We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good sized rooms, and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #166 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Boston
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, good sized rooms, and great location!”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Hotel was a very nice Hampton. The only downside was the breakfast rooms were quite crowded; however, the hotel did have a sign indicating the earlier the better. Located very closed to Times Square and the subway stop. Rooms were the typical size of Hamptons, which I understand is quite large when in NYC. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
Thank MaggieNewBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear MaggieNewBoston,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We however are apologetic for the inconvenience you experienced with the breakfast room being crowded. We do work continuously to ensure that all guests are completely satisfied with their stay and it is with feedback like yours that we can improve.

Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

We do love having you here!

Best regards,

Team Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,803
    1,965
    440
    114
    59
See reviews for
2,303
1,373
200
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2010

When I was looking for a place to stay in New York I was very confused by the many options. A friend recommended The Hampton Inn and it was a huge success. It is clean, reaonably priced and in a great location. The staff were very very helpful and nice (I even got cheap tickets to Wicked!). The hotel has free breakfast, 24 hour free coffee / tea and cookies and apples in the afternoon. My family really loved being able to walk to Times Sq, Central Park, 5th Ave etc.
If you are going to NY for the first time then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gervais40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Gervais40,

It was great to read your experience during your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn Times Square North.

Please send our most sincere thank you to your friends for recommending our property. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations. I will forward your review with the staff and let them know that they made a difference in your stay.

We hope to see you and your friends very soon.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at Hampton Inn Times Square North for a week in October 2010 and had SUCH a great time! The location has got to be the best thing. You are just a few blocks from Times Square and the Rockefella Center. Theatres are everywhere. For a GREAT burger try SHAKE SHACK (turn right out of the hotel and keep walking down 8th - sometimes you have to queue but its REALLY worth it!!) You are close to the Port Authority bus terminal (good for the bus to Woodbury Common Shopping Outlet) and lots of trips pick up from Times Square so its really handy (I recommend "see New York in a day" with OnBoard Tours which was so well worth doing). The next best thing was the breakfast which saved time and money every day! There was lots of choice, a couple of hot choices,plus english muffins, bagels, sweet muffins (try the banana!!) yogurt, fruit , cereal, juice, even when it got busy the friendly staff keep topping it up so there was always plenty of choice and we didn't have a problem getting a seat. The 3rd best thing was the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate available 24hrs a day. Again this helped us save money and was SO welcome after a day sightseeing to the max!! There were also apples available everyday in reception which is a nice little touch. The first room we were given was by the lift which was a little noisy but we asked if we could move and it was no problem at all. Our new room was large and very comfortable with a great view of 8th Avenue. Beds and pillows were comfy. My 13 year old daughter loved having a huge bed all to herself. The shower was powerful with lots of different settings. On a couple of days I needed to have a bath to sooth my muscles but as the bath is sunken it doesnt have a ledge to rest your head on so it was a bit awkward to relax, but this was just a small thing and I didnt go to New York to take long baths!! The staff were all very hard working and helpful. I had a number of queries before we arrived and had emailed Martyn Reed the Assistant Front Office Manager who always answered my questions quickly and he also arranged a car to pick us up from the airport. We have freinds that have stayed at hotels with higher star ratings and they said their rooms were tiny and didnt have free breakfast and refreshments available! It doesnt have a restaurant or bar but lets face it, if you are in New York you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and bars and the concierge Mary can tell you exactly where to go! There is also a supermarket on the next corner for whatever you may need. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone as it has everything you need for a comfortable trip to New York and I cant WAIT to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lululala36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear Lululala36,

I cannot thank you up enough for this remarkable review! You touched on very essential details of our property. It was such a pleasure having you and your family with us.

I’m thrilled that you found our accommodations clean, convenient, and comfortable. I’ll be sure and share your feedback with the staff. I will also be sure and share your comments with Martyn Reed and Mary. They truly are great assets to our team, and genuinely care for all of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Team Hampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The staff at the Hampton Inn are to be commended on their friendliness and willingness to ensure you have a pleasant stay. We mentioned that we were there for our daughters birthday and on return to our room that evening they had left her a card and a 'goodie' basket, very thoughtful.
It was good to have breakfast included, but you need to get down there early or it is a bit of a frenzy, but usually you can find a place to sit. Food was plentiful and varied, catered for most tastes.
The 24 hr tea/ coffee in the foyer was excellent, great to warm up to when you get back in the evening.
Rooms are not on the huge size but bed was comfy, could have used a couple of extra pillows but that's all. Bathroom was small but adequate with plenty of hot water.
All in all we were pleased that we chose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear HantsMcC,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

I am glad that we were able to make your stay in NYC extra special. The team strives to make every guest that steps through the hotel doors our number one priority and it was great to know that we made your daughter's birthday extra special.

We hope your return shortly!

Best regards,

Team Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel with my husband and son. We stayed four nights in October. All the staff were helpful, especially Mary, the conceriege, who gave us good advice on our trip to the Empire state building. If you plan to do this, go at night and get an express ticket, well worth paying the extra. Go to a show on Broadway (half price tickets available in Times Square). We saw Wicked, Billy Elliott, and The addams family. All great shows. Statue of liberty - go to Liberty island on ferry. (get there early if you want to go up the statue) Top of the rock at the Rockefellar centre was great, we went there during the day and the Empire state building at night. Brilliant. Staten Island ferry is free (good restuarant - Ruddy and Dean for reasonable meals - near to ferry terminal). Tom and Toons restuarant near to the Gershwin theatre do pre-theatre meals for 20 dollars. Evergreen diner near Times Square is reasonable too for meals.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear jetsaver,

We would first like to say thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North, and most of all for taking time to write a review about our property!

You came at a great time to visit NYC. I would have to agree Mary at the concierge is great! She is very knowledgeable about the city and genuinely cares that the guest enjoys their time. It sounds like you were very busy and we are glad we were of service.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Me and 2 friends stayed at the hampton for a girly week in NYC. It's location was fabulous, 5 minutes from Times Square with a starbucks on the opposite corner and a subway station within 2 minutes in any direction!! One of the girls brought her 8 year old son and he had a fabulous time too, made to feel very welcome by all the staff we encountered. The room was very spacious, all four of us sharing, and bathroom was good in size also.
Breakfast was included in the price, with free tea and coffee available all day. Choice for breakfast was good, and set us up for long days of sightseeing and shopping. Hoping to take my mum next year for her first New York visit and will be staying at the Hampton for location and Value!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear Austin84,

It sound like you had a super fun stay with us at the Hampton Inn Times Square North. We are glad that your stay was even better because you enjoyed your accommodations and the location of our hotel. Thank you for all your compliments, we really appreciate them.

We cannot wait to welcome you and your mum next year!

We love having you here.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking good value for money without resorting to the spartan interiors of some budget hotel chains. The room was a reasonable size with two comfortable well sprung queen beds and an arm chair / desk. Good HD TV and free Wi-Fi. Good powerful shower. Air-con and double glazing were also effective.
Filter coffee maker in room or a wide variety of free hot beverages 24 x 7 in the reception provided a much appreciated free service. Breakfast is included and was very adequate, it was not the huge selection that you would find in some hotels but it isn't $25 each either. As we were from the UK, we particularly enjoyed making our own waffles each day.
This Hotel is 1 min walk from one Metro line and 5 mins to another. We enjoyed walking to the theatres in the evening and Times Square is only 10 - 15 mins stroll. There are small supermarkets and stores everywhere.
All things considered an excellent choice providing real value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrythejourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear Terrythejourneyman,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

I am glad that we were able to make your stay in NYC extra special. My colleagues and I strive to make every guest that step through the hotel door our number one priority.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and our amenities in the hotel as you mentioned the breakfast and internet; which I will have to agree are great assets to the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Best regards,

Team Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,063 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,553 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing