We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodbye SPG, Hello Hilton or Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #259 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I have spent way too many stays and way too much money at Starwood. However, once you attain a certain status level at a chain, you would hope it meant something.

If you are a Platinum or Gold SPG, then this hotel will be painful. I dont even think they acknowledge these levels at the hotel.

1) No one tells you that the gym fee doesnt apply.
2) There is no water in the rooms
3) There is SPG line
4) There is no welcome amenity

If you have status stay at the W or Westin, dont stay here. Im stuck in a Doubletree in Spokane, WA right now; it has more luxury then the Le Parker.

In fact, my stay here combined with my stay in Kauai have convinced me that another chain is the way to go. So, I am leaving SPG with my 100 yearly stays for another program.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,249 - 4,255 of 5,585 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2010

This is a different kind of review. I did not stay there, but did reserve 3 nights stay in Dec. '09. My trip was cancelled because of the snowstorm that hit the east coast - flight out of Indianapolis (my starting point) was cancelled.
Even though my trip was cancelled because of the weather, Le Parker Meridien chose to charge me one night stay. I found this absolutely unbelievable and received no answers to my email/phone voice messages left to the hotel about my concerns. Even a appeal to Starwood, the corporate entity, fell on deaf ears.
This must be a nice hotel. It certainly seemed nice enough for me to book it site-unseen for my trip. However, this lack of customer service tells me a lot about the people in charge. Obviously I will not attempt to stay there again; there are many nice hotels in New York City.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lewwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My sister and I spent a night at the meridien on Christmas night so for our anual shopping trip in NY city. The person who checked us in was very unfriendly, almost rude. That was the least of our problems.
My sister discovered she had bug bites all over her neck, back and her arms the next day. They were bed bug bites!!!!! The room appeared clean so we didn't bother checking under the sheets. Big mistake!!!
We wrote to the hotel and they said they inspected the room and found no bugs. Even if they did, I'm sure they wouldn't tell us. We would never go back there!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank l0ve2travel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

A well placed hotel in a quiet oasis but close enough to the hussel and bussel of central Mannhatten.Ideally suited for Central Park, which is just three blocks away. Even the standard rooms are spacious and elegant and the service was exceptional, with the staff being polite,helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We were snowed in just before Christmas time and had to book last minute and Hotwire put us here, which was catty-corner to the hotel that we were staying at. We LOVED it!.

Michael at the front desk was especially helpful. We were celebrating our 24th anniversary on this unexpectedly extended trip, and although we had to move mid-trip it added to an already wonderful experience. He arranged for us to have an early check-in (12:30) and we had a spectacular view of Central Park. Room 3307.

This hotel is WAY nicer than the earlier one that we were at (Park Central), which wasn't bad. The room is larger, the bathroom much larger and better decorated with the nicer tubs and tile and vanity, etc. It had a TV on a rotating consul with flat screen. (See pics) The linens and towels were of very high quality. The bedding and bed very comfy. I have absolutely no suggestions for improvement, the room couldn't have been better. The location is ideal, adjacent to Carnagie Hall, less than a block from the metro, one block to 5th avenue and the shops and 10 min walk (or less) to Rockefeller Center, Radio City, and Time Square. We didn't hear any traffic below, and not nearly as many sirens as our other hotel. The room seemed much quieter.

You will pay for everything extra, meaning local calls, wine glasses (we wanted to enjoy a glass of wine in our room one evening while admiring our view), internet, etc. Since we used hotline, that was easy to overlook, but if we paid $500 night I may not have been as willing to overlook......and perhaps, they may have been included, who knows. No problem. We truly enjoyed our stay here and would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We went to Le Parker Meridien for our wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to a room facing Central Park, which was lovely. Our guest room was spacious and clean.

I was displeased with the gym. Don't get me wrong, it was nice. However, the hotel charges $10 per day, PER GUEST, to use the fitness facilities. While I have no problem paying for a fitness class, it seems absurd to charge someone to just work-out. While the management says this hotel gym is superior to most other gyms in NYC, I'd have to disagree for the sheer fact that hotel guests are made to work out in a lesser quality part of Gravity (the name of the gym). That is, while you can use the cardio on the first floor of gravity, strength training for hotel guests happens on the second floor, where the machines aren't as nice.

Norma's has a great breakfast selection, but we spent $60 for oatmeal, cereal, juice, and milk. They even charged us $2 for the milk that goes into the cereal. That's just not right!

This is a lovely hotel, but be prepared to open your wallet while you're here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shootingstarbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I traveled with my wife and 2 little boys to NYC in early December and we stayed at the Le Parker Meridien because the St. Regis was booked.

First the Good:

1. Location, Location, Location....the hotel was close to absolutely everything we wanted to visit.
2. The rooftop indoor pool was a real treat that my boys absolutely loved. Imagine their thrill to see it snowing/storming outside while enjoying a warm pool.
3. The staff was reasonably attentive and informative.
4. The breakfast at the restaurant was excellent--and for NYC not too expensive.
5. The burger joint was AWESOME!!!!!!!

Now the bad.
1. Our 1 bedroom suite was in need of an upgrade, they actually still have CRT televisions in the room.
2. The "minimalist" suite layout was awkward, we just couldn't settle in and get comfortable.
3. The sofa-bed was a disaster--it just didn't work right--which led to a couple of sleepless nights....

Will we go back to the Le Parker Meridien?....---maybe.---

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#207 of 469 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,853 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#189 of 469 in New York City
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#253 of 469 in New York City
1,786 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,754 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £221 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing