We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #169 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hampton was a wonderful experience as all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is perfect as it is so central to everything. The concierge goes out of their way to get you the best tickets to whatever you want to see or go to. Having breakfast included was great as you start your day with a yummy breakfast and then discover New York for the rest of the day. We loved it so much we are returning again and would highly recommend to others as it is the place to stay in New York. It is really hard to find great service these days but at Hampton it is all about service. Thanks Hampton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your comment with both the concierge and breakfast staff. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,765
    1,921
    430
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,248
1,358
200
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights. Great location and very friendly. Breakfast was very busy so we went to nearby restaurant. When we go back we would most definitely stay here. We asked for a close to top floor with street view.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello David,

Thanks for sharing your experience. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I’m looking forward to your return!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Location is close to theatres, Times Square, and Central Park. Add in the hot breakfast and always available tea and coffee, what more do you need. If you want something more, Starbucks is next door. Rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NoelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Noel,

Thank you for posting about your stay. We are happy to see that you were pleased with the hotel. Please be sure to visit again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I travel to NYC on business four times a year and my travel agent was unable to book me into my usual hotel so he chose to book me into The Hampton Inn. The general appearance of the hotel is tired and needs a total make over, bedrooms are of a good size but are dated. The air con was very noisy and could not be used, although it was not an issue on this occasion it would be a major issue in mid summer, I did report this to the hotel management, but nothing was done about it. We had coffee in the room on the first day which did not get replenished until we requested this on the last day ! Breakfast is an experience to behold, once you can get to the self service breakfast area after getting to the end of the queue! You will find food which you had wished you had not bothered queuing for and if you do decide to try the food on offer you will be eating off plastic plates with plastic knife and forks and drinking from a paper cup. I did expect more from a £200 plus per night hotel, consequently we did not eat breakfast again in the hotel. I saw the duty manager and expressed my disappointment, with the breakfast arrangements and the general state of the hotel. I was given the option of checking out and finding another hotel, this was impossible. I was checked in four four nights and had business meetings all day so this was not a viable option.You have to accept the fact that NYC is a noisy place but unfortunately situated a few blocks from the hotel is Batallion 9 of the New York Fire Department, this is a fully operational fire station and when the appliances leave the station you certainly know about it if you stay in the room overlooking 8th Avenue. The acid test is would i stay at this hotel again and recommend it, no on both counts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrietWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Hello Harriet,

I am so sorry that you did not have the best experience with the hotel during your stay over the summer. It is certainly not the norm for us as you can see most of the comments via Trip Advisor are generally really good. We hope that you will return for a chance to experience the TRUE Hampton Inn Times Square North experience.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Free Breakfast , Free WiFi , 3 blocks from Times Square and close to all theaters, friendly staff ...
Do I need more .I stayed 8 times at this hotel and will be my favorite at New York with my family. Don't lose the opportunity to stay at the Hamton.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your loyalty and staying with us time and time again. We are happy to hear that the service has been so good that it keeps you coming back! We try our best and this shows that something is working. THANK YOU!


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you love theatre, this is a great location at a reasonable [for NYC]. You can easily walk to almost all venues for plays or musicals .The room was modern and roomy, especially for midtown Manhattan. As per Trip Advisor reviews, we requested a room on the 11th floor, facing the inner courtyard with a window. It was very quiet, actually silent with the window closed, but it was nice to have it open occasionally for fresh air. The temperature control was excellent and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast was quiet good with a large selection. The staff was friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: 11 floor, inner courtyard with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to see that you were pleased with the property and thoroughly enjoyed your time in the city. Please be sure to come again.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great hotel at great NYC rates. Service is excellent and always with a smile from ALL employees. Breakfast excellent. Omlettes or scrambled eggs, turkey sausage or hash browns every morning as well as fresh cut fruit. Coffee available 24 hours a day. A robust coffee option which negates a need to go to Starbucks. Very nice, amply sized rooms. Very good location with respect to subway system with C & E within a block and 1, N, Q, N, and R within 3 blocks. Oh, and I forgot the cookies every weekday afternoon in the lobby and apples available 24 hours a day. All in all, our new favorite NYC hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA-to-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel and the many amenities that we have to offer our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,409 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing