We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Hampton Times Square North”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #161 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just returned from a stay in NYC at this Hampton Inn. Our group of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Check-in was about the smoothest we've had at any hotel in Manhattan. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and larger than other hotels we've experienced in NYC. The breakfast area was clean and filled our needs for breakfast, saving us lots of time and money having to buy breakfast elsewhere. The location was perfect ~ a manageable walk south to Times Square, east to Radio City and Rockefeller Center and north to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Columbus Circle, etc. And, lots of restaurants to choose from on 8th Avenue. We will definitely be using this hotel on our next trips to Manhattan!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank wbg0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,707 - 2,713 of 5,500 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

We've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Location is one block from Times Square...enough said. The included breakfast is always excellent. Staff is always polite and helpful. Melissa really was helpful to give us the best value for our money. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and loved it! The location can't be beat. 1 block off Times Square on 8th Avenue which is NY Restaurant Row with every kind of food just out the front door. The hotel was very clean and quiet and provided a great atmosphere to relax in after a busy day in the city. The hot breakfast was plentiful and the hotel even went the extra mile to have gluten-free bread and muffins for me when I told them I had Celiac disease. I have stayed a 4 different Hilton brand hotels in NYC and this is my favorite. The staff is especially attentive to special needs of their guests and that's what makes it great for me.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, ask for a room that does not face 8th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sproutyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived early and were given a room with no hassles. The room was spotless and well stocked. The hotel itself was close to just about everything. Everyone in the hotel were so friendly and helpful. The only problem was they only have 2 elevators and 1 was broken for our entire stay which meant lengthy waits most of the time. Would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel instead of the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank futureeastcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I only last year discovered Hampton on our trip out west with friends. What can you say besides they're great. The breakfast is always very good and convenient, especially in a city you don't know. The staff is always friendly,courteous and eager to help. The rooms are very nice and have everything you need. The fact that they store your luggage for you when your plane lands at 7AM, so you don't have to carry it around all day, is amazing. This particular hotel is really in a good location for all the activities in midtown NYC. The only negative and definitely not a deal-breaker was in the breakfast area every morning, the tv being on CSPAN(who cares)and being much louder than it needed to be. When a few people complained it was said, this is the only channel we have. Pretty amazing that a hotel in NYC has only 1 channel, and a loud one at that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I choose this hotel because it was close to broadway, which obviously was handy when we finished watching a show. From the pictures i observed that the rooms where larger than those normally are in New York. And to my delight the rooms were big as described. The hotel was clean, and allowed us to check in early. The breakfast was good, and had a waffle making machine.

Being named 'Hampton Inn Times Square North', gives the assumption that it is based on the northern part of Times square. Not the case at all, it's actually a few blocks away (about a ten minute walk).

For a Hilton hotel it was not as i expected it to be for £260 a night, the staff and as such the overall experience, meant that our visit felt very impersonal. Whilst it inlcuded breakfast in the rate, which i know that a lot of NY hotels do not, it was served on paper disposable plates and cutterly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Johanna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the city. We’re very sorry you experienced an impersonal level of customer service and assure you the problems you mentioned with have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that our brand is known for.

Thank you,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Recently stayed 5 nights. 2 adults,1 child. All staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good choice although not a fan of "plastic" utensils. Room size was comfortable for 3 but we felt the room decor could do with a little modernising. Location for a trip to New York is excellent. Close to everything with a wide range of restaurants at all price ranges on your doorstep. Unfortunately we experienced 2 nights of pro-longed noise from adjacent rooms. Accept this aspect is largely outside the control of the hotel and in fairness they did respond quickly when we alerted them to the problem. That said, we would have expected a higher level of "sound-proofing" between rooms. Aside from the noise issue, the room rate from our perspective was on the high side given the facilities of the hotel however our experience of comparable properties in NY is limited so difficult to make a fair comparison.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the noise issue you encountered. We know how important a quiet and relaxing space is while traveling and we will share your concerns with our facilities team so we may look into additional sound proofing measures. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you travel to the city so we may show you the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,248 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,138 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 469 in New York City
2,452 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 469 in New York City
9,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing