We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #333 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice hotel on Lexington ave/51st. Close to Central park, hot shot shops at fifth ave and Rockfeller center. Ok rooms, little too dark for my taste. Missed fridge and shoeshine cloth. Nice and helpful employees. Had breakfast at the small breakfast bar next to the hotel just to look at the New Yorkes. Get used to wait for elevatorols that are packed. Despite the fact that I told the ladies at the front desk twice that my booking included wi-fi the bill said I had to pay for the Wifi. Was fixed by the third lady during check out. Will recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: I normally go for a street room, but with fire station across the street I will recommend to go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulvifaareklaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Ulvifaareklaer,
Thank you for staying with us and granting us a recommendation. I do apologize for the few mishaps that you encountered in service. We do look forward to your future visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,827 - 2,833 of 4,974 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great hotel location in the heart of mid-town. Easy walk to Grand Central, Times Square, St Patrick Cathedral, etc. Hotel is busy with lots of people coming and going. Rooms were nice but NY City type small. Expect to pay parking rates of the city and make sure to use the valet service (way easier than self parking). Great cup of coffee and egg sandwich from a street cart just across at the north west corner of 51st and Lexington.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Basin71,
We are very happy that our conveniently located property was suiting to your needs. We do hope that there will be many more visits to follow. We thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Double Tree Metropolitan for a week. We were holding a conference in the hotel, in the Penthouse.

The rooms are good size, I found the furniture in good conditions, the bed was very very comfortable and the shower great too!

The hotel has a quite well equipped gym opened 24hrs which is very convenient. Also, the bar has a nice atmosphere. There is a small business center and has a few computers and printers.

Right across from the hotel you have a Duane Reade open 24hrs which is quite convenient too.

Walking distance to 5th avenue, Times Square and a Subway station right outside (line 6). Great location!

We used the Penthouse for the 2 day conference and it was a good size room for what we needed. The best thing was the rooftop (you only have access if you are using that conference room).

We asked for a higher floor when checking in and they kindly gave us one. Which was great because we had a view of the streets. Some other rooms have windows facing a wall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear CaroAidan,
We are truly delighted to know that you had a rewarding experience with us and were able to enjoy some of the beautiful sights of the city from our penthouse. We do hope that you will grant us another opportunity to cater to your conference and lodging needs. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel from the Conrad - Hilton group of hotels is a very good hotel having almost all the luxuries and grandeur of its more celebrated cousins without the steep price tag. It is walk-able from all major landmarks near middle Manhattan including Grand Central Station, Times Square and Central Park.

Room Tip: Prefer the higher floors and do taste the goodies offered at the coffee shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjoyChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear SanjoyChoudhury,
Thank you for the remarkable feedback on your most recent stay. We hope to see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has a good location and is only two blocks from a subway station. There was a very large, loud party going on in the lobby during my check-in. My room smelled as if it had been used by a smoker. My upgraded tenth-floor room had no view due to a neighboring building. This property might be in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank DNApro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear DNApro,
We apologize that you room had remnants of smoke and the lack of view. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we can assign you a better room with a better view of the city. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After numerous flight cancelations I decided to spend one additional night in NYC. I did not select my original hotel because of the room and service. I decided to select this particular hotel. The hotel was trendy and upbeat. Love the room size and the bar. My only suggestion for management is to have a restaurant that's opened for dinner as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Jackie S,
I am very happy that we were able to accommodate your last minute request and that you were very pleased with the hotel and the amenities provided. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the restaurant. I will certainly share this feedback with my team for their review.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed one night and the hotel and everything about it was fine and I had no problems with it except at breakfast I was seated without problems but the guests next to me...a group of 5 was sitting at a table for 2.....all I wanted to do was have breakfast but they insisted that I share my small table!.....amazing that so many people think New Yorkers are rude.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Kenneth M,
I am happy to hear that all other aspects of your stay were fine. I do apologize for the situation that you experienced in the breakfast room and any interruption this caused for your breakfast. I hope that we will have another opportunity to cater to your needs.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 469 in New York City
4,985 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#218 of 469 in New York City
4,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,730 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,881 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing