We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Amsterdam Court Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Pearl Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mayfair Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Time New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (5,800)
Filter reviews
5,800 results
Traveller rating
2,996
2,124
487
126
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,996
2,124
487
126
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral parktimes squarefree breakfastgreat locationrite aidnew yorkbreakfast roomhot breakfastyogurtrockefeller centerfew blockshell's kitchentwo queen bedsbroadway theatersparking garagesubway stationroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,042 - 4,047 of 5,800 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at Hampton Inn Times Square North for a week in October 2010 and had SUCH a great time! The location has got to be the best thing. You are just a few blocks from Times Square and the Rockefella Center. Theatres are everywhere. For a GREAT burger try SHAKE SHACK (turn right out of the hotel and keep walking down 8th - sometimes you have to queue but its REALLY worth it!!) You are close to the Port Authority bus terminal (good for the bus to Woodbury Common Shopping Outlet) and lots of trips pick up from Times Square so its really handy (I recommend "see New York in a day" with OnBoard Tours which was so well worth doing). The next best thing was the breakfast which saved time and money every day! There was lots of choice, a couple of hot choices,plus english muffins, bagels, sweet muffins (try the banana!!) yogurt, fruit , cereal, juice, even when it got busy the friendly staff keep topping it up so there was always plenty of choice and we didn't have a problem getting a seat. The 3rd best thing was the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate available 24hrs a day. Again this helped us save money and was SO welcome after a day sightseeing to the max!! There were also apples available everyday in reception which is a nice little touch. The first room we were given was by the lift which was a little noisy but we asked if we could move and it was no problem at all. Our new room was large and very comfortable with a great view of 8th Avenue. Beds and pillows were comfy. My 13 year old daughter loved having a huge bed all to herself. The shower was powerful with lots of different settings. On a couple of days I needed to have a bath to sooth my muscles but as the bath is sunken it doesnt have a ledge to rest your head on so it was a bit awkward to relax, but this was just a small thing and I didnt go to New York to take long baths!! The staff were all very hard working and helpful. I had a number of queries before we arrived and had emailed Martyn Reed the Assistant Front Office Manager who always answered my questions quickly and he also arranged a car to pick us up from the airport. We have freinds that have stayed at hotels with higher star ratings and they said their rooms were tiny and didnt have free breakfast and refreshments available! It doesnt have a restaurant or bar but lets face it, if you are in New York you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and bars and the concierge Mary can tell you exactly where to go! There is also a supermarket on the next corner for whatever you may need. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone as it has everything you need for a comfortable trip to New York and I cant WAIT to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lululala36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear Lululala36,

I cannot thank you up enough for this remarkable review! You touched on very essential details of our property. It was such a pleasure having you and your family with us.

I’m thrilled that you found our accommodations clean, convenient, and comfortable. I’ll be sure and share your feedback with the staff. I will also be sure and share your comments with Martyn Reed and Mary. They truly are great assets to our team, and genuinely care for all of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Team Hampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The staff at the Hampton Inn are to be commended on their friendliness and willingness to ensure you have a pleasant stay. We mentioned that we were there for our daughters birthday and on return to our room that evening they had left her a card and a 'goodie' basket, very thoughtful.
It was good to have breakfast included, but you need to get down there early or it is a bit of a frenzy, but usually you can find a place to sit. Food was plentiful and varied, catered for most tastes.
The 24 hr tea/ coffee in the foyer was excellent, great to warm up to when you get back in the evening.
Rooms are not on the huge size but bed was comfy, could have used a couple of extra pillows but that's all. Bathroom was small but adequate with plenty of hot water.
All in all we were pleased that we chose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear HantsMcC,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

I am glad that we were able to make your stay in NYC extra special. The team strives to make every guest that steps through the hotel doors our number one priority and it was great to know that we made your daughter's birthday extra special.

We hope your return shortly!

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel with my husband and son. We stayed four nights in October. All the staff were helpful, especially Mary, the conceriege, who gave us good advice on our trip to the Empire state building. If you plan to do this, go at night and get an express ticket, well worth paying the extra. Go to a show on Broadway (half price tickets available in Times Square). We saw Wicked, Billy Elliott, and The addams family. All great shows. Statue of liberty - go to Liberty island on ferry. (get there early if you want to go up the statue) Top of the rock at the Rockefellar centre was great, we went there during the day and the Empire state building at night. Brilliant. Staten Island ferry is free (good restuarant - Ruddy and Dean for reasonable meals - near to ferry terminal). Tom and Toons restuarant near to the Gershwin theatre do pre-theatre meals for 20 dollars. Evergreen diner near Times Square is reasonable too for meals.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear jetsaver,

We would first like to say thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North, and most of all for taking time to write a review about our property!

You came at a great time to visit NYC. I would have to agree Mary at the concierge is great! She is very knowledgeable about the city and genuinely cares that the guest enjoys their time. It sounds like you were very busy and we are glad we were of service.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Me and 2 friends stayed at the hampton for a girly week in NYC. It's location was fabulous, 5 minutes from Times Square with a starbucks on the opposite corner and a subway station within 2 minutes in any direction!! One of the girls brought her 8 year old son and he had a fabulous time too, made to feel very welcome by all the staff we encountered. The room was very spacious, all four of us sharing, and bathroom was good in size also.
Breakfast was included in the price, with free tea and coffee available all day. Choice for breakfast was good, and set us up for long days of sightseeing and shopping. Hoping to take my mum next year for her first New York visit and will be staying at the Hampton for location and Value!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear Austin84,

It sound like you had a super fun stay with us at the Hampton Inn Times Square North. We are glad that your stay was even better because you enjoyed your accommodations and the location of our hotel. Thank you for all your compliments, we really appreciate them.

We cannot wait to welcome you and your mum next year!

We love having you here.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking good value for money without resorting to the spartan interiors of some budget hotel chains. The room was a reasonable size with two comfortable well sprung queen beds and an arm chair / desk. Good HD TV and free Wi-Fi. Good powerful shower. Air-con and double glazing were also effective.
Filter coffee maker in room or a wide variety of free hot beverages 24 x 7 in the reception provided a much appreciated free service. Breakfast is included and was very adequate, it was not the huge selection that you would find in some hotels but it isn't $25 each either. As we were from the UK, we particularly enjoyed making our own waffles each day.
This Hotel is 1 min walk from one Metro line and 5 mins to another. We enjoyed walking to the theatres in the evening and Times Square is only 10 - 15 mins stroll. There are small supermarkets and stores everywhere.
All things considered an excellent choice providing real value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrythejourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear Terrythejourneyman,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

I am glad that we were able to make your stay in NYC extra special. My colleagues and I strive to make every guest that step through the hotel door our number one priority.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and our amenities in the hotel as you mentioned the breakfast and internet; which I will have to agree are great assets to the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews