We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #310 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you are looking for just a clean place to sleep and shower this is it. It seems a little strange at first at check in but it's like staying in someone's guest room. The coffee machine was great and I liked how it was centrally located and easy to get up or downtown. We did not have an upgraded room but I was disappointed when housekeeping came in and turned off the air conditioning. Housekeeping was very nice and if they saw you in the hallway they would ask if you needed anything!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lilthepill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    775
    294
    99
    66
See reviews for
247
754
149
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed in room 600 with a very comfortable bed with nice bedlinen. Liked that a lot. AC is noisy, but the next day we found out how to open the window a little and didn't have to use the AC that much. Good bathroom with Aveda products. Room size was ok. We liked the living room near reception with coffee and tea making facilities. There are several places outside the hotel where you can buy breakfast sandwiches and drinks etc.
Hotels in New York are very expensive for what you get. However, we liked this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningAround42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The goal is the location. It is very well located, close to the sub and a short waling distance from the Times Square. The room was small, but recently renovated and charming, it looks vintage. The bathroom is large. There are no options for breakfast, only snack and coffee machines, but it really does not matter should your intention is to stay out of the hotel most of the time. Great cost-benefit relationship.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel located just in the middle of Manhattan. There is a metro station just 2 blocks away so it's close to everywhere. It is quite an old building but my room was refurbished, big, clean and confortable. Sincerely in New York you just spend a few hours at the hotel. Just to take a shower and sleep a little bit. I think it's ideal for those visiting New York for the first time because of its location.
A great choice value / money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is the best price for the location. It is not extravagant, but it has everything you need. It feels like a European hotel. The space is small but clean. My only complaints are that you need to request a hair dryer at the desk, housekeeping forgot to put soap in our room the first day (they have Aveda mini products), the air conditioner blew some dirt out, and there is only 1 key per room (we left our key at the desk every time we left). The service is so good though. The people working the desk are very friendly and helpful. We arrived before check-in and they let us go straight to our room. The check-out is also nice and late. The bed was also really comfortable. There were beautiful shutters as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mllespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. The girl on reception was lovely, very friendly & polite. The room we got was tiny. Barely enough room to walk around the bed, bathroom was equally small but everything was very clean & the bed was lovely. Dont think it was worth what we paid for it though. It was pretty expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wexgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

It's true, we had a fairly basic room but it was clean and for NYC reasonably big. The air con was noisy, but it didn't matter that much to us. The bathroom was clean and the staff were all very helpful while we were there.

We didn't stay in the room much - why would you when you're in the city? But the bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I've ever had at a hotel, and it was great getting into it after a long day pounding the streets.

The location was great... Empire State Building, Macy's, local subway.... Fabulous, and great value for money considering the location

No complaints here, and we'd stay again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing