We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all around family hotel near it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great all around family hotel near it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Can't beat this hotel for convenience to main sites of Times Square, Theaters and Central Park as well as subway transportation. Hotel was friendly, clean, and has the typical free breakfast. Other perks were cookies during the week, free water for honors members at checkin, all day apples coffee, coco which kids enjoyed. We landed a studio king with a sleeper that was a low rate that was even lowered by AAA.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duro1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay and even happier to see that you really appreciated the apples and cookies in the lobby (smile). We hope to see you again!


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    1,856
    415
    105
    56
See reviews for
2,180
1,318
195
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chickamauga
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Clean and great location. The bellmen were amazing. Love how we never had to carry our luggage from our room to the taxi, and loved that they called for taxi and loaded in the car. I'm not used to having so much help. It was very very nice. Wished the parking was cheaper. The price for the hotel is expensive, but in a good location. That's NYC for you. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay and even happier to see that you really appreciated the help from the bellmen. We hope to see you again!


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

A good hotel, not cheap but the right one if you don't want surprises and have a few bucks to spare. Quite central, one block from C-E subway lines and two block from line 1, Central Park is a 10 mins walk away. Rite Aid nearby for water and whatever you might need.

Pros: clean, fast check in/out, helpful employees, free coffee/tea/chocolate always available in the lobby (but they should think about offering fresh water too), computers and printer available for free, great bed. If you are in the lobby around 3 pm you can get free cookies but they are soon over.

Cons: breakfast room is not large enough for the hotel, after 7.15 am is really crowded, you should plan to be there at 7 and get out before 7.45 (and stay in the first room, the second is quite cold). Rooms need a bit of renovation and fixing (mine had a saggy door latch), windows on the 8av should be soundproof because the fdny trucks can wake you up in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctrlbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay and even happier to see that you really appreciated the cookies in the lobby (smile). We hope to see you again! Also we will be undergoing some renovations sometime during the winter so I hope this will help to make this your hotel of choice once it is done.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff. Breakfast was great, always very busy however the staff were consistently restocking everything. Great walking distance to nearby amenities and attractions and believe it or not it wasn't noisy at all!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay and even happier to see that you really appreciated the hotels location. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn 7 nights split into 4 and 3. I will just get straight to the point: this hotel is ordinary. It needs a serious overhaul in all departments including customer service. A special mention to the 2 guys who work handling the bags in the day who could not be more rude, abrupt and disinterested if they tried. (How they have not been fired by now is perplexing.)
And the free breakfast on offer..... well when its free and you still go out and pay for breakfast elsewhere, that says it all!
if you are looking to stay at this hotel and have low expectations you will not be disappointed. If they are high, try across the road at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bcc201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the encounter you had with our bell team. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The front desk gave us a double room (two queen beds) upon arrival. I had mistakenly selected a single king size bed and they fixed at no additional charge upon check-in. The breakfast was good for a day of walking the city and sightseeing. They helped up us get the correct subway and gave us good ideas of local restaurants. All in all I would tell others with families to stay there and I would stay there again. It is a great location for a vacation family. Everyone was friendly. We liked the breakfast on the go bags. We took 2 on our way to the train to go home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 805Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay and even happier to see that we were able to help switch your room type at your arrival. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff made a few errors during our stay. First they gave us bad information on subway location. Second, did not deliver on all inclusions as promised for the price. Otherwise, this was a decent place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelc876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello Michael,

Thank you for staying with us during your time in New York. I am sorry that you did not have the best encounter with our staff as they are normally "top notch." Hoping you will return to get the TRUE Hampton Inn Times Square North experience.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,596 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing