We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

To start with, this hotel is in a brilliant location. Not right on Times Square but close enough. We had previously stayed a few years back in the Novatel Times Square and this hotel easily beats it hands down!

The rooms are for New York, some of the best. The problem with New York is that most hotels are about 15 years overdue for a renovation so if you stay at, for example, a Novatel in Asia vs one in the USA, best not keep your expectations the same.

The staff in the hotel are very helpful (mind you in a tipping country there is incentive to do that). However there was an issue. We got caught in the Polar Vortex and our flight cancelled out from London to a later flight on another airline. Unable to contact the hotel during this time, it wasn't till we made landfall in the USA (we ended up mid flight getting diverted to Detroit) and got to the hotel the airline put us in for the night and after we sorted out ticketing with the airline to get to NY (which is a disaster story in itself) I finally got the chance to contact the hotel to say we would be a day late.

Once I got through to reservations, the lady on the other end of the line advised us that we had been classified as a no-show and was actually quite rude about our lack of contacting them earlier (as if they were the priority!). Considering at that time they would have been suffering a lot of no-shows due to the closure of the airports you would think a little bit of leniency? Anyway, after feeling like a child being scolded they re-confirmed our booking. I wonder if this all occurred as we had booked via Hotels.com and not direct?

Anyway, when we got to the hotel finally the following day very late at night, the lady at the desk informed us that the room we had booked and paid for, they had none free that night. So we got put into a room with 2 beds of a lower class for 1 night. Thankfully, she advised us that the next day between 10am and 1pm, the hotel would move our cases etc for us to another room which was what we had originally paid for. As compensation we were give 2 x free breakfast passes for the inconvenience. I cannot fault the lady at the desk, but it would seem that the lady over the phone did not do her job properly.

At the end of the day, alls well that ends well I suppose.

The hotel in general is really nice. The room we got initially was ok, the room we booked much better. I was a little surprised that being the USA and the inconvenience we had we did not get upgraded...considering other people's similar type of stories...but anyway.

The breakfast...was below par. I am glad we did not pay for it. There are plenty of places in NY to get something to eat so save your money and go to the street to eat. The breakfast was, lets say, on the lower side of average for a 4/5 star hotel...quite lower side. Mind you they are renovating the normal breakfast area and had situated this in what looked like their function rooms but in all honesty, that should not be an excused for providing a good breakfast (I am sure their prices were the same regardless).

The room we ended up in was great and had a nice view of the city and if you craned your neck somewhat, a very partial view of Times Square. If was very roomy, the bathroom was nice and clean and a reasonable size. The shower hot water temp was great! Just having come from London where both hotels we stayed could not produce anything more than mild lukewarm, it was much appreciated!

Each floor has an ice machine and a vending machine which is great. We had free Wifi, which I am not sure if it was standard or just that it was part of being a member of the Crowne Club...but I think it was free regardless. It is about time (as we saw in London) that many hotels are offering a standard wifi connection as free and a premium at cost. Ironically coming from Australia, the standard speeds actually match what we normally get at the best of times so it is more than adequate (infact at times it was far better than what we get back at home - take note Tony Abbott...bring back the full NBN...we are so behind the 8-ball here!).

The bed was very comfortable and large and in general there were enough facilities in the room as you would expect from this standard of hotel. The lobby is very busy and often quite noisy. Note that you do not have direct access from the entrances (both front and rear) into the lobby, but our last stay was at the Novatel Times Square and that was much worse as you could only get to the lobby via 2 slow lifts. Here they had stairs and escalators as well as a lift. So no big issue.

The gym is absolutely brilliant. As a member of the Crowne Club I had free access (which I am surprised at any hotel these days that you shouldn't have regardless). The gym looks like it is run as an everyday gym for anyone as it was massive with so many machines it was amazing! I

Overall I would stay at this hotel again if we were coming to NY and could get a reasonable rate for a King Room, a lot based on its location and in comparison to other NY hotels it was very good. I just hope that eventually NY spends some money on their hotels and updates the rooms. They are well overdue. Otherwise would recommend this hotel to others quite easily.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Peter S Thank you for the wonderful review and for being an IHG Priority Club member. As a member you do receive the complimentary internet access and also complimentary access to the New York Sports Club gym located within our hotel. We are currently under going a multi-million dollar room refresh to provide an even modern touch to our guest rooms. We are even changing our our bath tubs that we recognize have had better days, to a modern sleek glass shower! Being in Times Square and in a location of high demand, we diligently work on providing a great hotel service, product and amenities to our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your overall hotel stay and cant wait to welcome you back.
Safe Travels
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,201
    3,092
    1,049
    409
    290
See reviews for
3,172
2,642
290
1,023
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,909)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this great hotel. Very nice location at Times Square. We was greeted by the extremely helpful Sandra Esp, who went out of her way to make our stay very pleasant. The room was sizeable, the bed comfortable and the sheets were high quality. Great waiters at the breakfast who kept me updated in the Olympics. Thanks for a great holiday
We`ll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Rune N - Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are glad you found our sheets and bed to be comfortable and exceeded your expectations. Sandra E. is a great team member and strives to provide that special touch to any guests that she encounters. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel location can't wait to have you back.
Thanks again for staying with us and recognizing our efforts in providing you with a great hotel stay!
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Excellent help from the duty manager on arrival and special care from Marcia at the reception desk made our 6-day stay in New York a very pleasant experience in spite of the horrible weather conditions prevailing between 11 and 16 february 2014.

Late checking out at 2pm was particularly appreciated for flight out of JFK at 7 pm, under snow storm conditions.

Room Tip: Higher floors heating system can be improved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MANUEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you, Manuel C for your wonderful review! I am thrilled that you had a positive experience with out management team! We cannot wait to welcome you back for your fifth visit!
Best,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were forced by the storm to find a last minute lodging in Midtown. I landed a spot at the Crowne Plaza, where I was greeted by the extremely helpful Sandra Esp, who went out of her way to make my husband and my stay very pleasant. The room was sizeable, the bed comfortable and the sheets were high quality. The pool is smaller than I am used to but it worked for me. Sandra allowed me to check in early and store my luggage the next day at no charge while ran over to the MOMA. The lounge in the second floor lobby provided a safe and comfortable place to grab a refreshment while watching the Olympics. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The room was really quiet and faced west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jannewy0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you jannewy0rk for staying with us and recognizing our delightful staff Sandra Esp, She does strive to provide our guests with top notch service. We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to visit the New York Sports Club's lap pool and was able to enjoy the hotel during the Olympics. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a trip to New York celebrating our Son's 40th Birthday,
Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was super.
Vicky the receptionist who checked us in gave us a very warm welcome, this took the edge off the tiring flight, we were speedily checked in, Vicky was very informative, professional and this continued throughout our stay.
Vicky also arranged a surprise 'Supper Tray with a Bottle of Wine' for our Son's 40th; a kind gesture, reflecting how helpful and caring she was.
All members of staff were polite, helpful and you were made to feel most welcome and 'at home'.
Our room was on the 44th floor with views of the City, this was fully appreciated at night when everything was buzzing.
The room I felt could have been a little larger and also the bed but it was very clean, room service was very good and always plenty of clean towels etc.
We did eat here and again the standard of the food was really good, just had portions so huge!! We were told ('we don't do small in America).
Yes the food was quite expensive at the hotel but it was always an option which sometimes was convenient for us.
Generally this hotel is very good, there are a few areas perhaps which need some T.L.C. but this did not reflect in any of the services which we depended on during our stay.
Should we return to New York we would not hesitate to stay at the Crowne Plaza again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SheilaDado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you SheilaDado for staying with us. Vicky does it again, she is one of our superb team members that assists whenever the opportunity is presented. It was our pleasure to be apart of such a memorable experience for your son's 40th birthday celebration. We are glad you enjoyed the food at our food venues at the hotel. Both the Brassiere 1605 and Lobby bar 49 provides great high quality food items. And the room amenities, comfortable beds too.... We are undergoing a refresh project in which we are undergoing a multi million dollar project to provide an even better product for our guests to enhance their overall hotel stay.
We are glad you chose our hotel, and can't wait to welcome you back.
Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fabulous hotel, right in the heart of everything. Clean comfortable all you could wish for, there were some hiccups, all around poor communication, which led to some inconvenience during what should have been a flawless 5 night stay. Having said that, they were minor although very frustrating and after the first couple we did wonder what would happen next!! That said however, once Juliet Chang and Robert Carvajal (the Managers on duty at the time) were made aware of the issues, they were addressed immediately and put right. I have every confidence that concerns are taken seriously and acted upon.

The Crowne Plaza is a huge hotel very corporate and business like, all really that you would expect from such a prestigious chain.

Great value for money, aside from the bar (although you would expect higher prices) security is good without being intrusive. Our break was out of this world and now confidence is restored we would not hesitate in recommending the hotel and will hopefully return as soon as our credit cards have recovered from the fabulous shopping and great exchange rate over there.
If you are looking for safe, central, clean, comfortable, and good value then look no further.

If it were not for Juliet and Robert really listening and doing their best to ensure we were happy then I would have rated our stay just average, purely and simply due to the issues around communication breakdown we experienced. However, because they take their roles very seriously, work as a team and critically, understand the importance of the guest experience and give confidence that niggles are soon sorted, I have rated the hotel as excellent and very well deserved.

Room Tip: Communication is key, if you have any specific requirements then ask in advance, make sure you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jovi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you jovi19 for the wonderful 5 Star review. We are glad that Robert and Juliet provided their assistance to you during your stay with us. They are two team members that are part of our management team and their dedication to our guests clearly showed in your review. We sincerely apologize for the hiccups incurred however delighted to hear that they were addressed and handled to your satisfaction. We are glad everyone had a fabulous time, we would love to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Despite slightly down at heel entrance with hordes of guests waiting for pickup a great hotel. Room spotless, friendly staff, best lift system I have encountered, comfortable bed. Minimal noise from street/ adjoining rooms. Free computer access (20 min max - just as well as heavily used by facebook & twitter afficionadas) with free printing for airline tickets etc. Aircon/heating is noisy as mentioned by other guests, but the room was warm even after switching it off before bed during recent snowstorm. Breakfast best taken nearby - try Daniela Trattoria just north on 8th avenue.
Well situated near Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcp705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
rcp705 Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review. We hit the mark and provided you with the WOW factor that we are known to deliver to our guests. Our staff is great and takes each opportunity to ensure our guests stays are top notch. We are glad you recognized and enjoyed the guest room cleanliness, comfortable beds, staff and our central location.
We cant wait to have you back in the near future.
Safe Travels.
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,596 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,659 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, IHG, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing