We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
320 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Convenient location,”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent three nights here on a business trip in May. Hotel is quite nice, conveniently located to many sites in the City. I was not happy about there being no coffee in the room - it seems to me if you pay as much money as this they could spring for a coffee maker in the room. The hotel was clean and well-maintained - the cookie received upon check in was excellent. There are a number of good service restaurants nearby because the in room choices are quite expensive.

All in alll though the hotel is worth what you pay for it - Hotels are just expensive in NYC - no other way around it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjswansona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Mjswansona,
Thank you for the wonderful review on your most recent stay with us. We will keep your comments regarding the coffee makers n mind. Thank you for staying with us!
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    1,752
    993
    359
    258
See reviews for
1,006
1,462
269
1,137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently stayed here on a HVC promo. The hotel was clean, well maintained, and the staff professional. We felt the price was high and not a good value and fortunately there are several quick breakfast places close by, in fact one on either side of the front entrance. The room was satisfactory but lacked a coffee maker, mini bar, microwave, or refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolling_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Rolling _T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I apologize that we were unable to provide the amenities you mentioned in your room. We appreciate the feedback and we will keep your comments in mind as we try to improve the service we provide for our future guests.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent two nights in the Doubletree Midtown last week and, after checking the mixed reviews on our way from the airport into town, I was a little concerned. But to my delight, our stay was wonderful! Karen at the reception desk was very professional, cheerful and very friendly, a great combination. She made us feel welcome and was very efficient in getting us checked in. The room was recently redone, with very clean modern decor. Someone else complained about this, but we like having the sink separate from the toilet/shower so that one person can be using the sink/vanity area while the other is using the bathroom. We took advantage of our meal vouchers both mornings for the continental breakfast which was very complete: an assortmemt of breads, pastries, bagels, hot and cold cereals, a variety of fresh fruit and yoghurt, boiled eggs and more. I wish I knew the names of all the restaurant staff who were there in the mornings because they were all very attentive and quick to see to our every need. The location of the hotel is great if, like us, midtown is where you want to be.
If I had to mention areas for improvement I would say it would be great if wifi signal was stronger and more consistent, at least in room 1116, and the shower water pressure could be a little stronger.
That said, this will be my number one choice for future stays in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMarie305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
KarenMarie305,
Thank you for the fantastic review and for recognizing Karen for her exemplary services rendered. I will certainly inform her of all your kind comments, we thank you for the recommendation you have provided. We will certainly consider for the improvement of our services. We look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Room was okay. Carpeting had seen better days. King bed was comfortable. No free wi-fi or coffee maker in the room was a great disappointment. Free cookies were delicious. Hotel's location was excellent for the sight-seeing we did. Hotel breakfast area was convienent, had good food, but was expensive. Staff was very nice except for one person at front desk who seemed to be having a bad day. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renee068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Renee068,
Thank you for the recommendation! We will keep your comments in mind as we continually try to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Double Tree by Hilton was in an excellent location. We walked to Time Square every night that was the best, so many restaurants and things to see. The Metro Cafe next door also was so convenient they have great breakfast and excellent cheesecake. I recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Irma G,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us via TripAdvisor. It is great to know that the location was convenient to your travelling needs and enhanced your experience. We hope to see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. Very convenient to everything. Very helpful and friendly staff. Our only complaint was the room was hot and the building ac was not on yet. I would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 341patriciak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear 341PatriciaK,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience with the AC , however, I am very happy to know that you had a great time with us and will definitely return. We look forward to your visit.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I picked this hotel for a business trip - I typically stay further downtown but in this case my customers were a bit further uptown. Overall this was a great stay, the only thing I could knock is waking up super cold every morning due to the way the A/C was set up. The noise I can't really say is anyone's fault (across from fire station) but it did make it hard to get a good night's sleep. All that said would stay again (and probably will).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jon Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Jon Andrew A,
I am glad to hear that you loved the location of the hotel as it proved to be convenient to your business needs. I do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of the noise and the HVAC unit. I am glad that his factor will not deter you from staying with us again. I do look forward to many more excellent stays. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 468 in New York City
7,844 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#337 of 468 in New York City
1,826 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#327 of 468 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#280 of 468 in New York City
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing