We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was fine and the location very convenient for my weekend stay in Manhattan.

I was quite surprised that there didnt seem to be any staff readily available to check nonHIlton Honors members in. I had to wait quite awhile for someone to show up to check me in. Overall there doesnt seem to be enough front desk staff. And my biggest surprise was when I dropped off my bags to leave in storage for the day after checking out, I was told by that the cost is $2 per bag, $1 at drop off and $1 to collect. I have never seen such a practice, and the other couple checking in bags as the same time as me also seemed quite surprised. The staff then pocketed the money wiithout a word, leaving me to wonder whether this is an official charge or just a mandated tip. I normally tip anyways, but the forced nature of this obligatory tipping was rather distasteful to me. When I returned later In the day to retrieve my bags, the busboy pocketed the money without a word. I haven't stayed in Manhattan for a few years, and wonder if this is common practice to charge for storage of bags for a few hours. Not a big deal, but it definitely solidified my view that customer service doesn't seem very important to this hotel's staff. I left this hotel to stay at the Hampton Inn Newark to catch an early morning flight the next day (Hampton Inn being another part of the Hilton chain) and the hotel staff there were friendly and went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. What a marked contrast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Susumom,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is regrettable to hear that you did not enjoy your most recent visits with us. I apologize if the gratuity charged for checking your bags was unsettling. However, our policies/procedures are consistent with many hotels within New York City, we periodically review our policies & procedures to ensure our guests are getting the best experience, we value your feedback and will take it into consideration. Please be assured that I will work closely with the team to ensure that we are providing the best service for our guests. We thank you for staying and sharing your review and hope to see you for other visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,035 - 3,041 of 5,163 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very small bathroom and the door had so many coats of paint on it that it would not close. We couldn't get into the closet because there was a chair in front of it. The people at the check in counter were very unfriendly and seemed to be in a hurry to get rid of us. Definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank rickyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear RickJk,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry that the size of our guest rooms did not meet your expectations and that you sound the front desk staff to be surly. This is not the kind of service that we want to convey to our valuable guest. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so that we can provide the service that you expect and deserve. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rooms were a tad smaller than expected but perfect for our needs. Big bed and big TV was all that was needed after long days exploring the city. Location was relatively central. It is close to Fifth Avenue (5-100 mins), short walk to Rockefeller, Bloomingdales and 20 minute walk to Times Square. The Chrysler building was also visible from our room and only a short walk away if you want to see the highly recommended and infamous Art Deco lobby. The breakfast available was plentiful as is available in most Hilton Hotels so overall cannot complain about our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDavis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear PhilDavis23,
I am very pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us. I hope that we will see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed one night on business and had a good experience. The 51st street subway stop (4,5,6 lines) is right on the corner and an easy walk to the 53rd and Lex stop. For NYC hotel rooms the size is pretty good. Being tall, I always love hotels that have high shower heads and this one does.

When I checked in my room wasn't ready. I was told there was a room available but it was next to the elevator. I agreed and took it. In less than ten minutes I was back at the front desk asking for a new room. They had others that had become available and moved me with no problem.

Continental breakfast comes with my room due to my hilton honors level. The restaurant was fine and breakfast more than adequate. The kind man kept my coffee cup filled so that made for an excellent morning in my book.

If you are looking for an east side property this is a solid choice.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 23 share a wall with a bank of three elevators. Avoid these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear DavidG2010,
I am so happy to hear that our location worked out for you on this trip to the Big Apple and that your stay was wonderful. We hope that there will be many more stays with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Given this experience it looks like the Hilton brand as gone way south. It's a convenient enough location-right across the street from Grand Central and just as bustling. There were bags of garbage in the halls and some molding was actually attached to a door frame with duct tape. The room was thimble sized--no fridge and tiny window with view of squalor. Carpets stained. Bathroom definitely not thoroughly clean. My clean cut teenage son was treated rudely by guard when he tried to enter elevator. In all fairness, except for laconic check in clerk, the rest of the staff did greet me and wish me a good day when we passed in the halls. Still, I think there are much better properties in the same price range.

Room Tip: Yes. Choose one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filmclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Filmclip,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. Please accept my apologies on behalf of myself and my team for the experience you had with us as it relates to the cleanliness of the rooms, the hallways and also the experience with the security on duty. Please be assure that we take all guest concerns seriously and will keep them in mind as we strive to provide the best service for our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I came to this hotel thinking it will be better than expected because it's a recent renovated hotel AND it's the DoubleTree. I've always loved the DoubleTree and always had a superb experience so I didn't think this time would be any different. On top of that, I am a Hilton Honors member. First, we arrived earlier than the check in time, which was 10AM, so I knew better than to be snooty and say I want a room now. I parked my car in the garage for $43 for 24 hours, which is high, but afterall it is NYC so it's expected. Next, I went to the check in counter and told them "I know I'm early, but I just wanted to make sure you all knew I was here so that you didn't think I am a no-show." The lady that took care of me was nice and smiling, but after I was finished and she told me to come back around 3PM when the room will most likely be ready, she didn't hand me a cookie. I mean, I get that it sounds stupid being upset about a cookie, but that's DoubleTree's purpose. That's their trademark and what they are known for. The warm chocolate chip cookie. I was saddened and so was my husband that loves their cookies. We didn't ask though because it's stupid to sound like I'm "begging" for a cookie. Then, I wanted to check in my bags so I wouldn't have to walk around NYC with them while I wait for my room to be ready. The guy by the check in counters didn't seem like he wanted to help me at all. At first, I was thinking this is a complimentary thing because NEVER have I ever had to pay an amount dropping it off and then paying another amount when I pick up (Especially at the DoubleTree). It was 3 bags total so it was $1 a bag. The guy says it's $3 now and $3 later. It's just $6 total, but what was amusing was when we came back to pick up the bags, they guy didn't even ask for the $3 later. So the guy that originally took our bags had jipped us for his own means. I understand you being the "bag boy" means you probably don't make that much money, but at that point, you don't lie to people just to get a few bucks out of them. I should've said "show me in your policy where it says I have to pay $3 now and $3 later to check my bags in." But I didn't. I'm giving 2 stars because of the room being clean and that is all. The whole ambiance of the staff was just not happy and friendly. They seemed like they were struggling putting on a face. I understand that I came during Memorial Weekend, but if you're not happy with what you're doing, don't work there nor work in the hotel and tourism industry. They're better off without your attitudes and gloomy faces.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank thanhnhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Thanhnhit,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I can make no excuses for the experience you had with our staff during your stay. I agree with you that this is not the industry for the gloomy faces and attitudes. Please be assured that we will keep your comments in mind and address it with the staff. As it relates to charges associated with luggage storage, there is a cost; it is $2 per bag. You pay $1 when you leave the bag and the other $1 when you retrieve the bag. Our policies/procedures are consistent with many hotels within New York City. As we periodically review our policies & procedures to ensure our guests are getting the best experience, we value your feedback and will take it into consideration.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

hotel was very average. quite disappointed, didn't even have a coffee maker in the room and the water pressure is the shower was extremely low. this trip was part of a timeshare presentation, not a very good way to try and sell me a timeshare. I will say the location was great and the staff very friendly but wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Diana S,
Thank you for sharing your disappointment in the amenities provided at our hotel. We apologize that we were unable to provide these during your stay but we will keep your feedback in mind for the improvement of our services. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,071 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 473 in New York City
12,071 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#277 of 473 in New York City
5,071 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,628 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 473 in New York City
8,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing