We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff Overcame Cleanliness Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #330 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Your excellent and responsive staff overcame room cleanliness problems. The shower curtain was mildewed and smelled horrible-it was changed immediately upon request. Unfortunately, the toilet seat was loose and needs repair and the tub is chipped. Not major issues, but for an elite brand and price like Hilton's, unacceptable. The hotel location is terrific; wonderful neighborhood, good walking and restaurants. Major plus is access to mass transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Lawrence L,
Thank you for staying with us on your most recent trip to NYC. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the room condition. I am happy to hear of the responsiveness of my team with the cleanliness of the room. We will certainly keep your comments in mind as we try to improve our offerings. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,795 - 2,801 of 4,892 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

There is no coffee maker in the room! There is no WIFI in the room! If it is good to provide the coffee maker and wifi got the guests. However, we enjoyed the location. it is very convenient to travel to Rockefeller center and Time Square. We also appreciate to receive the hot cookies. Health club is very good with the sufficient equipment. Sleeping bed is very good. We hope to return this hotel in the near future if we can have the coffee maker and the wifi in the room. Overall is very good. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hoan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Hoan L,
Thank you for staying with us. We are elated to know that you had a lovely stay with us and that you found the location to be convenient to your travelling needs. We will keep your comments regarding the Wi-Fi and coffee makers in room in mind as we try to improve our services. We hope to see you for future visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

For me, I thought this hotel was top notch. I thought this hotel was very clean and I loved the way my room was designed. Room service was speedy and everyone was very nice. Didn't like my view though. Overall, I think this hotel is A+.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Andria M,
Thank you for the wonderful review on your most recent stay. We hope to see you for many more stays!
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We opened the door to our room and we were met with the odor of vomit. The hotel put a second room that was a double instead of a king room that we paid extra for a king so we had to move again. Finally on the third try we were given a king room with no odor of vomit. The bellhop who brought us our key met us by the elevator on the 8th floor. Our second room was on the 12th floor. He quickly handed me a key to the room and pushed the down elevator button before I could even hand him his tip. When the elevator came the up arrow was lit and as we started to move tot the elevator he jumped in ahead of us and said it was going down. The hotel compensated us with a free breakfast buffet for being moved from room to room but sadly it was one of the worst we ever had at a hotel. The food at 8:30 am tasted like it was all reheated and the hot food like eggs, bacon, sausage home fries were all cold.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank think2xaboutRIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Think2xaboutRIU,
Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to NYC. I am very sorry to hear about the poor experience you had as it relates to the room condition, assignment and the service received from the bellhop. We appreciate the feedback and will use your feedback to improve the service that we provide for our future guests. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so that we can demonstrate our dedication to customer service.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Doubletree staff is fantastic, as is the location. My room was a decent size, but poorly laid out and in need of some renovation. There is about a foot of space between the wall and the end of the bed you need to walk by to get to the desk and dresser. But on the plus side, there is a desk and an dresser (seriously, I've been in some NY hotel rooms that have none). The TV is attached to the wall at the end of the bed but too high to view comfortable from the bed. That being said, as I was only one person, there for work, I was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sari S,
I am very thrilled to hear that you were impressed with the hospitality of the staff and the convenience of the location. We hope to see you for future stays. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The subway entrance was just steps away from the building. The room was very nice clean perfect for what we needed it for. We spent most days walking around and seeing the sights but when we needed rest this hotel was perfect. The view from the window you see the neighboring buildings. The cleaning staff was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. I got a groupon deal on this hotel made it very affordable. I really enjoyed my experience and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Billytheeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Billytheeater,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your amazing feedback. It is always great to hear that our guest have an amazing experience with us. Thank you for the recommendation and look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Perfect hotel for a business trip, it's centrally located and service is very good. The rooms are a good size, modern and they're very comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraJEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear SandraJEvans,
We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel perfect for your business needs and that you were pleased with the amenities of the hotel. We thank you for staying and hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,949 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,131 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#219 of 469 in New York City
4,682 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing