We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff at restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great staff at restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The restaurant is manly for breakfast. I have been staying at this Doubletree for six years. In the restaurant, there's an incredible waiter: Bolovar Espinoza. He remembers each guest, will find you the best table available, and make sure you leave more than satisfied. The personal attention really makes this hotel stand out, especially because of Bolivar!

Room Tip: Just be courteous to reception and they do their best to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Paul G,
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are very pleased to know that Bolivar has always taken such great care of you. I will share your comments with him and we hope to see you soon.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,698
    950
    339
    239
See reviews for
968
1,398
255
1,097
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We took a family trip to New York. The staff were very attentive, friendly and remarkable. We truly appreciated the excellent service provided by everyone, especially Bolivar Espinoza. Our monrning breakfast was so refreshing and great way to start our day. Kudos to the Doubletree!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Annette C,
I am very happy to hear that your morning breakfast was so refreshing and a great start to your stay. I am happy that Bolivar was able to contribute to that experience. We look forward to future visits. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Excellent experience! ALL the staff was attentive, going out of their way to greet us. Alex, at the front desk was great and helpful. At the restaurant, James and Bolivar were so attentive that they made us feel like we were the only persons there!! The made-to-order omelets and Eggs Benedict were excellent. The room was very clean, great size, comfy bed and linens. The only bad part?.... we had to go home :( LOL

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDN142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear RDN142,
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Alex, James and Bolivar for their attention to detail and their helpfulness. We love to hear when our guests have a wonderful experience with us and will be sure to commend the team for their exceptional service. Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry you had to go! We hope to see you soon.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Doubletrees are some of my favorite hotels, they are always clean, trendy, and the staff is remarkable. They always treat you like you are beyond special. And I happen to be a little partial to the warm chocolate chip oatmeal walnut cookies they give too. This hotel is at a perfect location. It is in the middle of everything. The best parts are there is a great coffee shop next door, and the subway station is right outside too.

When we got there, the trip was planned to be a couples weekend but we ended up bringing the kids with us. The hotel was able to accommodate the last minute change with not problem. We ended up with a junior suite on the 19th floor. The view was great and the room set up was cool because there is a divider wall between the living area and bedroom, so the kids had a tv when they were on the sofa bed and we had our own tv on the other side of the wall. The only down side to the entire trip was the bathroom- it was TINY! I swear every time I went in and was drying off or changing clothes, I hit my arm on the hood on the back of the bathroom door. Also the water pressure was ok, not what I am used to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Chara L,
We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that we were able to accommodate the last minute changes to your reservation. We are very happy that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay.I do apologize that the bathroom was too small for your convenience. We do hope to see you for future visits so that you can let us know how we are doing.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. Although the location is good, there are few amenities that stand out. The front desk person, Karen, who checked us in was the best aspect of the place. She was wonderful and upgraded us (for a price) from a 2nd floor room to a suite on a top floor. This made our visit. However, a glass full of used cigarette butts was on the patio and there were hairs in the bathroom sink. We had a 3 room suite but there was no coffee maker or anything to make the space seem comfortable. The bed was nice though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 745corinnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear 745Corinnem,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your most recent stay.I am very happy to hear that Karen was such a delight and made you feel welcome. I do apologize for the cigarette butts and the hair in the sink. Our aim to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guest but we clearly failed to do so.I will certainly bring this to the attention of our housekeeping team so that this can be addressed . Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you for future visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

As a HHonors guest, I was looked after from the moment I walked in. Attentive staff and a perfectly located Doubletree. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Bathroom very clean and tidy. Highly recommend as not too pricey. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear LondonAlan63,
I am very elated that you had a great stay with us! We hope that we will see you for your next visit to the Big Apple!Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel was excellent. The entire staff very courteous & went out of their way to make us happy. Was in town as result of medical issues; however they made this trip much more comforting before having to check in. One of the best hotels ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Stephen B,
Thank you for the amazing review! We are elated that you were were able to go above and beyond to make you happy. We hope to see you for many more trips! Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,683 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing