We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #160 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I just got back from a trip to New York that include 9 other ladies. Our stay at the Hampton Inn was very pleasant. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bellmen, Samuel and Phillip were exceptional and always willing to help out. The breakfast was outstanding. I especially liked that I always had access to hot tea or coffee as the weather was chilly at times during our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were a good size and clean. The location to everything was amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnTSqN, Guest Sercvices Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2009

Dear nannypo,

Thank you so much for the positive review of our hotel! I am so glad that Samuel and Phillip were so accomodating. I have passed your great feedback along to their leadership.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon!

Best Regards,
David Jeffery
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,253 - 4,259 of 5,649 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in October on our first trip to NYC. Location was excellent, room was fine and the breakfast was a good start to the day. Even when we went down later ther were tables available and we took trays up to our room a couple of times. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The location of this hotel is ideal for tourists as we were 5 minutes from Times Square and 10 minutes from central park.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and if (and when) we return to NYC we would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BillB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnTSqN, Guest Services Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2009

Dear BillB16,

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! I am pleased and delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Times Square North very soon!

Best Regards,
David Jeffery
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We have stayed many times in New York and the rooms are always small, whatever the hotel, until we stayed here. The room was great - large, well equipped and comfortable - better than many much more expensive hotels. The service was also great - very friendly and helpful. Good complimentary breakfast and also free coffee and cookies in reception are a very nice touch. We would hearltily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnTSqN, Guest Services Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2009

Dear Lovetotravel1954,

I am greatly appreciative of your positive review for our hotel! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

We love having you here!

David Jeffery
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The amenities and location of the hotel are excellent. Our room had twin double beds and it was very clean and well serviced each day. Complimentary breakfast was a great start to the day regardless of waiting or busy times. Staff were very helpful and friendly and willing to do a bit extra. Easy walk to Times Square and many other attractions and east access via subway. The great thing about this hotel is the level of consistency and quality that gives you peace of mind when booking online. We would definitely stay here again but would prefer to get a better rate next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzFamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

My husband and I choose this hotel based upon the reviews at this site. We stayed 5 nights for an anniversary trip in October. The hotel lived up to our expectations. The room was fabulous and we were totally impressed to find an anniversary card and chocolates upon arrival. The staff were all incredibly helpful and nice....a lot nicer than many of the other service providers we encountered in the city. The location was perfect. We took the subway a few times but generally walked everywhere. Lots of restaurants in the vicinity including a great quick pizza shop right across the street. Breakfast was incredibly crowded but we were expecting that. If you go early it is quiet though. And breakfast was great every day. Free wireless internet was a major point in making our decision. 100% recommend this hotel for your holiday stay in New York City.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanc0uverBC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnTSqN, Guest Services Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Dear Vanc0uverBC2010,

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us and even happier that you enjoyed your stay with us! Beyond that, I am thrilled to see that you found our team to be helpful and friendly. I have passed on your comments to everyone.

I hope that when your travels take you to New York City again that you'll consider staying with us again.

Best Regards,
David Jeffery
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Stayed at this location last week for 5 nights with my husband and our 15 yr old daughter. I found this hotel on Expedia.com and after reading mostly good reviews, I booked us in. WOW! what a great place this is. Very good location (we walked mostly everywhere) wonderful friendly front desk staff, housekeeping staff and bellmen. Everyone said "Good Morning" or asked us how our day was upon our return to the hotel. It felt like we were going home every night after long days of sightseeing. We stayed on the 9th floor facing 8th Avenue. It was very quiet even though we were on the street side of the property. Our room was HUGE by New York standards and the king size bed and pull out sofa bed suited our needs just fine. I have stayed in other higher end hotels in NYC for much higher rates and this hotel exceeds them in every single way, room size especially. The free breakfast every morning was a huge bonus and the variety of the food choices was perfect. Get there early though. By 8:30am every morning, the place was packed and hard to find a table. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24/7 in the lobby was especially nice to bring up to our room. I do wish that the rooms had fridges and microwaves in them, but I'm not complaining. Everything was wonderful regarding our stay here. We can't wait to return to NYC next year and stay at this fabulous property. We will recommend it to anyone and everyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel. The free internet in our room was a great thing for our teenager daughter who used it all the time. We were also able to print out our boarding passes at the hotel's business centre in the lobby. Cosmo's Diner across the street from the hotel has delicious food for 1/2 the price you will pay for eats at Times Square. We went here 3 times to eat and it was yummy everytime!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theftvictims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnTSqN, Guest Services Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Dear Theftvictims,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I am excited to see that you enjoyed our hotel so much. I did want to follow up with you and let you know that we do in fact have fridges, but they are by request and based on availability.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Times Square North soon! Thank you again for your positive review.

Best Regards,
David Jeffery
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of Oct. and we can't say enough good things about it. It was in a great location for getting to all the major attractions in NYC. Our room was large with two queen-size beds. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was on the small size but had a 5-ft tub and shower and a nice vanity with granite top. Our room was on the 7th floor facing 51st street. We kept our window closed at night and were not bothered by noise from the street. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The "free" breakfast was quite good and featured something for every taste. Another nice feature was having coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7, as well as a big bowl of fruit and there were also cookies in the afternoon. We hope to return to NYC soon and will definitely stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherVictoria_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnTSqN, Guest Services Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Dear HeatherVictoria_B_C_,

I greatly appreciate your positive review of our hotel and am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am also glad you enjoyed our numerous amenities and large rooms!

I hope that when your travels take you to New York City again that you'll stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

We love having you here.
David Jeffery
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,451 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 471 in New York City
9,978 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 471 in New York City
7,110 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#335 of 471 in New York City
5,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing