We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to subway, Times Square and Broadway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location to subway, Times Square and Broadway”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Clean, good daily hot breakfast and take away snack bags. Rooms were large and well equipped. Concierge and front desk staff very helpful.
Walking distance to times square, broadway shows, great restaurants and subway. You cannot beat location for this hotel.

Room Tip: Hilton chain; so sign up for Hilton Honor points and use AAA to get a better deal. Request a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Heather1967,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We truly love having you here!

Warm Regards,

Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,803
    1,965
    440
    114
    59
See reviews for
2,303
1,373
200
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We vacation in NYC a lot and always stay near Times Square. This Hampton Inn was the best place we've ever found by far. Room was much bigger than comparable places, location is great, clean, updated, good breakfast included, cookies and coffee/tea every day (yum!), quiet halls, helpful and polite front desk. Minor negative was the concierge gave info that was not accurate---several times. We figured that stuff out on our own. And price was very competitive. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMurphy1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
BAMurphy1220,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We truly loved having you here!!

Warm Regards,

Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place is in the heart of the city two mins walk from Times Square and close to everything. The hotel gives a complementary breakfast that ticks most boxes and the staff are really friendly and happy to help . It's a solid family based hotel and for the amount of time we stayed in the room it was perfect for us. Not the first trip to the big apple but if it is a would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking 8th street quiet and a great way to watch the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wescott195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Wescott195,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We truly loved having you here!!!


Warm Regards,

Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchville, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Clean, no bedbugs, quiet, friendly, not outrageously priced, good-sized room--if you can do all this in NYC, you have a very good hotel. Also, location was very convenient, including a number of good restaurants nearby. Even the window opened a little! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor in back was quiet, and view was still pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ&MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
NJ&MJ,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com we truly loved having you here.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I can not tell you how wonderful this staff is. They made our short and extended stay in New York so wonderful, comfortable and memorable.

We had come to New York to celebrate my daughter’s 5th birthday and see the Rockettes. The staff found out it was her birthday and went above and beyond to make sure it was special. It meant so much to us. They sang to her at breakfast, they gave her a bag of goodies, all of which was unnecessary but so kind and then to top it off they had cupcakes delivered to our room that said Happy Birthday. Who does this now a days? How wonderful it was for us to experience these acts of kindness that were not required of your staff, but they did willingly and of their own accord.

The night before we were supposed to leave, my daughter got sick, to the point that we had to take her to the emergency room. The staff, allowed us to stay an extra night, and in my opinion charged us a rate that was under what you would normally pay for a night in this hotel because they knew we were in need. How generous. When we came downstairs to get a taxi to the hospital, the security guard, ran outside with us, had the address written down for us to give to the taxi driver and flagged down a taxi for us to get us on our way as soon as possible.

Finally the morning we left the front desk manager called up to our room to see how our daughter was doing.

I can not express how impressed my husband and I are with this hotel's staff. Not just one person, but everyone! The breakfast staff that sang to my daughter, the front desk staff that sent her cupcakes and helped us out in our emergency, the security guard who got us a taxi and housekeeping who brought us clean sheets and towels and took the old ones away in the middle of the night when my daughter was sick.

My family and I will ALWAYS stay at this hotel on any future trips to New York City . And I have stayed in many nice hotels in New York City, the Waldorf Astoria and the New York Hilton and Towers to name a few.

The location is 2 blocks form Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall and steps from a subway stop and numerous Broadway theaters...what more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Kathi P,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly loved having you here!!! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to New York City.

Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Spring, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Hotel was okay. When we checked in we were not given any information about the hotel. When we were leaving the following day others checking in were given all kinds of helpful information. Not a very good first impression. I have stayed at many Hampton Inn's but this one was just "okay".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Burma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Burma M,

I would like to take this moment and extend my sincere apology for the inconvenience with your check in. Please know we have spoken to the department and will assure this has been rectified. We truly hope you would give us another chance and choose to stay with us when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here the first weekend in December with a tour group to see Christmas in NYC. This is one of the only hotels I know of in the theater district with complimentary hot breakfast, coffee and tea bar 24 hrs/day, fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon, and the rooms are decent size. It is so close to Rockefeller Center, Central Park, all the theaters, and Times Square--just a few minutes walk to each. It is surrounded by eating places on every block, and a Rite Aid Drugstore nearby. The staff and concierge were wonderful--extremely helpful with all my questions. Concierge can get tickets and vouchers for so many places you want to go. You also just have to stand out front and hail a cab if you don't want to walk--that's if there are not some already there which they were a lot of the time. We were on the 7th floor overlooking 8th avenue (rm 706), and we did not have a problem with street noise or having to wait on elevator to go up or down.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor overlooking 8th avenue (rm 706), and we did not have a problem with street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CajunCountryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
CajuncountryBM,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience. We truly hope to see you again.


We loved having you here!!

Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,061 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 467 in New York City
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,553 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#107 of 467 in New York City
6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing