We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
jax
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

There's not a lot I can add to the wonderful reviews below, but to say that we loved the Hampton Inn. The room was plenty spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Our room was on the 7th floor, 8th Avenue side, and we did hear street noises, but so what! We needed to get up anyway.

The staff was always pleasant and helpful, especially our housekeeper, and the concierge (can't remember her name right now). Breakfast was plentiful, but one day we decided to eat out and walked one block to the Cosmic Diner and paid $12 for breakfast for 2 - not bad.

Our favorite neighborhood spot was House of Brews, around the corner on 51st toward 9th Ave. Great drinks, great nachos, and friendly service. We really enjoyed this area, and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — location, comfy beds, free breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cathsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,784
    1,941
    436
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,276
1,363
200
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Times Square during our visit to NYC over the New Years holiday. As other reviews have stated, this hotel is a great value for NYC!

The hotel is reasonably priced and centrally located in walking distance to Times Square, Rockerfeller Center, Broadway, shopping on 5th Ave., Central Park, the Museum of Modern Art, and more. We were definitely pleased that we chose to stay in Midtown Manhattan.

While this hotel is not a "full service" hotel (i.e., there is no bar or restaurant within the hotel), it provides all of the basic accomodations needed. Breakfast is included in the price, which is also a plus. The rooms were nicely apportioned and decorated. The beds were comfortable and we were provided with extra towels without having to ask for them.

Front desk staff were helpful in answering questions and assisting with restaurant reservations.

We look forward to returning to this hotel in future visits to NYC!

  • Liked — Location and price!
  • Disliked — Can't say a bad thing about this hotel -- it's great!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AMIBeachGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork,
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

great hotel, good size room, comfortable & large bed. friendly staff. bellman v.helpful. free internet access in lobby.
breakfast included - good variety - buffett style - but beware: long, slow q's from 8-10am. we qued for about 45 min before seating with food.
hotel on 8th Ave, 51st street so good location to times square. also walking distance to visit "top of the rock", central park, broadway...got cab to ground zero (approx €16).
overall great hotel. would definately stay here again if visiting NY

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — q's for breakfast (but just get up a little earlier to avoid)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Corkonian0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieppeNBCanada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

My wife and I, as well as our two adult children ( 29 and 23)arrived at the hotel December 21 and left December 27 and had a wonderful trip to New York. Our stay at this hotel was definitely a good experience all around with friendly and courteous staff, nice clean large room with very comfortable queen size beds for four adults. The breakfast was good, always plenty of food even though a very busy place.

Had good meals around the hotel, such as at Uncle Nicks Greek Restaurant on Ninth Ave, pizza, mexican restaurant as well as the Cosmos dinner accross the street.

Comments from Trip Advisor helped me choose this place and I would definitely come and stay here again.

Philippe

  • Liked — clean, safe with friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing negative to say
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greetingsphilippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Hampton Inn Times Square made our trip wonderful.
Front desk: quick, helpful, friendly.
Bellmen: Great source of information, all smiles
Rooms: New and spotless
Housekeeping: Went out of their way to help
Breakfast: Full buffet breakfast excellent, one hot entree and all the varieties of fruit, cereal, and pastries you can imagine. Staff working breakfast were always helpful.
Location: Can walk to Times Square, most plays, theater district, Fifith Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Museums and more. Subway across the street.
Rates: Totally reasonable for New York City!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Families, Couples, or Seniors.
We stayed here through New Years Eve 2008
I would stay here again anytime.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness
  • Disliked — Many young children running around, sometimes unsupervised.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hyacinthcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

This is a very nice hotel, comfortable accomodations, centrally located. The rooms are nice size, bed is very comfortable, and all was extremely clean. Hotel staff were very helpful with the exception of Francois the concierge, who gave bad advise on dinner reservations and tour company and couldn't provide good price on broadway tickets. Breakfast was very good - and a great bargain considering NYC prices! Overall this is a great choice for accomodations, a block or two away from theaters and great restaurants.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, breakfast
  • Disliked — concierge staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ccbozard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

I am a Gold HHonors member and try to stay at Hilton properties whenever possible. I was amazed, frankly, by how nice this Hampton Inn was and how well it was run. As mentioned in other reviews, this is basically a regular Hampton Inn, but in the heart of NYC, so getting a rate on Christmas Day of $119 a night was amazing. The rooms are very large by New York standards, the staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast is adequate (although take heed of the signs that between 8:30 and 10:00 a.m., it's a 'tumultuous' experience reminiscent of standing in line at a soup kitchen), and the amenities are very nice. I would definitely consider staying here again, even at a higher rate.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greenbeltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,004 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,479 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
6,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing