We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Plaza New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #193 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crown Plaza New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel on a public holiday weekend, very jet lagged and eith no place to stay. The staff were wonderful. They could see we were very upset and did everything they could to accommodate us. We spent 7 great days in this lovely hotel. All the staff were so friendly and very helpful. The hotel is in an amazing location, you could not ask for anything more. The room was very clean, housekeeping kept it spotless for our entire stay. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast here was such a array of fabulous food but you are so central that you could walk out the front door and no matter which direction you went you would find a local restaurant. I have recommended this hotel to everyone. Yes it, maybe expensive for ome but you get what you pay. The hotel is right in Time Square......what more could you ask for. A massive THANK YOU to you Crown Plaza formsking our stsy in New York one we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello tmg72,

Thank you for the amazing 5-star review! I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of your room. The location is certainly great for guests who want to be in the middle of Times Square. My team was excited to hear that they were hospitable and made a positive impact on your stay with us. Please let us know the next time you will be back in New York City. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Best regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,200
    3,090
    1,048
    409
    290
See reviews for
3,171
2,641
290
1,023
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,908)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here with my family in June 2014. We were on the 28th floor. The room was very basic and small and the fixtures and fittings and bedding were of a very poor basic standard. The shower tap was almost falling off, the
bathroom mirror was cracked, the carpet looked dirty and the vent in the bathroom was not working. There wasn't even a fridge in the room! We paid just under £2000 for one room for 4 people and it was not worth that. However, the view was excellent as it overlooked Times Square entirely. The hotel was very conveniently located within 2 or 3 minutes walk of each subway and approx 15 minutes walk of Central Park. There are many many restaurants to eat in but most of quite expensive. If you are looking for somewhere to eat breakfast go to Evergreens on 47th Street. It is a family run business and they do a full hearty breakfast of omelettes, big light and fluffy pancakes, big tasty sausages, bacon, toast and a large mug of tea or coffee. It will set you up for the day and will cost around $40 for 4 people excluding tips. Be careful of the restaurants the offer buffet style eat all you can meals. The food is weighed per pound so you often end up spending more than what is advertised.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellamee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello bellamee222,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review and for your candid feedback. I am disheartened to read about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. Our are 323 sq ft and are considered spacious by NY City Standard. We strive to provide outstanding customer service to all our guests. I apologize that you experience several concerns during your stay. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been forwarded over to the appropriate departments to discuss and review. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit so we can prove to you how much we value you as a guest.

Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is a really busy hotel, and as long as all the people in the lobby doesn't bother you it's a great hotel to stay in for a NYC visit.
The room was great and the bed super comfy. The bar staff were really friendly and served me quickly with good sized glasses of wine.

The gym is awesome, a full fitness club at your fingertips right in the hotel.

The hotel looks out onto the m&m world store and time square from one entrance. The other entrance is less than a block walk from the Eugene theater and Book of Mormon. It's really close to other theaters and lots of restaurants. Within walking distance to Central Park and to Times Square. Easy subway access to the rest of the city.

Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank domyno50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello domyno50,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of your room. The location is certainly great for guests who want to be in the middle of Times Square. Please let us know the next time you will be back in New York City. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 8 nights as part of our USA holiday. On arrival our room was not ready but we were given drinks and food to enjoy in the bar which was much appreciated after traveling. The room itself was a corner suite and was well appointed. The views were fantastic of both the river and times square. Room service was speedy with the food not only presented well but tasting fantastic.The location was perfect for first time travelers to New York, everything we needed was at the front door or within short walking distance. We didn't use the gym facilities but did tour them and they looked high quality. We would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello MrsS30,

Thank you for the amazing 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that all our staff provided you with flawless service from check-in to check-out. I am also thrilled to know that you had a great experience with room service. I will definately share this with my team. The location is certainly great for guests who want to be in the middle of Times Square. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Best regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenems, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

it has been very nice, clean and good rooms. best thing is the awesome location right at the times square! breakfast in the morning is good but nothing special, the bar is bit small but who wants to hang out at the hotel lobby when you are in NY ;-)
after all there is just one thing i would change,.. ask for a room which is not just next to the elevator which is a bit noisy in the night, but no big deal,..
would go there again!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustrianPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi AustrianPhil,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square! We hope you were able to visit all the restaurants, shops, and attractions in the Times Square vicinity. There is always more to see and do in New York City so we hope to see you again! Please let us know if you will be visiting New York again! We would love to have you stay with us again!

Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

So clean, so convenient, great value and great service all round. The rooms are above average in size and have great views of Times Square and the river - I think it would be hard to find somewhere that ticks more boxes for somebody looking for a central New York location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Our location certainly is great and it's great to hear you enjoyed the rooms. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Travelled as a family of 4 - 2 adults 2 teenagers. Beds were not doubles. Went to do stretches on the carpet in the room - carpet smelled like vomit. Disgusting! When we arrived, they had overbooked so they gave us a king with a cot. Not a great sleep that night or any other. Need to book 2 kings instead next time - ridiculous.

Food was fantastic for hotel food when we had it - pricey (like all new york except mcdonalds - for $15 2 big macs, 20 piece mcnugget, 2 fries, 2 drinks) but great. My wife says best sangri ever (red one).

Room Tip: see times square or see the river - either were great for us on the 40th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4frtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza49, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are happy that you liked our location. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,594 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,651 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing