We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #195 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We tried the Crownw Plaza because the hotel we usually stay at was booked. Express check in took a half hour and staff wasn't very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable and had a great view of Times Square as it was a corner room. No minibar which we like for convenience and no refrigerator to keep items purchased at the restaurant cold. Our room was stifling, probably due to the unseasonably warm weather. The lobby was also very warm until the next day. There are just a few seats near the restaurant to have a drink, otherwise no seating in the lobby. You can't beat the location if you are enjoying the theatre district. It's also a short walk from Rockefeller Center but we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennsylvaniajudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Pennsylvaniajudi,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review and for your candid feedback. On behalf of my team, I sincerely apologize about the service and wait time at check-in. Your comments have been forwarded over to the manager in the appropriate department. Although we do not provide minibars or refrigerators as a standard amenity in the rooms, we do have refrigerators available upon request for a small fee. We will gladly send one up the next time you stay with us. We also have seating in our lobby bar and lounge, Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge, as well as limited seating behind the escalators near the Grab & Go breakfast area. Please let us know the next time you will be returning to New York City. We hope you will give us another chance!
Thank you
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,439 - 4,445 of 9,829 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

We traveled to NYC for the first time to celebrate our 25 year wedding anniversary. The hotel came highly recommended however we were very disappointed. The room was ok small closet. Bathroom was old for this price I would think a walk in shower and double sink or just a little sink counter space. Lighting in bathroom is awful! No frig so you can't keep beverages cold. You have to pay for intent service - and it wasn't cheap. We went out one day returned after 1 and our room wasn't cleaned so we passed on cleaning so we had garbage over flowing. Lobby coffee cart has stale pastries and awful coffee. I can say NYC police were friendly and kind and the people were generally nice.

Room Tip: Not worth price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank fuzzPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you fuzzPennsylvania for your candid feedback, our guest rooms at 323 sq footage is considered large for hotels in New York city. Unfortunately, refrigerators are not a standard amenity that we provide in our guest rooms however they can be sent up upon request for a charge of $35 per stay. We hope you had the chance to use the complimentary internet provided in our guest lobby however there is a charge for the internet access in our guest rooms. We are disappointed to hear that our Grab N Go card in our hotel lobby did not exceed your expectations, we hope you give us another opportunity to show you the services that we are known to deliver.
Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We arrived early expecting to leave our bags until check in time. The lady on the front desk was Vicky Martin, she found our room was ready and checked us in early. Vicky was exceptionally friendly and helpful and made us feel completely at ease when checking in. This is just what we wanted after a long tiring trip to get there.The room was clean and had everything we expected, the view of Times Square was great too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Mark S,
Thank you for the perfect 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that Vicky provided you with exceptional service and welcomed you to the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We are happy to hear that the room was everything you expected and that you enjoyed the Times Square view. Please let us know if you will be visiting New York City again. We would love to have you stay with us the next time you are back!
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I recently went away with a friend on a overnight stay to New York City. We took the Mega Bus to New York! A great way to go, $20 for the way up, $15 for the way home. We booked our room at the Crowne Plaza. We didn't spend much time in the room but while there it was certainly wonderful!

We tried to check in around 12:30 but our room wasn't ready. The hotel stored our luggage and promised a text if the room became available before 3:00, after 3:00 we were to assume the room was ready. My friend and I had already booked a tour and a show so we started our way around the big city!

We didn't get back to the hotel until midnight after our tour. We picked up our room key and luggage then headed to our room. Was very pleased to see the hotel seemed newer and the elevator worked quickly. Once to our room, we were impressed the room was clean and modern. Shower was very nice, had a good flow. Ready for bed, which when I climbed in felt like I was laying on a cloud! Great nights sleep, then up to shower, pack up, store luggage and off to see a show!

As I stated before, we didn't spend much time at the hotel but while we were there it was certainly nice. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbear7840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Tbear7840,
Thank you for the amazing 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time staying here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the comforts of your room, from the cleanliness to the shower to the beds. We hope you had a great time at the shows. There are plenty of shows to watch, with new ones springing up occasionally. We hope you will join us again for some more shows in the future. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed there two nights. Hotel staff was very friendly and informative. Cool atmosphere and room was spotless! Would stay again! Convenient location to everything...train station, shopping, restaurants, etc...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msfixit615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Msfixit615,
Thank you for the perfect 5-star review! We are ecstatic to hear that you had an amazing time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. The location of the hotel is definitely great for guests who want to be in the middle of it all in Times Square. We hope you had a wonderful time. Please let us know if you will be visiting New York City again. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I visited New York the first time last week. Not being familiar with the city we were hoping that the hotel would meet all of our expectations. It met all of our expectations and when we return we look forward to staying at the Crowne Plaza. The trip was in celebration of our wedding anniversary and we returned to our room the first evening to find a tray of snacks, bottled water and a congratulations card...such a nice gesture. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was a corner room located on the 38th floor with large windows overlooking Times Square. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The location is central to the theatres, shopping, and most attractions. It was very easy to walk almost anywhere from the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Also thanks for the beautiful snow on Saturday!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Pam B,
Thank you for the amazing 5-star review and for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion! We hope you had a lovely anniversary celebration here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenity we delivered to your room. We are delighted to hear that our hotel met all of your expectations, from the room, to the view, to our service and team members. Please let us know when you will be returning to New York City. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

First of all, I must say that this hotel feels like a regular 4 star hotel. There is no minibar but you have a big Tv on your room (if you value that perspective). The bathroom is renewed and ok. Great location!!!

Our particular experience was ruined by the options that were made for us... At arrival we were informed that, contrary to our reservation, they only have a smokers room for us. Taking in consideration that we are traveling with two children, this is unacceptable in all perspectives. But there was no other option available (so we were told!)... Bad planning as the reservation clearly mention the non-smoking option and the children... Unacceptable!

The room has a fair amount of space but the windows are very old and poorly sound and cold proof... The space to accommodate clothes was very small, even for 1 person... We had to maintain all clothing on the travel bags...

In our room the tv remote control was missing... So just a big black board (no way to turn it on manually).

We were at the 35th floor but the view was poor, facing the back of a residential tower...

This could have been a good experience, but it was ruined on what felt like we were given the worst room in place.

Don't recommend... There are other options in NY that value their customers and have the basic care of not putting children on a smoking environment.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Pedro C,
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel location, and that you enjoyed our renewed bathroom look and amenities. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we do not have minibars in our guest rooms however we do have vending machines on each guest floor and also in our hotel lobby. We do have refrigerators that we can provide, upon request, for a one time nominal fee of $35. Depending on which reservation room type was requested upon booking, we do strive to accommodate our guests requests. We do try to accommodate all our guests requests whenever possible.
Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#186 of 469 in New York City
8,224 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#112 of 469 in New York City
6,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#129 of 469 in New York City
5,623 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#281 of 469 in New York City
5,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £139 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you've come for a meeting, you'll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you're here for an event, you'll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing