We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Rooms average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Elkhorn
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location! Rooms average.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights during a Yankee baseball trip. Location was great with the subway station literally feet away from the entrance. Took the 6 train and then one transfer to the 4 to Yankee Stadium. There was a restaurant next door, but the food was not good. I'd pass on that. Ate a couple of times at the food stand kitty corner across the street, that for the price, was not bad. There is a small grocery store across the street to pick up liquor/food.The hotel lobby area was nice but usually crowded with arrivals/departures. The room was average. Got the room for $200/night, so for NY a great deal! Use the MTA website and the "trip-planner+" to get your subway/bus connections from anywhere in town. The MTA app was very confusing and didn't seem to give good directions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach68022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Teach68022,
I am glad to hear that our location was perfect for the purpose of your visit to the Big Apple. We appreciative the feedback and will keep them in mind as we strives to improve the service we provide for future guests. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    1,751
    992
    359
    257
See reviews for
1,005
1,462
269
1,137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Britain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our go-to hotel in the city - the location is perfect and the service is truly memorable - from Bolivar who remembers your name at breakfast, to the front desk, where Jennifer Taylor and Nadria make you feel welcome again and again. And then there are the smiles, hugs and handshakes at check-out from the porters and bell staff. Mitzie Scott gives her special touch to everything and that seems to be reflected in and respected by the entire staff. With comfortable beds and stylish decor, this is a special diamond in the city!! Thank you for always making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: The suites with the balconies are awesome! They are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kblint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Kblint,
Thank you for the terrific review! I am very elated to know that you are impressed by the service and attention you continually receive from Bolivar , Jennifer , Mitzie and myself. It is our extreme pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came to the city for a much needed art-fix. and the hotel is perfectly located in terms of access to public transportation. Although the lobby was always very busy, including a large contingent of teenagers from other countries, there was always enough staff to handle it and the upper floors were wonderfully quiet. My ONLY complaint is that our room was too dark. It needed a second bedside lamp. The bed was wonderful, the room was amazingly quiet and clean and it was obvious a great deal of thought had gone into the decor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank seekerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Seekerr8,
Thank you for submitting a review on your experience with us. I am happy that you were pleased with the overall experience . We appreciate your feedback regarding the extra bedside lamp, we will keep this in mind as we strive to improve our offerings.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From check in to check out, the service was very good and the room was fine. We arrived on an international flight and were at the hotel by 7 a.m. but they did have a room ready for our check-in so we were able to get into the room before my 8:30 a.m. meeting started. We have stayed in this hotel several times a year and have always been pleased with the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Howard J ,
It is our pleasure to have you stay with us! We aim to provide excellent service for all our guests from the time of check in to their departure and are happy that we were able to achieve this. We hope to see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am staying here now, scheduled to check out tomorrow after an 8 day visit. I could not be more satisfied. After seeing many less than stellar reviews when I booked this hotel, I felt it important to state my opinion that the hotel has been seriously underrated.

Check in was quick and courteous. We asked for a room with two queen beds and were accommodated. The room was recently remodeled and quite large by NYC standards. The bathroom was huge. I have stayed at this hotel in years past so I know not all rooms are this large. But there was no extra charge for a large room. And I am not a HHonors member or otherwise entitled to upgrades. I just asked. The room was quiet. We were first offered a room facing 51st Street, where a fire station is located. When I mentioned such a location might be noisy, they agreed and offered a room on the opposite side of the building. It was absolutely quiet and had a nice view of the Chrysler a building.

Housekeeping accommodated our requested schedule - and made up the room everyday between 1 pm and 3 pm. We stay up late, sleep in late, and seldom leave our room before noon. We were never bothered by housekeeping coming to the room too early. A refrigerator was provided without charge and all sheets and pillowcases were changed everyday per request. The beds were triple-sheeted and very comfortable. I leave a $5-$10 per day tip for housekeeping to recognize good service. They more than earned it.

The front desk provided umbrellas when needed, answered transportation questions in a friendly and knowledgeable manner and arranged town car service. The doorman was nice about getting cabs and opening doors. Dry cleaning was returned the next day and the prices were reasonable, high but reasonable. With one minor exception (see below) staff was attentive and genuinely nice.

The location is very good. It is about a twelve block walk to either Broadway theater or Central Park. Half that to MOMA or Rockefeller Center.There are lots of good restaurants within two blocks.

This property was outstanding at any price. But they were also unbelievably reasonably priced. We booked a flight/hotel package thru JetBlue at more than 30% less than Expedia and Priceline. JetBlue must have one heck of an arrangement with them. But this review is not affected by the price. I evaluate quality first. A good value is a bonus but does not substitute for quality. The hotel service and quality were easily worth twice what we paid.

Having expressed the good, let me mention the shortcomings. The lobby is small and often appears crowded with people using the free lobby wifi. All those people make it look a little like an airport waiting area. However, the one time we wanted to use the area we went into the lobby bar. We had no trouble getting a table and were not required to order drinks. The lobby looks crowded, but there were really no problems.

The second negative was the concierge. She had some attitude so we opted to book our theater tickets not thru her but online All in all a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Catatthebeach,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed recap of your experience with us. I am happy that you decided to grant us an opportunity to serve you rather than being put off by the negative. We are pleased that your stay was such an amazing experience. I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced as a result of the crowded lobby and the attitude of the Concierge. I will certainly follow up with their management team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you for many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a 48 hours layover on my way to Asia. Excellent location/price. Rooms are well equipped and beds are super comfortable. Staff at the reception desk was very friendly. The welcome cookies are awesome !

In room Internet service is a little pricey. However, if you don't mind working at the lobby area, you can get complimentary access.

Room Tip: Elevator are have lots of traffic. Ask form rooms away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XORDEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear XORDEP,
Thank you for staying with us. We are truly happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us. We hope that we will have many more opportunities to cater to your lodging needs so that we can surpass your expectations of service.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We automatically picked this hotel since we have Hhonors Diamond and wanted to stay with a Hilton brand and the location was what we were looking for. Compared to the Doubletree at Time Square, the rooms are much smaller and everything is older and worn out. The door didn't shut right, there was stuff written on the bathroom walls, worn out carpets, black and moldy things in the tub, ( you get the picture). Breakfast was fine, but the staff were not very attentive. We had to wait at the reception area till the hostess got done with her paperwork , then she could seat us, at the table we had look for someone to come and bring us coffee. For the same price I later found there are a lot better hotels available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne_tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Suzanne_tc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations of service.I am happy that you decided to share this is experience with us so that we can make the necessary improvements in the areas of service and amenities we provide. We hope that you will stay with us again so that you can let us know how we are doing .
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#180 of 468 in New York City
7,839 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,094 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#340 of 468 in New York City
1,823 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 468 in New York City
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing