a slot.....again hostel standards! There was a room off the hotel entrance to get a cup of tea / coffee which was dirty. Couple of rolls of carpets were up against wall. Looked like they had been there awhile. Could really of been installed where they we're suppose to be put. Also the entrance to the hotel, everyone had to be buzzed into the hotel to gain entrance... Even during the day.... Again never ever seen this in a hotel. The only positive was that the bedroom was grand. Really comfortable bed and room was actually clean. There was a serious lack of lighting. One window in the room which had a security shutter on the outside not allowing you to see out or let any light in. In good location near main streets and Madison square gardens. Don't think I would come back again. Loads of nicer HOTELS near by.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My husband and I made a couple trips to NYC this year and as that can get pricey we look for a good deal. Anyone who's been to the city knows you won't spend a lot of time in the room so you really don't need all the extras. But I do appreciate a clean and nice room. This hotel has those, but you have to request a remodeled room. They've updated the decor and bathrooms to create cute and antique room. The rooms are small so I wouldn't recommend to a family or anyone looking for frills in the overall experience, but a great value if you get the newer room.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AConn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The owner walked me through the amazing history of the Herald Square Hotel from its beginnings as an artist colony for LIFE magazine to it days with CHarles Gibson gifting the hotel to John Ames Mitchell. Then the Merkaba; the energy in this building is incredible. My best night's sleep in NYC possibly ever, and I lived there for 11 years. Staff could use some training and the lobby needs some help, but overall experience was incredible.

Room Tip: Pick a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLANKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close walking distance to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and Macy's.Close to the Theater District, Times Square, radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center.Beautiful newly renovated rooms.Complimentary coffee machine in the lounge area.24 hours front desk and concierge service.Non Smoking throughout.Free wireless internet access.A hotel you can recommend to your clients, friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing