We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-sized room, poor attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #200 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The four-star rating comes from a few specific things:
--Location, location, location; steps off Times Square and convenient to the subway
--Room size - not huge but big by NYC standards, and I had enough room for my workout videos
--Upscale lobby area

Other than that, the place is just OK.

Even the bathroom had a reasonable amount of counter space. Bathroom amenities include soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and lotion, plus packages of cotton balls and swabs.

Internet access will cost you if you’re not a Priority Club member. If you are, it’s complimentary, fast and reliable. This plus a dedicated line at the front desk were the only amenities I received as a Gold member.

On the downside, the room was a bit shabby. The carpet was threadbare in places. One of my cotton ball packages had been opened.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi DebbiesOnTheRoad,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Your reviews do help make us better. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the heart of Times Square as well as the rooms. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in our rooms. We are still in the process of renovating our rooms and floors. Carpeting as well bathroom renovations are already in effect. We hope you visit as again very soon! We'd love you to see our new rooms and floors! Thank you once again for choosing the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We know you have a choice in hospitlaity and we're glad you chose us.

Best,

Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,125 - 4,131 of 9,978 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to New York for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We spoke to Imran, who's professionalism was an example of customer service at its highest. We were given a room with a beautiful view which looked over Times Square. On our return to the room we received complimentary prosecco and strawberries dipped in chocolate (which were amazing). It didn't finish there the following day we received chocolates and bottled water. Totally blown away with the hospitality and its all down to Imran, making our stay one to remember. The room was spacious, fabulous views and was exceptionally clean (not forgetting the location right on Broadway). For the best rooms available book through Crown Plaza.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wishes to visit.

Room Tip: Book directly with Crown Plaza and ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We are ecstatic that you recognize the "wow" factor that we are known to deliver to all our guests. Imran is a great asset to the hotel and we are so glad he made your stay such a special and unforgettable experience. Thank you for future guest recommendations.Please let us know when you will be back! We hope to see you again soon!
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location only....otherwise poor performance. Very poor, two star hotel in my opinion. Need to be updated and refurbished. And most amazing thing...there is no bar in the room. Internet good but expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 010364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the recent feedback about your stay with us at the Crowne PlazaTimes Square. It will give us opportunity to review the areas that need to be improved. I am really disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. This is not the accommodations and service that we strive to deliver. I would love to get more feedback in order to make amends and turn things right in order to make you happy.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Allie

Alkudrna@cptsnyc.com
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is modern. Nice bar in the lobby and close to all the action. Bathrooms are 2 way and if I was using the vanity while my husband was in the shower he had to let me know as the bathroom door opened onto the vanity.

Room Tip: Choose room on higher floors to avoid street noise, we were on level 30 and heard nothing from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionaeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed the appearance of our hotel as well as our location! We agree that we are in a great location and we are very pleased with the results of our renovation. We are sorry to read that our bathrooms did not satisfy you. Please contact us directly if you plan to stay with us again so that we can arrange a larger bathroom. We hope to see you back at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and we thank you.

Warm regards,

Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is a great location to everything: broadway shows, Hells Kitchen, and 5th avenue. The rooms are not huge but are adequate in size. We had two beds (mother and daughter). The beds were comfortable. The bathroom never seemed very clean.

We got a rate of a little over $400 a night. The rate included breakfast. I would certainly do that over buying breakfast which was on standard with other hotel breakfast buffets. Cost without the package was $32 pp and in my opinion was worth scout $4. But it was New York where everything is high.

We did drinks and appetizers in the bar one of our three nights. Sushi was good but a very small portion with a price of $20 I think. Drinks were $15 each. Again New York Prices. I reviewed our shows and dinners separately. All were great except for Changs. They had a short very short dinner show with only two numbers and an audience participation part and the food was absolutely horrible. Cost was over $60 pp for one drink, inedible food. I would not go back. The other restaurants: Ruby Toos, a Thai place in Hell's Kitchen, a pizza place on 6 th were all fantastic. Food in Hell's kitchen was very reasonably priced.

We saw three shows: Book of Mormon, Kinky Boots and Rock of Ages--all fabulous. but Rock of Ages was my favorite.

We took a bus from the airport to our room and a private driver took us to the airport from our room. Second option is definitely the way to go if you have 6 or 7 in a group.

All in all had a great trip. Three days nights was probably a little short.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square! We are glad to hear that the hotel was perfect for your travel needs and that all our staff provided you with flawless service from check-in to check-out. We hope you were able to visit all the restaurants, shops, and attractions in the Times Square vicinity. There is always more to see and do in New York City so we hope to see you again! We are consistently undergoing changes to improve our overall service and amenities available to our guests. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been forwarded over to the appropriate departments to discuss and review. Please let us know if you will be visiting New York again! We would love to have you stay with us again!
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just came back from trip to NYC which i really love! normally stay at a particular boutique hotel, but there was no availability there for my dates so i went to Crowne Plaza. Got in at 12am and met with Sandra Esp at the front desk, she was just great from beginning to end! i was a bit skeptical since i wasn't staying at my usual hotel, but she really made me feel at ease and at home, very friendly and professional.The room turned out okay had a great view of the Hudson river, very relaxing and i enjoyed the rest of my stay. I would stay there there again. Angela A.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angiehk700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Angiehk700, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review with our readers, we are glad to hear that our staff, especially Sandra made such a positive impact on your hotel stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and wonderful view. We can't wait to have you back at our hotel.
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located in Times Square and has plenty of amenities. The staff were very helpful and generally pretty friendly (makes a huge difference in my opinion).
The concierge staff were great and very helpful.


The only minuses were as follows:

We arrived very late on Saturday night after a very long flight and had to wait a long time to check in when all we wanted was to fall into bed. For some reason we had to wait while the staff member checked whether our prepaid room could be released.

Our room had no minibar or fridge. All we wanted was something to keep our water cold!

The bar staff seemed inattentive in the evening. We wanted a meal and sat waiting at a table for service for 15 mins - eventually we went up to them and asked for a menu.

It is a good hotel but it is the little things that make a difference to the weary traveler.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Kowhaikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the great review! It was our pleasure having you as our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms. Our staff was excited to hear that they were hospitable and made a positive impact on your stay with us. Our Concierge staff are great assets to our hotel. We do not provide refrigerators in our rooms but for a small fee we could have sent one up upon request. We are consistently undergoing changes to improve our overall service and amenities available to our guests. I sincerely apologize your check-in experience was longer than normal after a long flight. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been forwarded over to the appropriate departments to discuss and review. Please let us know the next time you will be back in New York City. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,451 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 471 in New York City
8,344 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#180 of 471 in New York City
11,472 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 471 in New York City
7,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you've come for a meeting, you'll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you're here for an event, you'll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing