We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but look around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK but look around”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. Although the location is good, there are few amenities that stand out. The front desk person, Karen, who checked us in was the best aspect of the place. She was wonderful and upgraded us (for a price) from a 2nd floor room to a suite on a top floor. This made our visit. However, a glass full of used cigarette butts was on the patio and there were hairs in the bathroom sink. We had a 3 room suite but there was no coffee maker or anything to make the space seem comfortable. The bed was nice though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 745corinnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear 745Corinnem,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your most recent stay.I am very happy to hear that Karen was such a delight and made you feel welcome. I do apologize for the cigarette butts and the hair in the sink. Our aim to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guest but we clearly failed to do so.I will certainly bring this to the attention of our housekeeping team so that this can be addressed . Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you for future visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    1,774
    999
    362
    259
See reviews for
1,027
1,481
271
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As a HHonors guest, I was looked after from the moment I walked in. Attentive staff and a perfectly located Doubletree. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Bathroom very clean and tidy. Highly recommend as not too pricey. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear LondonAlan63,
I am very elated that you had a great stay with us! We hope that we will see you for your next visit to the Big Apple!Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel was excellent. The entire staff very courteous & went out of their way to make us happy. Was in town as result of medical issues; however they made this trip much more comforting before having to check in. One of the best hotels ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Stephen B,
Thank you for the amazing review! We are elated that you were were able to go above and beyond to make you happy. We hope to see you for many more trips! Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here 2 separate night over the July 4th weekend. It was the first time staying at this property and we will stay here again on future visits. We lucked out with an amazing rate- which made our stay even better. Being a Hilton honors diamond member we were also given an upgrade - both times - to a junior suite with a balcony which was amazing. Reception desk was great, all staff was very nice and accommodating. We asked for a late checkout, and extra blankets and were quickly accommodated.

Being from Miami it was a treat to stay at this property - the architect was Morris Lapidus who also who was famous for many Miami Beach properties including the Eden Roc and Fontainebleau hotels on Miami Beach. We appreciated the history and the "look" and style of the hotel. The hotel itself is in a great location, there is literally a subway just outside, so you can get anywhere. It's also nice to be in walking distance from so many places. New York is such a walkable city though that we spent one morning walking to the Highline park on 30th street and 10th Ave....back through Times Square and then back to the hotel. It was nice getting back to our room and relaxing before heading out again.

There are many convenient stores nearby the hotel for snacks or meals. There seems to be a Duane Reade drugstore on every corner which is great. As an Hilton Honors diamond member we got free continental breakfast which was fine for what it was. My only advice/criticism is that waitstaff and host in the restaurant were asking for $8 dollars "to upgrade" to a hot breakfast. Honestly, it's not really worth it when you can get an entire breakfast just outside the hotel for a fraction of the price ($22 for a full breakfast at the hotel).

As for the hotel though, it is a great place to stay if you want a convenient location away from the more touristy areas like Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelguyfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Travelguyfromflorida,
Thank you for taking the time to share you detailed experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay as we aim to create a memorable experience for all our guest. We appreciate the feedback regarding breakfast , we will keep it in mind as we continually try to improve our guest services. We look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family of five recently stayed in the Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel. It was very clean. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. When we called the careline, they were there very quickly with more blankets. The men who held our bags for us before our flight were helpful in obtaining a taxi and helping us load our bags. The highlight of our stay was breakfast each morning. Our waiter, Bolivar Espinosa, made us feel like family. He greeted us each morning with a smile and was interested in what we were doing for the day. My daughter made him origami out of money and he raved about it! He made our stay extra special! Thanks, Bolivar! The breakfast buffet, waffles, and pancakes were delicious! :)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask during booking about any discounts (government, etc.) because they can't do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dshumphrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Dshumphrys,
We are happy that you had a great experience with us on your most recent visit.Your kind words regarding the exceptional service you received from Bolivar are heart warming! I will certainly share your comments with him and the rest of my team.Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Requested early check in because we had an afternoon play to attend. Room was ready. Speedy check in. Located near Broadway & Central Park but far enough away to get away from the hustle & bustle a little

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Richard F,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy that we were able to accommodate you request and hope to see you for many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed here in April, in June and in July for business in the financial district. Convenient location, room was clean, staff were adequate, everything worked. Fine for a business stay. Food was average, room service was on time, and guest services do close early (if you are an late arrival - after 8 pm). All three times no single queen bed room reservation was available.....????? And I was only placed on the HHonors marque floor once - out of the 3 stays???? WiFi was free if a high HHonors member.

Room Tip: elevators can be noisy, ask for a room far away from them for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDeereGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear JohnDeereGuy,
We are humbled that you decided to stay at our property on numerous occasions and that you found that our facilities were adequate for your business needs. I do apologize that were were unable to provide you desired room type upon your arrival . Our front desk team tries our best to ensure that we have all available room types for our guest at check in, however sometimes we are unable to do so due to guest extending their reservations. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and hope to see you for future visits. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#176 of 467 in New York City
7,906 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,203 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#343 of 467 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#363 of 467 in New York City
2,388 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,571 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#334 of 467 in New York City
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing