We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, but very trendy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #255 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but very trendy.”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is my first time at Le Parker Meridien. Our room, which was a standard room, was spacious, although the bathroom was quite cramped, and there is no bathrobe. The hotel has cute little signs all over, such as the minibar sign, which says something like, "a minibar not a fridge." The hotel has trendy things like a blow dry bar, and they play Tom and Jerry cartoons in the elevators. I went to the bar for a snack, and it was dark, and there were only three choices, hummus, caprese sticks, and a cheese platter.

The location is great, and near shopping, etc. It is just trying to hard for me to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singerred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Singerred,

Thank you for the post. I'm glad that you were a fan of our “New York Smart” verbiage and style. We find that many guests like our witty and direct approach. Need a robe? Just give our staff a call next time so they can bring one to your room. Knave serves a wide selection of pastries in the morning and from 11:30am-5:30pm they have some delicious sandwiches as well. Make sure to try these next visit!

Have a good one!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    1,928
    714
    294
    254
See reviews for
1,386
1,520
289
1,247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just completed a three-night stay for our nephew's high school graduation. As others state, the location is terrific and we were delighted with the park view from our 39th floor room. Bathroom is small (and I wished they provided bathrobes at the price) but room was good-sized and modern, and the free wi-fi was a big plus for us. We also were tickled by the vintage TV (cartoons, a jazz performance and even part of a Chaplin film) shown in the elevator--a smart idea since the rides from our floor could be long, with frequent stops.

Breakfast at Norma's was an experience: Bring your appetite because everything is over the top. I had the lox eggs benedict which came with at least half a pound of lox heaped on the side (first time I ever got a doggy bag for breakfast). I've also heard good things about their burger joint.

This was definitely a splurge for us, but as splurges go it was certainly worthwhile.

Room Tip: Pay extra if you want a park view, but note that the very top floors (like ours) don't have ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Yardena,

Thank you for staying with us for your nephew's graduation. We do have robes and slippers available. Just reach out to our staff who are here 24 hours a day if you need anything. I'm thrilled that you liked the park-view and your room. Definitely try the burger joint the next time you're in town. Insider tip: Place the order over the phone so you can skip the line. Looking forward to your next stay with us and give your nephew our congrats!

Have a good one!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

If you want spectacular central park views a tower park view room in this hotel is a must. Room amenities are what you would expect from a high quality mid town hotel. My only complaint is the large CRT TV unit in the bedrooms which feels a bit dated & cumbersome for a hotel of this standard, but the other qualities of the room, amazing park views, rooftop pool and roof sun terrace do make up for this. Good high quality contemporary hotel.

Room Tip: Try and request a room on a high floor, as high as they will offer (32+)! Also make sure its park f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Alan R,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently updating all of our televisions to 46" flat-screens with HD cable and nearly 100 channels. There will also be some other exciting changes taking place. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Have a good one!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Husband is Starwood Gold, so that played into our experience. Room upgraded, to 33rd floor, fantastic view of Central Park. Room was very large, had everything you could need and seemed to be in decent shape (bathroom was a little tight). Location is very central to anywhere you'd like to go. Parked car, very easy, only 10 minutes to retrieve. The staff was very nice, very service oriented. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDCandBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear AshleyDCandBrussels,

Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed the view from your room and I hope you had a chance to go to our rooftop pool where there is an amazing 360 degree view. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I had a pleasant 3 night stay at the PM. I chose to stay here because I had really enjoyed the PM in San Francisco. The hotel is in an amazing location just south of the Park, and close to all the shopping and restaurants you could want to visit, as well as Time Square, and Radio City, etc.

While the staff was extremely friendly I did get turned down for a request for a room on a higher floor (75$ surcharge). I was under the impression that the hotel had recently been renovated, but my room was only average. While nice and tidy it was tired looking - from the water stained popcorn ceiling, to the mildew in the shower, and shoddy bathroom fixtures.
Overall I would stay again due to location, but would hold out for a better rate.

Pros:
Location
The Burger Joint hidden away behind the lobby
Friendly Staff

Cons:
Room condition could be better (especially bathroom)

Room Tip: My room was on the 10th floor south side, and there was issues with noise (garbage trucks, I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jer_travels_oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear JPET1981,

Thank you for your stay. I appreciate your comments. While our TV's are new there is more to come with our rooms update. As we go along the basic aspects of the room will be given an overhaul as well. I apologize the ceiling in your room was in disrepair. Our staff is here 24/7 to address concerns. Please don't hesitate to give us a call in the future. As for insider access to specials, join our "Real Deals" feature on our website for emails regarding killer deals!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in Kensington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Our most recent trip to NYC was made all the more fantastic by a warm "welcome back!" at the Parker by fine front desker Laurence. Before we could ask, he upgraded us to a beautiful parkview room, where we had close to a perfect experience for five days and nights. As I wax effulgent, I realize I could be hired by the PM's PR people, but believe me, when the experience is less than perfect, I say so (see my scather on Miraval.) Mohammed the bellman was a sweetie who always had a warm smile when I walked through the lobby. And the Frenchman at the desk when we asked for a late checkout was swoon-worthy as well as warm and helpful -- an added treat! Allright, there is a small bone to pick: the hostess at Norma's, the fine brunch resto in the hotel, was cool and unaccommodating when we checked to see whether we could walk in and eat. Mind you, this was a Saturday, high season for a spot like Norma's. Nonetheless, she could have been nicer, suggested other places in the area to eat, etc. As at any place we stay around the world, it is axiomatic at the PM: when you're nice, staff respond in kind, with very few exceptions. As a clinical psychologist, I can't help noticing that, when I read negative reviews about hotels on this and other sites, the lowest ratings are from those people whose extraordinary level of narcissistic entitlement virtually jumps off the page. Simple kindness and a good attitude speak volumes to those in the hospitality business; most people in the service biz are grateful and more than willing to return the same when treated like human beings. I look forward to a return stay at the Parker!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room -- and be nice about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneinKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear AnneinKensington,

Thank you for your stay and the insightful review! We look forward to welcoming you back and have shared your comments with our team.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights. Everything was perfect: location, staff, food, rooms. Some of the best burger I´ve tried at the Burger Joint, which is ´hidden´ in the back of the lobby. Also had a great brunch at Norma´s (reservations are a must). Staff very friendly and great service. The concierge helped us out with any question we had concerning recommendations, reservations and general tips. Would definitely go back here on future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the north side have great views over Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear EKommers,

Congratulations on your marriage! We are thrilled you spent your honeymoon with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We look forward to many anniversary celebrations in the future.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Property: Le Parker Meridien New York
Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing