We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel for a few nights on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel for a few nights on business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Front Desk very friendly. Room clean and well equipped. No restaurant on-site for dinner. I wanted something fairly light, it was late & very cold outside so I sat in bar area intending to simply grab a drink & burger. It was fairly busy; however, many empty seats. I sat > 15 min & no one came to take my order - he saw me - however, apparently assumed that an older woman was not worth his attention. I left & returned to room to get my coat. Decided to check out the in room dining menu & decided to try the Miso Ginger Salmon served with Edamame Stir-Fried Brown Rice & Bok Choy. The meal was amazingly tasty! I highly reccomend this dish.


Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Darlene F,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the lack of service and attention you received from the bar staff during your stay. Please be assured that I will address this with the team as this is not the kind of service that we aim to provide our valued guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed your menu choice from our in-room dining menu and will be sure to let the Executive Chef know. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,700
    950
    340
    240
See reviews for
968
1,400
255
1,099
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Big Canoe, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great location with easy walk to Times Square, Union Station, Rockefeller center, Central Park, theater's, and restaurants. Metro Café next door was the best for fast breakfast, lunch, and dinner sandwiches/soups. Price friendly also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 121erwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay with us. We are glad that our location was convenient to your lodging and shopping needs. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may know how we are doing.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here recently for Thanksgiving - the service from the moment we arrived was poor to average. Hallways were being renovated when we arrived - this meant noise throughout the day and mess on your shoes on your way in and out. There was also always a long queue for the lifts - I believe a couple may not have been working.
Condition of the rooms ok and kept tidy and the location was great. However, I would not stay again at this hotel, would not recommend it and believe over priced for what is was!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Challen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Challen83,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experience with the replacement of the wallpapers, we ask for your continued patience while we complete this project. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel has been renovated since I last stayed, but you can't make a silk purse out pf a sow's ear. Temperature in room couldn't be individually controlled so they brought up a fan. Breakfast buffet service was almost non- existent, very few waiters. Food mediocre. Tiny bathroom and sink. Couldn't get so done to wait on me in lounge--- to busy. Loud! Beds hurt both mine and my sister's backs. Good location

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Suzanne B,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with HVAC unit in your room; I have shared your experience with the engineer team for their immediate attention. We ask for your patience as we try to address this issue. As it relates to the breakfast service and selection, I have also shared those comments with the Food and Beverage team. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great location and staff! My room was a decent size for midtown Manhattan, I would say it has been recently refurbished, and the bed was very comfortable. Right beside subway 6 and less than two blocks from subways E an M. Walking distance to 5th avenue and Central Park. 10-15 minute walk from Grand Central Station. For the price and location I think the value was excellent, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Kate309,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and are happy that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the convenience of our location. We hope you will stay with us again so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great location. Good hotel. Nice rooms..larger than a NYC average room. Staff was very good. Quiet enough rooms for NYC. Elevator capacity too small for the volume. Waiting 20 minutes to get out is ridiculous. It was a Holiday-Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Krl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the inconvenience you encountered as a result of the extended wait with the elevators. We will keep your comments in mind as we continually try to improve the services we provide for our guests. We hope you will stay with us again so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great location with easy access to public transportation and places to eat. Reasonably cared for rooms. Lobby should be made larger as it quickly becomes crowded and not inviting for hanging out in the bar. However, this may only be helpful during inclement weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#351 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#328 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,685 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing