We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value for your monies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #157 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, VA, United States
1 review
“Good value for your monies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location, near theaters, restaurants, Central Park and Time's Square. We likes the fact that they have two queen beds per room and free internet. A very good value for the money. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Edgard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Edgard,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post about your recent stay. I am happy to see that all went well and that the queen beds were of comfort during your time here. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,652
    1,802
    401
    100
    49
See reviews for
2,131
1,279
189
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staff was very helpful and friendly with everything to extra towels and pillows, to directions and attraction advise. Hotel was very clean. The location was perfect. We were walking distance from theaters, restaurants, and Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a great stay and we hope that you will return!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for a week and had a great time. The hotel is in a top spot and we walked to most places. The Staff were helpful and friendly and rooms were nice even if a little old,
The free breakfast was great but it gets super busy and the breakfast area is fairly small for such a large hotel.
We would stay again if ever back in NYC

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Jody,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope that you will return during your next trip to NY,

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Hampton In was recommended to us by friends with whom we have travelled over the years and on this trip as well. We found the location to be central to all the main sites that most travellers look to visit while in New York. In our case we had chosen to see Jersey Boys at the August Wilson Theatre which was located just around the corner on 52nd Street and dinner at Maria Pia Italian Restaurant conveniently located around the corner on 51st street.
Check in at the hotel was quick and efficient, although I had requested our room to be on the same floor as our friend's room we were assigned to a different floor. When I mentioned this to the clerk she arranged to change us to the same floor as our friends. A very nice touch was the offer of bottled water at the front desk whether leaving for or returning from an outing.
The complimentary Continental Breakfast offered good selection for all tastes and suggestions were posted giving times when it would be busy.
The room was large, clean and comfortable and the housekeeping service was great. I found the Hampton Inn to be an Oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. I would certainly fee comfortable recommending the Hampton Inn to anyone planning a trip to New York City.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor facing 8th Ave., the hotel can't be blamed for the constant honkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BigAL2014915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Al,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North for your most recent NYC travel needs. I am glad to see that all went well during your stay and that we were able to fulfill your request of being on the same floor as your friends. I love Maria Pia Restaurant so I’m sure you found the food to be quite delightful and I hope the Jersey Boy play was just as good as I’ve been hearing. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Times Square North from June 1st through June 7th. The hotel is quite convenient as it is close to the theater district. We saw three broadway shows and all of the theaters were within 3 blocks. The times square location was perfect for tourists. The lobby was clean and simple yet perfectly functional. What made this hotel special was the excellent service that we received while there. We are experienced travelers so we have seen many levels of service. First the concierge Nathalie was superior; She provided friendly, excellent, and useful directions and advice to wherever we asked her to go i.e. Yankee Stadium, Central Park, the nanny's house (tv show the Nanny), restaurants, and generally navigating through the city.
Next, Alfonso was a great help to us. He let my wife in to get some food even though we had missed the closing time cutoff, On another occasion, he got almond milk for my daugher. He was always friendly and helpful and went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, Chris in the lobby was always friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff were excellent. The breakfast buffet was adequate and quite useful. Overall, our stay was pleasant and, I would recommend this hotel to other travelers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillTrip1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Bill,

It brings great pleasure to see that you had such a wonderful stay during your time in New York. I will be sure to share your comments with Natalie, Alonso & Chris as they will be very happy to see you posting! Please be sure to come again.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Lewis, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location was great! Time square, food and shopping. Front desk staff was pretty helpful. The Best quality doorman service " Nevzat Eksuz" was very helpful! Bed sheets were very clean, I felt pillow cases were pressed., house keeping did very well job with cleanses, however we felt the furniture, and carpet was pretty run down. Bed mattress was NOT supportive and your body was sinking in. Very flimsy.
I felt the breakfest crew did their job very well under the pressure of overwhelming crowd of people! Excellent hard working staff!, however run down carpets, bed mattress, hallway carpets, especially bedroom carpets, need retouch/ restain bathroom furniture. Oh! Curtains
Need little help as well. :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience and posting your honest feedback. We will definitely take heed to your comments as we plan to undergo some updating soon. I will also be sure to share your comment with Nev as I am sure he will be happy to see that his name was mentioned. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Best hotel to stay at in New York! The workers are super friendly. The hotel rooms are big & clean. The free breakfast is a great way to save money. They always restocked the food and have a good selection of food. The hotel location is close to everything. The view was excellent! Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton inn and would stay again in a heartbeat. Thank You so much to Lawrence for helping to surprise my friend for her 21st bday in New York. The decoration in the room was exceptional and my friend was extremely pleased by the surprise! Thank You to Nev, who helped call a taxi for us for our trip to JFK. Also, Thank you to Dennis, for the breakfast to-go bag. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Princess,


Thank you for choosing us as your place to stay during your time in New York. It was such a pleasure to assist with making your friends 21st birthday as special as possible! I will be sure to share your comment with Dennis and Nev as well. Please keep in touch and come again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#231 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#168 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,428 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#139 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing