We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable beds, easy place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, easy place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The staff were lovely, the lobby area bright and airy, loved the free apples available. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The housekeeper dealt with any issues quickly and to our satisfaction. I wonder if the management would consider "bumpers" for the baby cribs as the metal rails are a bit harsh. Breakfast was plentiful, I felt it adequate with fresh fruit and zero fat yogurts but my travelling companion didn't like the paper plates and cutlery, I understand its easier but some people might not like it. The hotel has a parking garage attached and they have "deals" but easy access to subway, bus route and Penn Station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MinxyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay while visiting New York City. We thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. I will definitely look into your suggestion regarding the baby cribs as well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,723
    1,873
    420
    106
    57
See reviews for
2,202
1,333
195
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location to walk to Central Park, or to Times Square! Very clean, staff are incredibly friendly, and there is fresh coffee/tea on all day. Stay includes a free continental breakfast too. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MyTwoCents2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting about your recent experience with our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty nice hotel with a very good location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are a decent size, especially by NYC standards. I was traveling with my husband and 9 yr old son and stayed in a King room with pull out sleeper sofa on the 3rd floor at end of the hall. The room was quiet which was good. The bathroom was a little small in floor space, but has standard size tub/shower and enough shelf space to hold your toiletries. My biggest complaint was the bed. The mattress was just not that comfortable. Now granted I am a person in my 40's with some arthritis issues, but still think bed should have been better. I am used to a Hampton Inn having plush pillow top mattresses and fluffy pillows. Here the mattress is not really pillow top, in my opinion, and pillows pretty flat. The breakfast was included and was pretty varied. You should be able to find something to eat between the yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, cold cereal , eggs and waffles that are offered. It is always very busy every morning in the breakfast room so be prepared to wait for a few minutes and wine and search for a table. They offer tea and coffee 24/7 and have a bowl of apples in the lobby. They also have a plate of cookies sometimes available in the afternoons by the front desk. You can easily walk to Times Square, TKTS and many of the Broadway Theatres from here and there is a Metro stop close by or you can catch the 8th Ave. Bus line, but need exact change or a metro card. All in all not a bad hotel, not outstanding mainly because of the mattress.

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Linda,

Thank you for posting about your recent experience with the hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel overall and we hope that you will return. I will definitely look into your comments regarding the mattress as well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a shame. Not a bad hotel and breakfast is great and the room large and well appointed, but they have every other news channel except the real news FOX. There is FOX local but no national FOX. Other problem with hotel is that they give a low price the first day and then make the next days 50% and greater. They say it's because of occupancy but it's bait and switch. We left after the first day. The A/C will not go below 70 degrees - must be controlled by the management and it feels clammy in here.

Never again. We're going back to the upper West Side hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flynavy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent time here in New York City. I would like to apologize for the incident regarding the AC. In the future please give us a call so that we may assist with fixing the issue. Also in regards to the rates, most hotels in New York offer cheaper rates on weekends with weekdays being priced much higher due to supply and demand in the city. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time visit to this hotel and New York travelled as a couple on holiday for a week. May not have chosen this hotel but the apart/ hotel that we had booked with Expedia was not yet open which I managed to find out in advance and eventually persuaded the company to find us somewhere else to stay otherwise would probably have looked at something else self catering as we were staying a week. So didn't really know what to expect at this hotel, its exterior look may have put me off,( a bit dull and low rise had previously booked a high room with a city view) but it was surprisingly good. The location was great on 8th just enough north of Times Sq.(about 10mins walk) to be a bit quieter and only a short walk away from Central Park and on the doorstep of Broadway. Plenty of places to eat around the area, hell's kitchen. The room was spacious with 2 large comfortable beds, very clean, if a little old in style, on the 7th floor, large windows at the front with a good view of 8th Ave and the endless activities, there was some street noise but not enough to disturb me, so quite liked that. Regarding our plan to self- cater, well the breakfast was very good also breakfasts to go and there was tea and coffee available all day plus fruit and some cookies later in the day. However, no fridge.
There is gym and computer area which we didn't use.
The staff were also great, well done to them. Also appreciate free Wi Fi

Room Tip: Depends on what you prefer ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misswickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting about your recent trip to New York. I am happy to see that all went well despite you have to switch hotels at the last minute. Please come again and we have that you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were able to check in about 2:15 when we arrived. Check in was very quick. We stayed in room 727. I was very surprised at the size of the room. It looked like any other Hampton Inn - not small at all. We had a King room, and the easy chair and desk chair were very comfortable. The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable. We left the fan on all the time, and we did not hear any noise from inside or outside the hotel. The breakfast was very good, and I used the business center to print our boarding passes. When we left at 5:30 am, it only took about 10 seconds to check out, and the man at the door already had a cab for us with the trunk open. The location was perfect - literally a half block from "Wicked". It was a ten minute walk to Times Square, close to great restaurants, shopping, and plays, and close enough to walk to Central Park, The Museum of Natural History, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

I heartily recommend this hotel to everyone. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if noise bothers you. Leave the fan running, and you will not hear any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl4831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Cheryl,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are so happy to see that all went well during your stay and we hope that you will return sometime soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was very nice, the rooms were much larger than most NY hotels and the staff was very friendly. The cost for the location and amenities was a great value. This is a hotel that I would recommend to anyone coming to NY for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Bob,

Thank you staying with us and posting in regards to your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,683 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,835 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing