We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster averted and handled impeccably! Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disaster averted and handled impeccably! Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I almost didn't book at this hotel because I had read poor reviews about the staff being rude specifically, but wanted the location, and the price was too hard to turn down. I had planned a very special Mother/Daughter trip to NYC for our 17 yr old daughter, her best friend & mom. Before our arrival, I worked with the concierge to have chocolate covered strawberries waiting in our room for the girls, as well as a surprise from Dylan's Candy Shop, and Edith handled things wonderfully, and with a friendly & helpful attitude. The hotel is lovely, rooms spotless, modern. Do not expect great service in the lounge/bar for food late at night, they were just too crowded. So we decided to try room service after waiting for about 20 mins with no service in the lounge. My friend has a nut allergy, and I specifically asked if there were nuts in the dessert we ordered from room service menu. I was told that there were not. Unfortunately, there were. Luckily, it didn't turn into a life and death situation as we realized right away there were nuts. I was mortified and quite upset though, and immediately went downstairs and asked for the manager. I explained that if she had eaten the dessert and had an anaphylactic reaction, it would have been a life & death situation. He was professional, apologetic, and clearly upset that it had happened. He asked if I minded if he left to go speak with the food & beverages manager, as well as speak with the person who took the order, and the chef. He then came back with the F&B manager who also emphatically apologized & stated that they would implement some changes. They explained that the dessert came from an outside vendor, and when they checked the ingredients it did not show nuts. So although in a way it was completely accidental on their part, they would implement a new policy with regard to potential food allergies and outside vendors. They then offered to take the room service cost off our bill and offered us vouchers for breakfast the next morning. (Which was INCREDIBLE btw, and if you eat at the hotel GET THE AMAZING CHICKEN POT PIE...SERIOUSLY!) I would also like to add that when our room service waiter heard what had happened he came up to our room to see if we were alright, if we needed anything, and to let him know if we did anytime during our stay. His name is Alvaro, & he was one of the best waiters we have ever met. Additionally, the Manager, and Food & Beverage Manager were wonderful. So I am not sure who the previous reviewers dealt with as far as hotel personnel, but I can't say enough about how they handled our situation. Additionally, I received a follow up call and email from the hotel following our stay, and an offer to personally handle our next reservation should we choose to go back, and any needs in the future. We will DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK! If it wasn't for the food allergy situation, and an overcharge (that was corrected after I found it) I would have given the hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views of Times Square, and to reduce the noise levels coming from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKDiSantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you DKDiSantis for your review. I am terribly sorry for the blunder that occurred regarding your friend's allergy but I am so thrilled that our staff members were able to turn it around. We hold ourselves to a high standard of service and I am very glad that we were able to rectify the situation quickly for you. Definitely let us know when your next stay approaches so we can take great care of you again!
Best,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,308
    3,188
    1,076
    414
    298
See reviews for
3,275
2,700
298
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apalachin, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

front desk clerk Vicky Martin was most helpful in resolving room charge issues. She was courteous and knowledgable. Excellent representative of Crowne Plaza. Look forward to returning.Location was excellent and all services were well above par.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you Frank M for your review! I am very glad that Vicky was able to assist you with the issues on your bill. We pride ourselves on efficient and friendly service! We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Could not beat the location for navigating Midtown Manhattan and surrounding area. Nice place! Room with two-double beds very nicely appointed. Spacious, especially for New York standards. CLEAN! Reasonable rate with AAA discount. When I booked it said Times Square View....that is if you smashed your face against the glass window and looked down the street towards Times Square. Stayed at other hotels in the area where Times Square View meant exactly that. Very nice cocktail lounge in lobby great for people watching. Also, very nice reasonably priced menu with very tasty selections. We ordered a number of appetizers and they were very good. Our cocktail waiter was pleasant, gracious, and did an excellent job. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zookpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Zookpr,

Thank you for your terrific 5star review, we are really happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel and it’s amenities, we thrive to provide our guests with the best services and experiences while visiting NYC. We are glad to know you had chance to visit our restaurant and indulge the delicious dishes our execute chef prepares daily.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Upon arrival my son and I were treated very kindly, given information that our room was upgraded and we were treated with pristine service. We went to the room which in fact looked just like the picture, got settled in and stepped out to a nice dinner in the city. After dinner we came back to the hotel and made plans for our next day of leisure on our vacation. It was very cold so we hung out in the lobby which is very nice, an open area with a bar and restaurant atmosphere. We were in and out of the hotel the whole vacation but since the location was so close to everything we were doing it made it easy to go back and forth. The hotel staff was very nice and went over and above with the service they provided and this is the most important thing when you are on vacation is to not only have fun, but to know people care!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbie80881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Barbie 80881,

Thank you for your terrific 5 Star review, we are thrilled to learn our team members made your visit to NYC such a memorable one. We always try our best to provide the best service to our guests. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the excellent location of our property and its amenities. We really like to know our guest had the opportunity to enjoy the Bar 49 and Brasserie Restaurant located in the hotel, specially during inter time, it can be a great convenience. We are pleased to learn you noticed we care about our customers experience while staying in our property. We appreciate your input and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Crown Plaza Times Square was in a great location! This was our first time in New York and we were in the middle of all the buzz! The room was clean and comfortable and was great to have a comfortable bed after a very long day of sight seeing! We had a room over looking the Hudson river but when in New York you definitely don't spend much time in the room so it was not a problem for us. We would definitely stay there again as we could hail a cab, subway was close by or walk to where we wanted to go! Only downside was no minibar or kettle in the room only a coffee machine.
I do enjoy a cup of tea in the mornings but had to have coffee instead. Not a problem in the bigger scheme of things as I am now addicted to coffee:) Cafe Benne just on the corner from the hotel had great coffee so it was a good start to our day and we had to stop off at Hersheys after a long day for some yummy chocolates!

Room Tip: Even though we had a room close to the elevators it was not a bother. Beds are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi SATraveller30,

Thank you for your great review, we are really glad to learn that you had a wonderful experience visiting NYC for the first time and enjoyed the location of our property. We appreciate the fact you liked our high standards amenities. We would just like to share with you (for future references) that we do offer different kinds of tea that are offered based on request, our coffee machines are also used to prepare a cup of tea. We appreciate your input and we do hope to have a chance to serve you during your next visit to NYC.

Best regards,

Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, location is the best, rooms are good and decent size, staff is responsive but give a feel of busy.

2 things need attention or improvement
I have tried to book the hotel through IHG website at Usd 265 and I have received the booking of holiday inn. Then I have to call at their office and some how they have cancelled the booking but the fresh price quoted was appx usd 400 where as website was still showing 265. Well I have booked the same hotel through another website at 278. This experience had damage the IHG website credibility.
2nd the lobby is on higher floor and one have to take luggage through escalators and it is not same to carry big luggage through them. I suggest they should stop the use of escalator for heavy luggage and use alternative methods.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you Seema S for your honest review. We appreciate our guests feedback so we can become better. We do have an elevator for access to the lobby level versus taking the escalators, we do hope you get the opportunity to use this in the future. We also have to thank you for being a Rewards Member and we hope you got to enjoy all the perks as free wifi and gym access.We look forward to your 3rd visit!
Best,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for about a week. Nice hotel very large. We took executive room on the floor - 43rd. We were promised a view of the city. We got a view of the parking lot. But all in all a nice hotel. Clean room very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast without a large selection. The best thing in this hotel this is its location. For those who want to experience the City of New York for the perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you albert b for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location is definitely a plus. We are close to our city's best sites and restaurants! All our requests are based on availability and we are happy to assist our guests the best we can. We look forward to have you back with us in the near future.
Best,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,849 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,742 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,107 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing