We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location and More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Location and More”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm not a realtor but I know this adage to be true when searching for hotels too! This property, located on 8th near 51st and right next to a parking garage-complete with attendants who hustle and smile, is within a short walking distance to many attractions including theater, restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing and the subway. It is a great value for the money with Queen beds, extra towels without a charge, a clean room and free hot breakfast. The staff went out of their way to accommodate and were very friendly and helpful. I suppose what I least liked were the slightly small threadbare towels. No bother....had to put something.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CPA776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting about your most recent stay with us. We are happy to see that all went well during your stay and that the location proved to be a great benefit to your needs. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,782
    1,936
    435
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,272
1,362
200
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent a very happy week staying here and exploring the city, which was so easy. Times Sq and Rockerfeller Plaza were so close for an evening stroll; also Central park was really close, and the subway on your doorstep to travel further afield.
The room was spacious for four of us - the bathroom was small but manageable. The sound insulation was excellent - only the loudest sirens penetrated. The free breakfast was great too, and although more seating would be a bonus we managed fine. One thing that would improve matters would be another lift - there was frequently a significant wait. In spite of that small niggle, we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy to see that all went well during your stay and we hope that you will return.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in this hotel and it was excellent. Food (breakfast was not the best) but everything else was amazing. Staff could not do enough for you and very friendly. Rooms very good did not hear and noise. Location right in the centre of everything easy to get to all sights. Clean and tidy and if I go back to New York I will be staying here....

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coopjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello,

We are so happy to see that all went well during your stay and we hope that you will return. Thank you for staying with us.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of staying at this Hampton on 8th near 51st on several occasions over the past 4 years. Each time, the ladies and gentlemen who are employed by this hotel have made sure that my visit has been "just right". It is great to stay in a place that is in walking distance to fantastic restaurants, shows, and sights, as well as transportation. I look forward to staying there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metraella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North for your most recent New York City travel needs. We would like to thank you for posting the great feedback here on Trip Advisor and we hope that you will come again sometime soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When I'm in NYC, I end up spending a lot of time going to the theatre, and this hotel is very well-located for that. The room I had (two queen beds) was spacious and clean, and everything worked. The included breakfast every morning was just what I needed. It's within a block of the 50th Street E subway station, which connects to the AirTrain if you are traveling from/to JFK - definitely an added plus. Great tip: The hotel has a sign in the lobby specifying times to come to breakfast if you want quiet, some noise or chaos, and this was so appreciated (and so true). I was an early riser on most days, so it was not a problem, but the one day I slept in, it was indeed chaotic in the breakfast area.

Room Tip: I always choose a high floor away from the elevator, and this proved successful here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gscottp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello,

We are so happy to see that all went well during your stay and we hope that you will return. Thank you for staying with us.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Free breakfast seems to be of good quality, though the place is a zoo unless you get up early. Average size hotel rooms, which is actually nice for NYC. Good location near subways and broadway shows. But pillows are terrible, bath towels are tiny and threadbare. Bottom of bathroom door is rotting away. Only 2 elevators for a fairly large hotel. Might be worth a bit more more money to stay at a nicer hotel. But the free breakfast is nice, esp. for families.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank commercialloanbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your honesty in regards to your most recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you were pleased with our location and some other aspects of your stay but also apologetic to the items that were not completely to your liking. I hope that you will return one day to receive the TRUE Hampton Inn Times Square North experience.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Close to all the action in Times Square, theatre district, and Central Park. Free wifi & breakfast were a big plus, as was the parking garage next door to the hotel for those brave enough to drive in the city. Room was larger than most city rooms, all staff was pleasant and helpful, and we had no complaints. We can always count on Hampton Inn to provide great service!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Jennifer,

Thank you for posting about your most recent stay with us. We are happy to see that all went well during your stay and that the location proved to be a great benefit to your needs. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 466 in New York City
6,996 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#241 of 466 in New York City
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,475 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 466 in New York City
7,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing