We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best People and Service Available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #202 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Sandra at the front desk exceded our expectations and made sure that we felt like the most important people at the hotel. The entire place is professional and courteous. Sometime you come in contact with certain people who make you feel special, and the professionalism and friendyness of Sandra was beyong what we expected and started our stay out on an extremely positive atmosphere. I would recommend staying here and asking for Sandra to make it a special stay. Extremely happy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjd542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

tjd542:

Thank you for your fantastic review! All of us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square take pride in providing exceptionally warm and caring service so we are glad to hear that Sandra was able to make your stay into a special experience. We hope to continue in exceeding your expectations every time you come. Please let us know when you will be back! We look forward to serving all your travel needs and we can’t wait to have you again!

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,549 - 5,555 of 10,115 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 for four nights with my fiance and my 12 year old daughter. I booked the trip at the very end of last year and our choices of hotel were somewhat limited given that we needed a room with two beds. The CP was actually the most reasonably priced option at that time.

I was initially concerned over the amount of traffic noise from Times Square and just how busy it would be, based on other reviews and comments made in the NYC forum but I really needn't have worried. Aside from the very occasional siren the only noise that was annoying was wind whipping round the building, clearly no fault of the hotel. We did find Times Square to be bustling but no more so than some of our local shopping areas, we were approached by touts but simply said no thank you and we were left alone.

We had a corner room on the 23rd floor that overlooked the Hudson and it was plenty big enough for all of us, the bed itself was a little smaller than I would have liked but it was comfy all the same.

All staff that we encountered were friendly and approachable but out interaction was very minimal. We only had some sliders in the bar on our day of arrival which were pretty good, the rest of the time we ate outside of the hotel (please see my other reviews). The location was great for walking to many of the major tourist attractions, we walked to Central Park, Natural History Museum, ESB, TOTR, USS Intrepid and NYC Water Taxi from here, we never needed to use the subway and we were able to find some reasonably priced eateries within a ten minute walk.

Just a few small niggles that stopped me awarding five stars - the tub was a bit grubby and some of the bathroom fittings were loose. I also noticed one day that our bed sheets had a few quite dodgy looking marks on them which was a shame. Overall, nothing that would stop us from returning in the future and I am sure there are much worse locations!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Jody2803:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We hope you liked the sliders at the bar. We have plenty of other great food options so please try the other items on the menu too next time! We apologize about the tub being “grubby.” All our tubs are getting reglazed so we assure you this will not be an issue in the future. As you mentioned in your review, the location of our hotel is truly outstanding. There is always something new to see or do around New York City so we hope you stay with us again the next time you come back to New York! We look forward to seeing you!

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Booked via trail finders and thought the hotel looked okay in the photos,for our tastes and needs. We haven't been to NY before so thought we'd stay in Times Square and do the full-on thing. We were dropped off outside the hotel, it has its own taxi drop off area and a few entrances to the hotel to make life easy. We were greeted and had to wait to check in to our room as we were early. A few drinks in the bar with excellent service and everything was ready. The room is amazing, spacious and immaculate. We were given a corner room which looks exactly like the room on their website with plenty of space and views- we are still in it as I type! Love the room! To add to that, it's my hubby's birthday and we were treated to NY cheesecake in the room as a surprise, complete with a large bottle of sparkling water, very nice touch. On the tray was a handwritten birthday card from Betty in guest services.These touches are typical of the lovely staff here, including the very polite guy whom delivered our treat! Before I go I must say I'm a bit fussy about hotels but this is top notch, the bed is big and VERY comfortable and there's not a thing that needs replacing or repairing. Great location, great food, great drinks, great staff, great everything- stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

SaMojo:

Thank you for your excellent review! Being in the middle of Times Square is definitely a great location and we are so glad you were able to access all of the midtown sights and attractions and explore the full Times Square experience while you were here! Betty is certainly one of our best and we are thrilled to hear that she was able to complete the full birthday experience for your husband during your stay. All of our staff at the Crowne Plaza Times Square take pride in delivering exceptional service and we are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay here. Please let us know when you will be in town again. We would love to have you back!

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had asked for rooms next to each other and was advised by one of their online staff that this was not a problem. Rooms where 5 floors apart.....
Why do some staff insist on being tipped whilst others don't?
Anyone on the checkin desk does their job without tips, anyone in the bar does their job without tips, the room maids don their jobs without tips. Why is it the luggage handlers insist on tips and get annoyed when you don't tip them.

Over all not a bad hotel just a few niggles

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear alan m,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am so sorry to read you received customer service from our front desk staff which was less than satisfactory. We highly value your views and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had a great stay here with my family on a two week retirement trip, really appreciated the service received while at the hotel. In terms of location, you are truly smack in the middle of times square (if thats what youre looking for). Didnt spend too much time in the hotel, but the time we did was very enjoyable. I want to thank Avi in particular for taking care of us, we came back to the hotel one night to a "happy retirement" goodie basket, a very nice surprise. Thank you and the rest of the staff for making our trip so memorable. Not usually one for reviews but want others to know they can expect good things from the employees here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayR309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, Manager on Duty at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Hi Jay,

It was a pleasure to have you during your retirement celebration! We wanted to make sure it was very special and that you received the utmost quality service to match the occasion. I hope you'll visit us again soon and allow us the pleasure of hosting you again for your next trip to the Big Apple! Enjoy your retirement and see you soon!

Best,

Avi Yesawich
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed from Thursday night till Sunday. Had a wonderful stay. Staff was wonderful. Room had a fantastic view of Times Square. Have to give a shout out to Brunilda who started our stay with a lovely wine and cheese platter. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC. Great location. Walking distance to Rockefeller Center, all Broadway shows and many great restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the 35th floor which is a smoking room but I would think anything from Floor 30 and above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Kim K:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful weekend here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. Brunilda is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the platter she sent up to your room. We hope you were able to visit the many attractions near the hotel. We would love to have you back! Plesae let us know the next time you come to New York City again!

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed in one of the Concierge rooms on the 46th floor. We had free WiFi in our room, a huge comfortable bed and a great shower. The 5th floor concierge lounge was only open for breakfast, but we were given free vouchers to use in the lobby bar instead.

The service was good. The room décor was looking a little tired and the elevators made me feel a little travel sick, but there were no major faults otherwise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsmeagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

ltsmeagain2:

Thank you for your great review! We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Concierge room. We hope that you liked your drinks and snacks at our Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge. We would love to have you stay with us again! Please let us know when you will be back! We look forward to serving all your travel needs!

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 473 in New York City
8,415 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 473 in New York City
11,569 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £137 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you've come for a meeting, you'll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you're here for an event, you'll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing