We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #163 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and I recently spent two nights at the property. As expected from a Hampton Inn, the room was very clean and comfortable and we found the location to be convenient for both business and pleasure. What really stayed with us is that this hotel is staffed by first-rate professionals in every department we encountered. Their courtesy and kindness makes a difference.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North for your travel needs.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 2,001 of 5,550 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this Hampton Inn a couple years back. Boy what a difference a couple of years makes. This place is on its way down, but not by the elevator, but I'll get to that later. Most every thing, from the carpet in the elevators and hallways to the banged up walls greet you as you walk to your room. Yes it's not really a big surprise that the rooms mirror the same lack of care. The wall paper was stained and peeling in areas, the ceiling had some stains, the bathroom reeked that horrible mildew smell. The wall hung hair dryer was missing and towels were in short supply. On the plus side these issues were rapidly fixed after a call to the front desk. The breakfast was the norm, although you would never guess that from the crowds. The internet was spotty but usable for basic things. On the second day, one of the elevators went down. That left one elevator and the service elevator, which was packed with customers and service people trying to get their job done. Unfortunately it took about 2 days to get the elevator back up and running. All in all, I've definitely had better lodging in NY for the same money. You might want to shop around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chigurhanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us during your time in New York. I am sorry that you did not have the best stay during your time with us. Hoping you will return to get the TRUE Hampton Inn Times Square North experience as we will be undergoing some renovations in the upcoming months.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The positives: location is excellent, price and noise level are reasonable, wi-fi easy, provides hot (but mundane) breakfasts, staff does its best to accommodate with quick check in-out, friendly and appropriate.
But...
rooms are dark and not squeaky clean, bathrooms small, hallways and elevators are not clean, a bowl of apples in lobby either contains old fruit or is empty, breakfast room is far too crowded, noisy, chaotic. Even at 6:30 am (recommended by check-in clerk to avoid crowds) line-ups for food were unpleasant. Some people made a mess of the waffle-maker but did not bother to clean. Breakfast room looks more like a school cafeteria than a pleasant wake-up environment. Hilton reputation for excellence is tanking quickly.
In any other city, this hotel would be at the low end of my list but in Manhattan, if you don't want exorbitant rates for a room that essentially serves as a place to lie down, this is ok, but not comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your honest feedback of the hotel. We will certainly take heed to your comments concerning the apples, cleanliness of the halls as well as elevators etc. We will be doing some renovating in the months to come and hope that you will return to see the change.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I'm the early riser in my family, so when I headed down to breakfast at 6:20 am, Rosa P. in the breakfast zone at the Hampton Manhattan Times Square North, greeted me and made me laugh......that's a better wakeup than a cup of robust coffee. She showed me what was on the menu and I felt completely at home. When I was trying to grab food to take back for my sleeping family, she was the go-to queen. She got me situated with a box lid so that I didn't make a mess and drop the food. We kept laughing as I came back later for things I forgot. Rosa P. represents the Hospitality at the Hampton........Rosa P. was Awesome!!! Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Hello Terry,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North for your New York City travel needs. I will also be sure to share the great feed back with Rosa!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spacious Rooms, with 2 Queen beds were comfortable for sharing with other travelers. Recently updated and Clean. Fabulous location. Easy access to midtown, theatre, restaurants and subways. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North for your travel needs.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location. I was able to have walk in Central Part in the AM before my business for the day began. Room small, but typical for Manhattan. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Good breakfast an extra treat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Noreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello Noreen,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel. I hope that you will return sometime soon for your next adventure to New York City.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Loved the location!! Great breakfast and excellent customer service! Was a little noisy but ear plugs cure that!! Everything else was perfect!! Can't wait to visit again!! I had a mattress that was a little uncomfortable and I let them know and they were very professional and timely on taking care of it!! I was very impressed! They actually replaced the mattress! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Brandy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay and even happier to see that we were able to help resolve your issue regarding the mattress. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 469 in New York City
6,994 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,724 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £99 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing