We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good experience good hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on groupon so I was concerned from the start. I called a head of time to ask a few questions and the staff gave very political answers. I asked the staff how was the hotel and if they would stay there.

My impression: the hotel is nice and clean. The staff has been warm and friendly. I can tell that this hotel has had a facelift and not been fully remodeled. For example, some of the siding in the room looks like it's been painted over a few times and wallpaper has been put up in the bathroom over hinges and mold has formed. It's nothing that some bleach can't kill so don't be alarmed. I let the staff know and they took care of it right away. On a scale of 1 to 10 the hotel gets and 8. I'd stay again because its reasonable and close to everything (grand central, time square, and shopping). I was suppose to have a queen room and I got two doubles and I was put on a low floor so I looked at the room.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Byron H,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am happy to know that the staff was prompt in responding to your concerns. We hope to see you for many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    1,721
    971
    351
    250
See reviews for
981
1,431
264
1,115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We fell for a Hilton Grand Vacation preview and stayed here. The hotel was nice, room was clean, beds were comfy and shower was great. I REALLY missed having a coffeepot and having a room on a Hilton honors floor meant nothing. We usually go to NYC for the day so it was nice to spend the night, but I doubt we will stay here again unless we hit it with a priceline deal. Location is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view room. Ours was pretty bad in 1229 where we lookied over another building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toobusytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Toobusytoday,
Thank you for the feedback. We apologize that we were unable to provide a coffee maker in your room. We will keep your comments in mind for the improvement of our services.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

no coffee machine nor kettle in the room, and have to pay for internet access. Bed was too soft. Not enough staff at reception, leading to long queues, and they keep turning off some of the lifts so have to wait a long time

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Simon L,
Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay. We apologize that you were unhappy because we were unable to provide a coffee maker in your room. We will keep your comments in mind for the improvement of service for our guests. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The location is great and the pricing was great this stay, but the hotel let me down in very easy areas. First, only 1 of the 3 treadmills in the gym worked well. The other was broken and the third was a bit wobbly, which made a quick pace while running a bit challenging, and had TV issues. Second, my room was freezing and I was told that it was because it was warmer outside - it was 45 degrees when I went into the hotel both nights. On my final night, my room eventually warmed up a bit. Third, I was told my complementary waters would be in the room when I checked in. They weren't. I asked twice to have them put in the room. That didn't happen. On my final night I got my waters. Fourth, the doors in the hallway do slam loudly and can wake you up. As far as the continental breakfast - it's par for the course with most NYC hotels, but that's not saying much. All in, the redone rooms are nice, the location is great, the pricing is good, but it's the little things that make or break a business stay for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
CLEShawn,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our amenities, service and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We strive to provide the best in value and accommodations, and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ft. lauderdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was the worst experience I have had at a Double Tree. While the staff was friendly and the bed very comfortable, the internet did not work, there was no coffee maker in-room, the AC did not work, it was extremely noisy and I had to wait a long time for a bellman to get6 my luggage, even though I had a car waiting. I will still use Doubletree, but this was not up to par.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Richard BB,
I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed in the amenity and services provided at our hotel. Please be assured that we have heard your concerns and will keep them in mind as we continually try to improve the service we provide for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so that we can better serve you.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a cousins reunion of 10 girls. We were able to walk to all that we wanted to do, it's short cab ride or subway to absolutely anything the city has to offer. Very clean and large rooms, would surely stay here again and plan to return with the same group next year. Nice bar and gift shop, did not eat at restaurant so cannot say anything about it. Staff was helpful, friendly and took care of all our needs without question.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Lynn H,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased you had a lovely stay with us and hope to see you for many more future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you purchase the bed and breakfast, beware…you can't use it for room service. Not good if you're trying to relax while on vacation. I stayed on the 17th floor with a wonderful view of the bathrooms in the building next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 791tawanaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
791tawanaw,
Thank you for the feedback on your most recent visit. We apologize for the any misunderstanding with your rate plan and the services provided. I would like an opportunity to further discuss for clarification. I can be contacted at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#335 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing