We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent base for a New York adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most excellent base for a New York adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed from Mon 26th May to Saturday 31st May on the 8th floor facing 8th Avenue 2 adults and a young adult of 14 ( children only up to 12 in America apparently).

Chose this hotel after some investigation for a 5 day/6 night stay in New York for Broadway shows and the usual New York experience ( if there is such a thing )! Arrived by transfer from Newark Liberty Airport having got a transfer on arrival. We originally meant to get the sky train, but this was out of action for planned maintenance . There were extremely helpful people on on hand to arrange and a slick process a bit like 'Argos' where you were given a number which was called out when your 'ride' arrived, given two options and we took the more expensive (60$) but quicker time option (cheaper one was $52 but half an our longer). The only thing about this transfer was the minibus went to several places and took best part of an hour to deliver us in air conditioned comfort to our hotel, not a problem for us but could be more so if you are really tired or had a bad flight.

Hotel was efficient, comfortable and excellent in location a walk of 250m to times square . Subway is 100m away. Most theaters with in 500m. Central Park i about a 10/15 minute walk depending on your pace. The breakfast is a bit of a scrum later on, but is tolerable for anyone but the most impatient. One point they might like to consider is that they lay on free tea and coffee in the lobby 24hrs, but could really do with supplying small bottles of water as well, wouldn't cost that much, but would be really appreciated.

If You ask for a High floor facing 8th Avenue it was quiet enough, but with a great view of the street scene of New York ( see photo).

The room we had ( 2 queen beds) was spacious, clean and well appointed with a newish HD flat screen TV. The corridors look a little tired, but this does not detract from the feel of the place yet. One thing to note is there was no fridge in the room, but an ice maker 20 steps down the hall and the ice bucket in the room saved the day for the milk and wine we purchased from the over the road.

We had lots booked and I will go through this now, although this is not to do with the hotel, I will relate it to how the hotel location made it really easy.

Day 1 NY 9 hour shuttle tour- this you can pick up from times square immediately over the road and down 50th street. This was an excellent tour of the city on an air conditioned bus to see: grand central station, St Patrick's cathedral, the Empire state ( premium ticket), lunch in little Italy/China town, Wall street, the Statue of liberty ( pedestal tickets) and the poignant 9/11 memorial. Jack the guide was excellent and knew so much about NY.

Day 2 Wednesday went to the Museum of Art and Design ( 18$ per adult) near central park, the wind got up and got a bit cold so we took the tube down to 23rd street to pick up the High line, a park made on the raised old railroad along the west of Manhattan. We stopped off at Chelsea market and had a shop and some lunch, very nice. That night went to Majestic theater to see the Phantom of the Opera, excellent show ( had booked seat on telecharge before arriving), all worked like clockwork. Norm Lewis and Sierra Bogas were a triumph and delighted my daughter by coming to the stage door and signing autographs, ~300m walk back to hotel afterwards.

Day three Thursday took to subway to Brooklyn and walked across the Brooklyn Bridge ( about a mile) with excellent views of the south Manhattan skyline. Then went to the south street seaport and sat and watched a jazz band in the open air before enjoying the heritage views of ships etc. and then back to central park, walked across the park from strawberry fields and went to the zoo. Be warned central park zoo is one thing in America which is subtle... no lions, zebras, giraffes (aka Madagascar) just penguins, seal lions and snow leopards and a tropical house, that said, a lovely way to spend an hour or two.

Day 4 Friday Subway to China town to buy some 'tat' ( bags, liberty statues etc.) and then back to the Rockefeller Center and top of the Rock. If you only get to do one sky scraper view point on your trip do top-of-the-rock as it is made for viewing and far superior to the Empire state in its unbroken views etc. Tonight was Les Miz at the imperial, the whole reason for us being there, and a triumph at was too... Ramin Karimloo, our daughters hero, was fantastic and didn't disappoint , apart from not signing autographs due to a calf strain he had picked up ( We forgive him!).

Day 5 Saturday kicked around the Rockefeller center, 5th Avenue and times square for a spot of shopping and a sit in a bar off time square then a taxi (65$ all in) to JFK for a flight home.

This was a Marathon NY adventure, and the Hotel just made it really easy as a base. We cannot thank them enough for making it an easy, comfortable and welcome stay in NY. We would definitely use the Hampton again.

Room Tip: high room overlooking 8th Avenue was a great view and not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earnie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing how great your experience was here at the hotel. It was a pleasure to host your stay and we hope that you will return one day!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,698
    1,851
    412
    105
    56
See reviews for
2,175
1,316
195
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room was fine---The cleaning of the room could have been better. The breakfast was good but usually packed with no where to sit so we brought it back to our room. There were three of us in the room which had one king bed and a pull-out couch. All the beds were comfortable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or pool here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TERESAhCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Teresa,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of the hotel. I am happy to see that overall its seems like you had a good stay. We will be sure to share your comments with the housekeeping as we are always looking for ways to improve. Please come again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Short walk to Times Square and entertainment. Free breakfast, 24 hour coffee, and wifi. Room was large, comfortable, and well maintained.. Staff had a good attitude. Lots of good local restaurants on 9th Avenue. Planning on staying there next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allanerny2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Times Square North. Sounds like you had a great stay and we cant wait to host your visit next year again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the second time I stay at this hotel. This time I stayed with my daughters and some friends during Memorial Day Weekend. We chose this Hampton Inn because of its excellent location. We had Broadway tickets for Wicked and the theatre was right across the street! The hotel is within walking distance of Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station and Macy's, as well as many other New York attractions. The staff at the front desk and the concierge were very courteous and professional. The convenience of having a complete breakfast before we started our New York experience each morning is also a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ileana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community. We are happy to see that all went well during your stay and hope that you will come again.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

What a find!! Room was comfortable & clean, quiet, cool, and spacious compared to many hotel rooms at the other chain hotels in NYC. Loved the true "blackout curtains!" The staff was friendly & helpful & the location was perfect. Will absolutely stay here again!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay. Glad to see that all went well and we hope to see you again.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rosa and Steven in the breakfast area worked extremely hard and well to make sure the guests had a good experience. The rush of guests between 8:30 and 9:30 was extremely heavy and they did a great job trying to keep up. They deserve 5 stars for the effort they put out with smiles on their faces every day we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Caroline,

Thank you for posting your great feedback on our Food & Beverage staff. They truly work hard daily and they will be so happy to see this comment especially when I share it with Steven & Rosa. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great locations, close proximity to all plays we attended. Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. Hotel was clean and housekeeping gave us very quick service for any additional needs we had. Chris the bellman is awesome! Front desk ladies Nancy and Brenda were terrific and Bryan the manager is one of the best, thanks to all we had a great stay, we will return!
And the banana nut bread at breakfast was delish!

Room Tip: Good value"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Connie,

Thanks for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share this with Chris, Brenda, Nancy and Brian! They will all be so happy to have been mentioned.

I hope this finds you well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,691 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing