We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant bed & pillows!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #310 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant bed & pillows!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

It's true, we had a fairly basic room but it was clean and for NYC reasonably big. The air con was noisy, but it didn't matter that much to us. The bathroom was clean and the staff were all very helpful while we were there.

We didn't stay in the room much - why would you when you're in the city? But the bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I've ever had at a hotel, and it was great getting into it after a long day pounding the streets.

The location was great... Empire State Building, Macy's, local subway.... Fabulous, and great value for money considering the location

No complaints here, and we'd stay again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    775
    294
    99
    66
See reviews for
247
754
149
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a surprise gem found through Priceline. An older,.family owned hotel for several generations lovingly cared for, with the rooms I stayed in several times being 5 Star clean and comfortable. Snuggle quality snow white linens. Simple elegance. If you don't require the service amenities of a large hotel, a stay here is an affordable alternative I definitely recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arockefellerview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were too early to check in but they held our luggage in the storage room and since some of our items were loose (jackets, shopping bags,etc) they had to be put into a locker. There was no charge to store the luggage (we tipped the staff member that helped with the luggage), the locker (which was a good size) cost two dollars. Later when we checked in, the rooms we received were small but clean. There was a safe in the room that was large enough for a laptop and other items. And the WIFI was free.

You do have to be buzzed in to gain access to the hotel, some reviewers complained about this (as well as the lockers) but the added security of being buzzed in is actually nice. The front desk is behind glass which is kind of odd but it does keep the terminals (and the information you can access from them), keys, etc secure if the staff walks away from the desk.

Off the lobby there are about 6 small tables and chairs along with a few living room style chairs and a coffee machine. This was a nice feature because there are no diners near by (where you can sit down and get served breakfast) but there is a Dunkin Donuts down the block so you can get breakfast and bring it back to the hotel using the quiet dining area to eat as opposed to the noisy fast food environment.

The location is not bad, the train station is about a block away if you don't want to walk to your destinations and we found the staff to be nice and helpful. I would stay there again assuming the value is still there upon a return visit. Hotels in Manhattan have become outrageously priced for what you get. This hotel is more than adequate and at the time of my stay reasonably priced (for Manhattan).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticalTravelerFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great location and great price for New York. Not to far from all the attractions. Rooms are small but cosy, it's nice and clean and friendly. Free coffee in the lobby area too. The rooms felt a little hot as not much air comes in from window area however there is air con. Not much in the way of views out of window as in some rooms it's just facing a wall but this didn't bother us as we were out all day. Very close to Times Square and the Empire State Building, places to eat are close by . too. A nice little hotel. This hotel is great for New York, just what you need. The area is safe too and makes you feel at ease. In walking distance to everywhere and only a short cab ride to the port to catch boat to the Statue of Liberty around 15 dollars one way. It took us ages to find a decent hotel within our budget and no other hotel came close.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraland, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A local agent booked this hotel for my wife and I when we were celebrating a trip to NY. We were trying to save money on the hotel in order to have money for some great food and tours. The picture on the website was definately deceiving! MAKE SURE YOU VIEW PICS TAKEN BY TRIP ADVISORS! After viewing the room, I decided to head back downstairs and ask if we could get the room that looked like the pic on the website. About that time, a young man with a girl abruptly interrupted me and said to the receptionist, "3 hours!" We were all astonished, especially, the receptionist! We gracefully departed the hotel and went around the corner to the Raddison.
All I can say is "Mercy!"

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the pics taken by TRIP ADVISORS and NOT the ones taken by professionals.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanMiller1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great value for the price we paid.
The location is great and the rooms are clean and have what is needed, a bed, a bathroom and a TV. They are a bit outdated but then again I didn't chose the Herald to stay in but to use a place to sleep.

Nothing bad to say about the staff, they tried their best and helped out when we had anything to ask about.
Bottom line - I'll stay here again when I come back to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms are ordinary but clean and confortable, but the staff is rude. I never saw people so stressed than the hotel's staff. I missed the option of keeping the towels at bathroom and use it more than one day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing