We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good property for the budget business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good property for the budget business traveller”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel from the Conrad - Hilton group of hotels is a very good hotel having almost all the luxuries and grandeur of its more celebrated cousins without the steep price tag. It is walk-able from all major landmarks near middle Manhattan including Grand Central Station, Times Square and Central Park.

Room Tip: Prefer the higher floors and do taste the goodies offered at the coffee shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjoyChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear SanjoyChoudhury,
Thank you for the remarkable feedback on your most recent stay. We hope to see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    1,721
    971
    350
    250
See reviews for
981
1,430
264
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has a good location and is only two blocks from a subway station. There was a very large, loud party going on in the lobby during my check-in. My room smelled as if it had been used by a smoker. My upgraded tenth-floor room had no view due to a neighboring building. This property might be in need of renovation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DNApro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear DNApro,
We apologize that you room had remnants of smoke and the lack of view. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we can assign you a better room with a better view of the city. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After numerous flight cancelations I decided to spend one additional night in NYC. I did not select my original hotel because of the room and service. I decided to select this particular hotel. The hotel was trendy and upbeat. Love the room size and the bar. My only suggestion for management is to have a restaurant that's opened for dinner as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jackie S,
I am very happy that we were able to accommodate your last minute request and that you were very pleased with the hotel and the amenities provided. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the restaurant. I will certainly share this feedback with my team for their review.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed one night and the hotel and everything about it was fine and I had no problems with it except at breakfast I was seated without problems but the guests next to me...a group of 5 was sitting at a table for 2.....all I wanted to do was have breakfast but they insisted that I share my small table!.....amazing that so many people think New Yorkers are rude.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kenneth M,
I am happy to hear that all other aspects of your stay were fine. I do apologize for the situation that you experienced in the breakfast room and any interruption this caused for your breakfast. I hope that we will have another opportunity to cater to your needs.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is the 2nd time I am staying at this property. I usually stay at the W a block away but couldn't get in. The rooms here are way larger than the W so if you want to do cartwheels in your room, this is the place. Overall, this product is tired with 70s carpeting and furniture in the rooms. You can tell they are trying to update things piecemeal. I can typically deal with that because I am there for a night or so and am there on business. However I checked in early just to drop my bag and head to my office. Didn't even need a room at that time. In order for me to check my bag, I had to pay $2.00. Really? $600/night, corporate client, Hilton Honors member, GUEST in the hotel and you're annoying people with a $2 bag check fee? And didn't even get my cookie.

In NY, sometimes you need to take what you can get but if you do have another option...go for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kathleen R,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our decor and appointment. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced as a result of the storage fee associated with storage. Our policies are in line with many hotels in NYC but we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may demonstrate our commitment to quality hospitality.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had a room with a Queen bed. Its a small, fairly spartan room, but comfortable and clean. The accommodations are perfectly adequate if all you need is a place to sleep and shower. Good for a solo business trip, a bit cozy for a couple.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Gregory B,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you for many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York / Manhattan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Despite being a Hilton Honors member and asking numerous times about getting on the internet with the Concierge and the Front Desk staff, I was finally told by Front Desk that I had to pay $14.95 for internet access. I have never encountered this being a Hilton Honors member, and it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Raymond M W,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I do apologize for any inconvenience with the internet connection. We do offer complimentary internet to our Gold and Diamond members a benefit associated with their tier. We value our guests and will keep your thoughts in mind as we try to improve our services. We hope to see you or future visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,750 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing